We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Washington, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Large property on unbeatable location, the resort has its own beach, the sand is not as fine as others but it is calm, clean and beautiful.

We have a garden bungalow, the room is big with ceiling fan, no air-con but it is cool enough with sea breeze. All the windows are screened but still there are mosquitos so do bring insect repellent.

I was concerned with others' review of dated and tired furnishing etc. It is really not that bad, it has the colonial plantation feel, not modern but definitely not so old that it is depressing. Their efforts of keeping the place nice show.

Staff is very friendly and welcoming.

Food is so so. I think to avoid waste of food, even it is all inclusive, it is not buffets all the time like the other all inclusive hotels we have been. There is a lunch menu you can choose from other than some salad and a few grill items. Desserts and bakery have lots of room for improvement.

The only complaint is the bed, you can feel the spring coils, we have to ask for an extra comfortable to put on top of the mattress, that solves the problem and we did sleep well. Hope they will upgrade their bed soon.

Good value consider its location and facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AllensWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    429
    156
    66
    72
See reviews for
122
750
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seacoast NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We just returned from our 9th visit to Hawksbill and was pleased to find that everything we loved about the place has remained. The property and beaches inviting. The staff warm and welcoming, the other guests familiar and friendly. Little tweaks this year included an expanded and improved menu. We also noticed our friendly painter keeping busy with fresh coats around the bar area, (I did prefer the bar yellow :)) We traveled with friends making their 5th trip and brought along a new couple that also enjoyed their stay. As always Milli, David, Adrian, William and Cristobelle and the rest of the bar staff kept our glasses full. Merlene and Veronica made sure our omelets and burgers were just right. Ionie, Elora and the entire waitstaff made us feel at home and ensured the coffee cups were full. can't wait to return for visit # 10

Room Tip: Each room we've stayed in had it's own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikelbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Before I wrote this review I decided to read what others had to say about the resort. First off I noticed many complaints about the staff of the resort. I can honestly say...the staff at this resort is top notch. I am not sure if any of the negative writers realized the hours this staff puts in. We had seen many of the same wait staff at dinner and beyond, then again serving in the morning. We noted several of the staff working very long hours and still smiling away. We watched the way some people treated the staff, and no wonder you felt like they were "grumpy, not friendly". A simple please and thank you go a long way. They are not servants, their job is waiting tables.

I laugh at the complaints about the goats. The resort backs up to a farm. personally I found them to be rather fun to watch. We got to see a few newborn goats, barely able to stand with their mothers. We also heard the rooster...again, you are near a farm. As for the bats that I saw a complaint about.....we have them in our own yard. They are only out for a short period of time and do a good job in keeping the bug count down.

I had to laugh at the negative comment from the person who didn't like how friendly the other people in the resort were. I think that was THE BEST part. We struck up conversations with people from many other countries and found it to be very rewarding. I think it is awful to be walking on a sidewalk and not say hi to the person coming towards you. "Don't make eye contact, they may want to talk to us".......you are on vacation, so are they...relax and have a good time. We also learned from talking to others, that Hawksbill is bar far the nicest f the resorts on the island. They all agreed you can pay far more for a resort, but not get much more then what is offered at Hawksbill

As far a beach towels go....is it really that big a deal that in order to get two new ones you had to turn your old ones in. The times for turning them in are marked on the paper you got at check in and I "think" it was 9-10 AM. Either way, it isn't a huge deal. it is there way of keeping the costs of lost towels and stolen towels to a minimum. If you weren't responsible for your own towel, would you have ALWAYS remembered to pick it up off the beach???

Yes it is an older crowd at this resort. That's OK with us. There were a few younger couples there as well when we visited, but mostly I would say 45 and older was the average.

We found the food at every meal to be very good. There was always something to enjoy. I would say my favorite meal of the day was breakfast! Eggs anyway you preferred, fruit, yogurt, pastries (to die for), pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausage, bagels, english muffins, three types of juices....all very very good!!!

We were told in advance what the resort was like. We were told it is a very "shabby chic" resort. We were told there was no AC in most rooms (and it says that on the website of the resort). We were told there were no TVs (again, they are not mentioned as amenities in the rooms on the website). Yes the rooms are not fancy or plush, but they were clean.

The grounds of the resort were raked and cleaned every morning. A painter was working every day while we were there. The pool area was cleaned every morning. We saw the staff cleaning the cooler ice was kept in every day. Each day a few times a day a jug of chilled bottles water was replaced for the guests. When it was empty I asked for more, and it was replaced. No questions asked.

We really enjoyed the resort. We were looking for a very laid back place. A place to relax and enjoy the sun and each others company. We were able to do that at Hawksbill very easily.

We enjoyed Eden Beach every day of the trip. Granted the few locals that stroll the beach (it is not a private beach) can be annoying, but we found just ignoring them worked very well. They did there thing we did ours.

We will be back to Hawksbill. We truly enjoyed our seven days there. We enjoyed conversing with the staff and the other guests.

Thank you staff of Hawksbill for a VERY relaxing vacation!!!!!

Room Tip: The even numbered "cabanas" face the water. Choose those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorroth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have just returned from our sixth wonderful holiday at Hawsbill. Beautiful location and friendly staff draw us back every year. It is so relaxing, beaches and garden as as lovely as ever. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneandRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Our trip was fantastic. it was our first time in Antigua. The resort was very nice. The setting was serene. The sea, sun and sand were perfect. We stayed at one of the beach club rooms. Talk about up close, wow. At night it sounded like the ocean was in our room. The layout of the resort was pretty basic. All Club rooms lined up along the beach with more traditional rooms behind. The dining room was a short walk up the hillside. It has an open air design which is nice but it has its drawbacks. I'll say more about that later. The resort is easy, convenient and comfortable. It certainly is not anything like the larger chain-resorts which is what we loved about it. Smaller all the way around and less crowded. Although they advertise children welcome there were only a couple kids under 2 years old. Unlike the larger resorts there is NOTHING for kids to do there, but again they are welcome.
On the downside, the resort is not near anything. The closest town is a 20 minute, $30 R-T cab ride. That's not a bad thing really, just inconvenient. The resort is in decent shape but could use some updating. The rooms are laid out fine BUT the mattresses are rock hard and very uncomfortable. I had to fold BOTH comforters into pads and ask for extra pillows. Also there are only a few rooms with AC. They say the rooms have ceiling fans but they are useless. Remember i mentioned the dinning room and its open air design? OMG the birds are ridiculous. They fly all around the room landing on the backs of the chairs and pooping all over them. They land on food serving equipment, i.e. tongs, and crawl all over piled up plates from cleared tables. PRETTY DISGUSTING! The food was very disappointing. We did the all inclusive. The selections sounded fine but mostly the entrees tasted like processed frozen dinners. The best food came at lunch time at the open air grill by the pool. The usual hots and hamburgers, chicken and fish. Again all the chairs were covered in bird droppings. The most surprising element to the trip was the attitude of most of the staff. Sure there were some that truly seemed to care about the guests. But for the most part they really seemed to be annoyed that you were there.
I know i am nit-picking (sp?) but I want to be thorough. Don't get me wrong we LOVED our time there. The pros definitely out weighed the cons and we would love to go back. The overall experience was wonderful. IF you go, plan events in advance, day trips and boating adventures sell out quickly. Also don't be surprised if there are cancellations due to "rough seas". Hope this helps.

Room Tip: the ocean front club rooms are nice but the "garden rooms" as equally nice so save the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsc1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
9.1 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,828 reviews
7.5 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.8 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,703 reviews
22.1 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
1.0 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing