We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveller rating
494
485
191
81
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
485
191
81
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden beach clothing optional beach nude beach sea grapes beach garden bungalow superior sea view tamarind tree air conditioning rex resorts main beach ceiling fan laid back repeat guests beach bar sugar mill sand flies rooms are basic
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We’ve just moved on to another hotel having stayed at Hawkbill for four nights. Overall we were very disappointed with the resort and what was on offer.
We had no water for two days, instead of moving us to a room where there was water we were required to walk to the other side of the hotel,take a shower and return the key, totally unsatisfactory.
With only 10 residents there was no atmosphere, the majority appeared at meal time and disappeared straight after eating.
Drinks were served in flimsy plastic cups, even at the restaurant bar I had to ask for a glass for our gin and tonics I the evening.
The resort is clearly being rundown and on the verge of closing.
The lovely David, barman/waiter was the saviour of our stay.
Other than the fantastic location there’s nothing else to recommend

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
10  Thank hilarywalker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Hilary, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. We truly value the feedback we receive from our guests and use the constructives given to improve the guest experience. I do apologize that your experience this time around was not as wonderful as we would have wanted it to be. Since then we have been implementing improvements to ensure that such disappointments do not reoccur. We do hope that as we continue to improve that you would consider Hawksbill, as it was our pleasure taking care of you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Hawksbill is incredibly peaceful and we had a lovely beachfront room which was spacious and the ensuite was clean but in need of updating. Hate shower curtains - yuk!
Staff on the whole friendly and helpful but sadly one young waitress was extremely sullen and non communicative to the point of rudeness! We were there in low season and everything seemed to grind to a halt - the first week we had pancakes and omelettes on offer for breakfast - second week - none first week had a daily lunchtime bbq - second week none - first week entertainment - second week only once. Food ok but nothing to write home about .
There was nothing to do at the resort other than snorkel and read so it made for a long couple of weeks! We had a relaxing break but will not be going back.

Stayed: July 2018
6  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hello Claire, thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. I do apologize for the challenges that you have experienced during your stay with us and for the seeming lack of enthusiasm of the staff you mentioned. We all love what we do and it makes us happy knowing that our guests are happy, we would have wanted nothing more than for you to have had an amazing holiday. Thank you the constructive points mentioned and we will be making every effort to make improvements to better meet our guests expectations. We do encourage you to consider Hawksbill in the future as we make improvements over the next few months. It was our pleasure taking care of you both and do hope that we will get to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have promised that we won't go back to revisit holidays and have stuck to this for years. However the quirky charm of Hawksbill mean we broke that pledge within 11 months of leaving, last year.

This is a delightful laid back and relaxing resort that lets you feel that you're really experiencing the Caribbean. In 2017 we arrived 5 days after Irma. At that time we forgave the lack of entertainment on any of the evenings and the slightly haphazard food menu as we assumed they were recovering from the storm. We weren't worried about the dated accommodation and Retro design as these made it feel more authentic. However this year the same problems arose. With only 20 to 30 guests the mnagement seemed to have decided to curtial any of the promised evening events - not that I wanted much, but that;'s twice I've missed the beach barbecue. They also cut back to two front of house at dinner time, so if the waitress was busy ther was a long wait at the bar while the bar staff hepled her out, and vice-versa when the bar was busy, with a long wait to be served dinner.

All in all a huge shame. We love this place and returning was like putting on a comfortable pair of slippers and we felt really at home. However it began to fell that no-one really cared about the guest apart from the dining and bar staff and that management were either running the place down to get a revamp, or a sale. Maybe thay just thought with so many repeat guests they just can ignore fulfilling their part of the holiday experience and rely on us to just keep coming back.

As we left I felt that I was saying goodbye to an Old Friend who might not be around next time ...

Stayed: August 2018
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hello Paul and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. I must apologize for us not meeting your expectations and for the challenges that you experienced during your stay. We do appreciate you letting us know your concerns as it gives us an opportunity to improve. You stand assured that we are committed to making every effort to improve our product and our guests experiences. We thank you for visiting us again and would encourage you to consider Hawksbill in the future as we continue to make improvements over the coming months. It was our pleasure taking care of you both and we do hope that we will get to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at hawks bill.
As there were few guests when we arrived, we were upgraded to a beach bungalow, only a few steps from the beautiful calm sea.
The staff were very friendly, they always made sure we had enough to drink and had friendly smiles.
We had a la carte every evening due to low amount of guests. Had a number of options to choose from, the meals were very nice.
The rooms were always clean, had fresh towels and bedding every day.
We had a family of goats around, they were no trouble and the paths were always kept clean.
Every morning we would feed the birds with sugar the came to visit.
We went to Shirley on the Sunday, great atmosphere with local steel band and bbq. The views were amazing.
We also went horse riding, the guides give you a tour near hawks bill they were really friendly and helpful.
One evening the assistant manager introduced herself to the guests to make sure we was all ok and she even arranged to open one of the gift shops out of hours for us.
Only negative was the mosquitoes, you need to get some strong spray as some guests were getting bitten.
Apart from that the location was beautiful, very peaceful and relaxing, great holiday with the family.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lottieprickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Hello to the Prickler three, and thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hawksbill, we appreciate that! We are all so very pleased that you had a great time with us and had some interesting and enjoyable experiences while you were in Antigua. We just love when our guests have had a great time and that we could help make their vacation as relaxing and wonderful as possible. It is very important to us here at Hawksbill to take good care of our guests, and it pays off as our long list of repeaters who come back for many years keeps on growing. I am confident that we will be welcoming you back and it will be our pleasure to take very good care of you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

This was my 3rd trip to Hawksbill in the last 2 years. It may be the best value in vacation dollars in the Caribbean. That is not to say it has no problems. I had no hot water in my shower for 8 days. Many rooms had no water at all for a short time and guests had to bucket water from the ocean to flush toilets. Toilet paper had been shoved into cracks in my poorly fit screens to keep out bugs. Floors and major surfaces were always cleaned but dirt collected on edges and window sills. New management is working hard to make improvement but it is an old resort and many improvements are needed. None of this will prevent me from returning to the wonderful environment of Hawksbill.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank eyeconinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and that you have intentions of returning for many more relaxing holidays. I do apologize though for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay and for the things that fell below your expectations. We are 100% committed to the satisfaction of our guests and will be doing all that we can to alleviate such concerns. It was our pleasure taking care of you during your stay and we hope to be welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews