We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$226
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$226
US$191
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
Hotels.com
US$226
US$191
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
TravelocityUS$191
Orbitz.comUS$191
PricelineUS$226
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,504)
Filter reviews
1,504 results
Traveller rating
539
551
225
96
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
539
551
225
96
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden beach clothing optional beach nude beach sea grapes beach fourth beach rex resorts beachfront bungalow ceiling fan laid back sugar mill repeat guests beach bar sand flies tree frogs rooms are basic relaxing holiday buffet style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,504 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Hawksbill resort is a little older resort, but the place has a lot of character, is very clean, the four beaches are awesome (especially Eden Beach!). We stayed in a room overlooking the beach and it was very relaxing. The staff is what makes Hawksbill a step above! I have to give a shout out to some of the folks Mario-Manager, Debbie-Front Office, Fenton, TeeJay, Dolston, Judith, Shemaye and many others that helped make our stay very relaxing!

Room tip: Rooms on the beach are very relaxing!
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

We booked our trip in January and we were not sure that it would happen secondary to Covid. Flying on American Airlines was a bit tricky you need to have a paper with your name and the “PCR” test on it somewhere when you fly. After three flights... we were ready to relax....and Hawksbill by Rex was the answer. The resort it self is a bit dated...the location and privacy more than makes up for anything else. Situated at the end of a quiet road, every room offers a nice view of their beach. The rooms are clean, the bed was very comfortable and fitted with cooling cotton sheets. The staff - ( disclaimer because of COVID we were the only ones staying at the resort ) this I believe would not have mattered in the least... Mario ( the general manager) was professional, gracious, attentive and forever smiling. He set the example and the rest of the staff followed his lead. The menu was varied and delicious. My girlfriend and I are pescatarians and we had no trouble finding meals that were delicious and well balanced. As for the beaches... we are textile free beach goers and “eden beach,” fit the bill. It is about a 5-8 minute flat walk around a point and through a white gate. Once there... you enjoy approximately 1/2 mile of pristine, gorgeous beach without the fear. We got up the courage to snorkel to the Hawksbill rock- which offers nice viewing of fish, coral, sea fans etc. No beach in Antigua is private... therefore locals are also allowed on the beach. We met some nice colorful locals that are interesting and fun to chat with. The vibe - is pampered relaxation. We loved the resort and we might very well return someday... I feel like we made a friend with Mario and his staff and would recommend this resort to anyone seeking a relaxing textile free stay!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank michaelhI3059HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Hawksbill By Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Dear Valued Guest

The team at Hawksbill feels very honored to have looked graciously after you and going above and beyond to ensure you had a most memorable stay. We are delighted that you fell in love with our location and you were able to enjoy all nature had to offer. Looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel and the island of Antigua very soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021 via mobile

Nothing like the photos, grounds poorly maintained. We felt like we were an inconvenience to some of the staff. We opted to stay in our room to enjoy the view instead. On the plus side, we had a great view and the bed/linen is very good.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MikeSedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021

I have good news and bad news-the good far outweighs the bad so I will start with the good. First of all hats off to the staff-Fenton, Mario,Myra, Debbie, & Devon. These guys go above and beyond to accommodate and know how to exemplify hospitality. Big thank you to all of them for all of your help-all of the time! There was never a time that they did not go out of their way for us. If you are looking for a place to disconnect and take long walks or take in the ocean view from anywhere on this huge property and experience amazing sunsets and rainbows-this is the place. It is VERY quiet. We did not have internet service in our rooms-we were only able to connect when we were near the pool cabana or lobby area-we also did not have a TV or phone in our room-so make sure you really enjoy the company of the person/people you are traveling with -bring a good book or deck of cards-something to keep you occupied because it is a very quiet place with nothing to do on site-which is the main reason why people pick this place. The beaches are beautiful and for the most part are empty-you never have to get up early to claim a chair-the property is so big and people are not traveling as much so the place was pretty empty for the duration of our stay. Bring your own snorkeling equipment-you can snorkel at any of the beaches-All the staff wore masks all the time so COVID protocols were being followed. The beauty and location of the property as well as the amazing staff are the best things about the resort. Grounds are well kept. We were there for our anniversary and they decorated our table-had champagne and housekeeping even decorated our bed with towels shaped as swans and rose petals all around. NOW THE BAD: many of the rooms are terribly outdated and in dire need of repairs/upgrades. We stayed in the honeymoon suites and the views from these rooms are priceless-but the old wicker furniture, old faucets, old (very old) decor and leaking & cracked mini fridge take away from it just a little bit. Be very clear this is not the Marriott or any fancy resort-there is no phone or TV in the room, no room service for mid night snacks etc. Meals are very specifically timed and the food was very good-but just basic. The "pastries" on the menu were cupcakes but they gave them to you hot out of the oven-the desert everynight was cake and ice cream-so lack of variety for some things. But they were happy to give us a tray of cheese and crackers or fresh fruit to take back to our room if we wanted snacks for in-between meals. It did seem at times they pulled back on portion size-the sandwiches are tasty but very thin as if resources were scarce. Wait staff is gone by 8:15 due to curfews-so set yourself up for the night because there is nobody to serve drinks after 8:00. There are goats wandering the property which is charming and funny-but watch out for goat poop all around while you are walking-little pellets here and there. Be aware that all beached on the island are public so you will see locals there-a few even came in thru the back with their cars and brought their own BBQ grill-and spent time on the beach. Also one of the beaches is a nude beach where we saw random guy hanging out-and I did not feel comfortable with that-it is different if he came with someone but I felt like he was gawking and it was not cool. We are from NY-traveling during COVID times is challenging and we were looking for isolation from too many people and we found it here-you are able to have your space on an absolutley amazing property. Be prepared to pay for COVID test to fly back home. We paid $250 per person-for the test to be sent to lab-it is $150 for rapid test. If you want fun, loud and action or fancy-this might not be for you. I would go back in a heart beat-and if you go-as for a room that has been renovated-but if you want a sunset view overlooking the ocean-stay at honeymoon cove-the rooms are basic but the view is breathtakingly priceless. If you are going during COVID times-be sure to ask about curfews as it changes from time to time depending on case rate on the island. One last thing-it's supposed to be adults only resort-but they do allow families in for day pass-locals and tourists-so don't be surprised to see kids on the property. Also-the pool is tiny-it's almost comical for the size of this resort. Don't let the picture of the pool fool you. You can do a lap in 3 strokes LOL. But we had a lovely time and would go back in a heart beat!

Room tip: Honeymoon Cove (sunset side) has best sunset views/ocean views and most privacy. However it is the farthest walk to dining and reception.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank CandyandFranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

We spent the Christmas at Hawksbill, we have been several times before, and to be honest it gets better each time. As previous reviews have mentioned the amazing staff, who really do go the extra mile for you. All of them are always polite, friendly and well just amazing in these hard times. The measures for Covid were excellent and we felt safe. The food i thought was excellent, always a choice and personally I loved the Al carte as opposed to the buffet style. The location is a perfect spot to chill out. Thank you all for making a wonderful, memorable Christmas .

Room tip: All rooms have a sea view
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn3902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews