We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$226
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$223
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Hotels.com
US$223
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
PricelineUS$226
eDreamsUS$226
TravelocityUS$223
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveller rating
535
546
225
95
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
535
546
225
95
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden beach clothing optional beach nude beach sea grapes beach fourth beach rex resorts beachfront bungalow ceiling fan laid back sugar mill repeat guests beach bar sand flies tree frogs rooms are basic relaxing holiday buffet style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

After arriving from the airport on a Saturday night, with a busy almost bumper to bumper traffic, it was nice to be given an upgrade from a bungalow to a nice spacious room number 22, with an ocean view, (thanks to Dave).
The third surprise was a live and loud band (with a saxaphone player) performing near the restaurant, which is located beside a small lobby on top of the hill. The fourth surprise was the chirping of the tree frogs when the sun goes down combined with the waves. The fifth suprise (the next morning), after a good sleep (the beds are good) was the view, from the restaurant, the good breakfast, was the instant coffee. No freshly ground coffee here or cappucinos.... The resort has two small beaches, one medium, and the biggest one. (swimsuits optional)
The rock formation out of the water, 200 metres away, across from the nudist beach, reminded us of our dog Jack more than the Hawk. The head can be seen from most parts of the hotel. The expensive bungalows close to the water are semi-detached, with a small room, windows that have glass, but no option to sleep with fresh air screens. Our room on the second floor had also a TV and air-conditioning and screens to hear the waves. We didn't use the air conditioner, only the ceiling fan that everyone has.
It is true, the luncheons should be improved, the suppers were good and every second night there was a disc jockey.
My husband received two bottles of wine for his birthday, one at the reception and one sparkling in the restaurant.
We enjoyed mostly the white wine from Spain, Penasol. Most of us were between the ages of 50 & 90, about 90% from England. We enjoyed talking with them and no one was stuck-up for the week we were there, January 25-February 1/20.
One day, we hope to return, since overall is quite and simple.
Thanks to Dave, Stefano, Arthea and the young girl who let me use her phone to call Jack. Thanks to all.
Each day the temperature of the water was ideal for swimming for all age groups.

Room tip: We were ideally situated, aminute from the beach, restaurants and lobby.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastalinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

We have been going to Hawksbill for many years, we love it there despite the tiredness of the buildings. Beautiful beaches, though the sea can be rough at times. The staff are brilliant, they work very hard, often appear understaffed. I fondly remember David, Millie, William and Crystabell. The breakfasts are very good, lunches somewhat monotonous, especially as I done eat fish or chicken, this menu would be greatly improved by adding a selection of sandwiches. I can usually find something to eat at dinner, we had a la Carte four evenings 3 of which were fantastic but the 4th was a disaster due to staff shortage.
I daresay we will return next January.

Room tip: rooms are varied, we prefer those on the beach
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eleanor229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

The reason for the tiredness? The current lease has expired. Nobody knows if it will be renewed and therefore no works are being undertaken. There’s an ongoing family feud and they can’t agree on what the future of the hotel is.
The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful. Great pride is taken in the landscaping. Housekeeping are fantastic. But you can only work with what you’re given.

Pros
Beds are soooo comfy! Lying at night listening to the waves is so relaxing.
Loads of room for sun beds around the beach on Sea Grapes beach.
Very peaceful as no children and the waves are hypnotic so no choice but to zone out!
No late night entertainment, any there is finished by 2200hrs
It’s a no smoking resort apart from designated area’s

Cons
No shower gel is provided-bring your own
Rooms are very tired and dated
Water-they charge $3 a bottle of water from the bar. So if you’re visiting do what we and many others did- bring empty litre bottles and fill up from the machines at the main bar or sea grapes.
Food-not a great deal of choice. Lunch is salad with burger or fish.
Dinner is choice of 3 main meals.
They’ve stopped a la carte dining and it’s all buffet now. That being said the chefs are great and the food is so tasty!
Wifi-sporadic if you’re in the Honeymoon cove rooms

Staff
David-what a great barman and a great character! Many laughs were had with him
Christobelle-she’s a diamond with a cheeky smile
William-makes the meanest rum punch and is so kind hearted
Myra-her smile lights up the sky
Ken aka Mr Fix-it - if he can’t fix it nobody can! Fixed our shower promptly
Melissa-one of the most beautiful,warming smiles going, nothing is too much trouble for her.
Hyacinth-works in the restaurant in the evening, she’s the hostess with the mostess.

What we saw were many returning guests-our neighbours were on their 4th visit, others at lunch told us it was their 15th year. It’s a bit like marmite, you’ll either love it or you’ll hate it. If you want glitz and glamour, high end finishes then this isn’t the resort for you. But if, like many of the guests here, you want total relaxation with no interruptions then you won’t be disappointed. Would we return? Probably but in a couple of years once the current situation has been finalised.
We’ve left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. Each staff member makes you feel like part of the family. Fingers crossed for a positive future!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank 640em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

Two emails to this hotel about day passes were not answered. But my taxi driver called to confirm, and I got one for USD55 until 4 pm.

The beaches are great, and the island's only nude beach has generous space and privacy. A few sun chairs were available, while shade was mostly from vegetation. A few man-made sun shades were falling apart. No facilities, just nature on that last beach.

Lunch was not a highlight. The food quality was not great, and the wines without distinction. Service was the kind you get when staff don't expect tips from this all-inclusive and captive audience. In spite of the sea breeze, flies were swarming, getting on the food and into drinks. I fished up three flies from my glass during my lunch.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Reslysten54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

We recently returned from Hawksbill and we knew in our conscience a little note about our vacation would be necessary. First the hotel is dated but charming, old but full of character and has an avante garde feel about it. This was our very first trip to the Caribbean and the setting of Hawksbill is the exact Caribbean vacation we have always dreamed of.

The staff is amazing and extremely professional, Stephano at reception is as charming as the beautiful property. and we found all the staff thereafter super amazing. It's honest to say when I saw a gentleman carrying bags with a huge smile and escorting us to our room we never imagined that he was the manager. Mario the manager was easy going and so polite, we saw him first thing in the morning working in the restaurant with his team, he was at the beach restaurant at lunchtime and again at dinner time especially on A la Carte service nights he waits tables with the staff. We have never seen management and staff working so hard with what they had and guaranteed they made it happened. The food was delicious and plenty, the rooms clean and tidy and the beaches were beautiful. We enjoyed everyday even when it rained, we will be back. David, Myra, Xenia and the lady on the egg station Moreen(hope thats correct). Thanks for a great vacation we will be coming back for that bungalow on the Royal beach area.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bethstar3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews