We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveller rating
494
485
191
81
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
485
191
81
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden beach clothing optional beach nude beach sea grapes beach garden bungalow superior sea view tamarind tree air conditioning rex resorts main beach ceiling fan laid back repeat guests beach bar sugar mill sand flies rooms are basic
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have promised that we won't go back to revisit holidays and have stuck to this for years. However the quirky charm of Hawksbill mean we broke that pledge within 11 months of leaving, last year.

This is a delightful laid back and relaxing resort that lets you feel that you're really experiencing the Caribbean. In 2017 we arrived 5 days after Irma. At that time we forgave the lack of entertainment on any of the evenings and the slightly haphazard food menu as we assumed they were recovering from the storm. We weren't worried about the dated accommodation and Retro design as these made it feel more authentic. However this year the same problems arose. With only 20 to 30 guests the mnagement seemed to have decided to curtial any of the promised evening events - not that I wanted much, but that;'s twice I've missed the beach barbecue. They also cut back to two front of house at dinner time, so if the waitress was busy ther was a long wait at the bar while the bar staff hepled her out, and vice-versa when the bar was busy, with a long wait to be served dinner.

All in all a huge shame. We love this place and returning was like putting on a comfortable pair of slippers and we felt really at home. However it began to fell that no-one really cared about the guest apart from the dining and bar staff and that management were either running the place down to get a revamp, or a sale. Maybe thay just thought with so many repeat guests they just can ignore fulfilling their part of the holiday experience and rely on us to just keep coming back.

As we left I felt that I was saying goodbye to an Old Friend who might not be around next time ...

Stayed: August 2018
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hello Paul and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. I must apologize for us not meeting your expectations and for the challenges that you experienced during your stay. We do appreciate you letting us know your concerns as it gives us an opportunity to improve. You stand assured that we are committed to making every effort to improve our product and our guests experiences. We thank you for visiting us again and would encourage you to consider Hawksbill in the future as we continue to make improvements over the coming months. It was our pleasure taking care of you both and we do hope that we will get to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at hawks bill.
As there were few guests when we arrived, we were upgraded to a beach bungalow, only a few steps from the beautiful calm sea.
The staff were very friendly, they always made sure we had enough to drink and had friendly smiles.
We had a la carte every evening due to low amount of guests. Had a number of options to choose from, the meals were very nice.
The rooms were always clean, had fresh towels and bedding every day.
We had a family of goats around, they were no trouble and the paths were always kept clean.
Every morning we would feed the birds with sugar the came to visit.
We went to Shirley on the Sunday, great atmosphere with local steel band and bbq. The views were amazing.
We also went horse riding, the guides give you a tour near hawks bill they were really friendly and helpful.
One evening the assistant manager introduced herself to the guests to make sure we was all ok and she even arranged to open one of the gift shops out of hours for us.
Only negative was the mosquitoes, you need to get some strong spray as some guests were getting bitten.
Apart from that the location was beautiful, very peaceful and relaxing, great holiday with the family.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lottieprickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Hello to the Prickler three, and thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hawksbill, we appreciate that! We are all so very pleased that you had a great time with us and had some interesting and enjoyable experiences while you were in Antigua. We just love when our guests have had a great time and that we could help make their vacation as relaxing and wonderful as possible. It is very important to us here at Hawksbill to take good care of our guests, and it pays off as our long list of repeaters who come back for many years keeps on growing. I am confident that we will be welcoming you back and it will be our pleasure to take very good care of you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

This was my 3rd trip to Hawksbill in the last 2 years. It may be the best value in vacation dollars in the Caribbean. That is not to say it has no problems. I had no hot water in my shower for 8 days. Many rooms had no water at all for a short time and guests had to bucket water from the ocean to flush toilets. Toilet paper had been shoved into cracks in my poorly fit screens to keep out bugs. Floors and major surfaces were always cleaned but dirt collected on edges and window sills. New management is working hard to make improvement but it is an old resort and many improvements are needed. None of this will prevent me from returning to the wonderful environment of Hawksbill.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank eyeconinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and that you have intentions of returning for many more relaxing holidays. I do apologize though for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay and for the things that fell below your expectations. We are 100% committed to the satisfaction of our guests and will be doing all that we can to alleviate such concerns. It was our pleasure taking care of you during your stay and we hope to be welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

My husband and I have just returned from 14 nights at Hawksbill. We first visited in 1992 then in 1994 and have raised a family since. We decided that we couldnt think of anywhere better to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.
The hotel didn't disappoint. Upon arrival we were greeted with a drink of bubbly and given an up grade to a beach front cottage on Royal Palm Beach, instead of the garden bungalow that we had booked.
We are big travellers and Hawksbill is the only place that we have ever returned to. The setting is totally stunning with four gorgeous beaches. Our room was large and with a veranda right on the beach. It had a huge bathroom and a fridge, air con and a kettle.
The meals were fine overall. They were so few guests, six at the least and twenty at most, that evenings were a la carte. The food at dinner was beautifully cooked. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. I dont eat a cooked breakfast so the choice was very limited at times. Lunch was a choice of soups and salad and a cooked meal.
The staff were wonderful. Denise cleaned our room beautifully. David, Will and Millie were great bar staff and everyone was gentle and friendly.
We so enjoyed the choice of the beaches, sometimes we were alone on them all day. Paradise on your own!
Our visit also coincided with the Carnival so we took several trips into St John’s to see it. We used local bus service walking for 20 minutes to the nearest village Five Islands and catching the number 61bus to town. It was a great way to meet local Antiguans.
There were some issues with the water supply. The island has a drought so the hotel buys in water by tanker. This did run out in the beach cottages a couple of times so we showered in another room on the site, but it was hard not having a toilet that flushed. We did talk to the charming manager and she kindly offered to refund the cost of two of our nights which we did really appreciate.
There are things that do need looking at on the Hawskbill site. We loved the goats and sheep but they were noisy at night on occasions and they did leave an awful lot of droppings around the site which weren't always cleared off the paths. A lot of the trees we remembered were blown down in a hurricane some years ago and there arent many brolleys, fine with so few guests but could be a problem when busy. Food and drink did run out on occasions with so few guests. The last two days at breakfast there were only fruit tea bags so we went back to our room to collect some which filled up daily when the restuarant had run out! All these little things could so easily be sorted out and would make this hotel five star.
I cried when I arrived as I was so happy to be back and I cried yesterday when I left. We will definielty be back to this wonderful hotel. We dont want it to change but certainly a few little tweaks could make it even better.
Thanks to everyone at Hawksbill for making our 30th anniversary holiday such a special one.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms on Royal Palm beach as they were so spacious and right on the beach
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank gf430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hawksbill. We are very pleased that you had a good stay overall and even more appreciative that you choose us to be a part of your 30th anniversary memories. I do apologize again for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay as we would have wanted nothing more than for you to have had a perfect stay to commemorate such a milestone in your marriage. We do appreciate all of the valuable feedback that we receive from our guests and do try to implement improvements to better cater and take care of our guests. Once again congratulations to you both and we do hope that we will be welcoming you back to Hawksbill in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We stayed in Hawksbill the end of May for 10 days as a family. We promised Ammielle we would post a review, sorry it has taken so long!
We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED our stay and plan to visit again next year. It was one of those very rare holidays where you relax completely and feel by the end of the stay that your batteries have fully recharged and you are ready to take on the world again. We met several people who were return guests, one couple visiting regularly for decades and we can fully understand why, the place is so wonderful.
To get the one negative out of the way…..We had read all the reviews and thought we could manage with a couple of garden bungalows. We knew these would be rustic and did think we could cope without the air conditioning but after being booked into Bungalow 90 we quickly changed our minds. Two bungalows were booked so we could make a comparison and whilst some reviewers have been a bit tough on those who complain we would have to say that No.90 was lacking a few of the basics compared to its neighbouring bungalow. We know that renovations are being carried out and believe this will make a big difference.
That aside, the staff at the hotel were very helpful in arranging an upgrade, we moved to the main block of rooms which were very comfortable.
There was plenty of variety with the food, even the fussiest members of our party could find enough to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We loved the soup and found sometimes it was difficult to decide what to go for as the choice was so plentiful. The afternoon tea wasn’t really needed but a nice bonus. The Antigua Sunrise was our favourite cocktail.
We really enjoyed the entertainment and the staff are an absolute credit to the hotel. EVERYONE was so friendly and helpful and would come and have a chat. When we had a problem following a shopping trip to St Johns, Reception helped us track down the shop and sort it out. Nothing was too much trouble.
A wedding party of 50+ people arrived when we were staying which more than doubled the number of guests. We thought the hotel managed everything very well keeping all guests happy.
The beach is absolutely amazing and the sea was beautiful, we couldn’t keep out of it. There was a magical moment when we were in the sea and it rained for a couple of minutes, it was wonderful watching the raindrops dancing all around us.
There is so much marine and wildlife to keep you entertained throughout the day. We saw hummingbirds, tree frogs, mongoose, herons, pelicans, hermit crabs, stingray, cuttlefish, bats, huge caterpillars and the wonderful sheep etc etc.
Even though we have experienced temperatures in the high 20s at home and people are saying you don’t need to go away for a holiday there really is nowhere quite like Antigua.
We look forward to seeing you all again next year. (Hugs to Ammielle!)

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank theclats4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. When our guests have left with memories of a wonderful holiday we know that we have done our jobs well and it brings us immense satisfaction. We are all so pleased that you all had a great time at Hawksbill and that we could help you relax completely and to recharge your batteries. We love what we do and getting to know our guests is truly one of the best part of our jobs, with that said it was a pleasure meeting the four of you and for our team to take care of you. I do hope that we will be welcoming you back with an Antiguan Sunrise very, very soon. Hugs to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews