We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$666
View deal
Hotels.com
US$666
View deal
eDreams
US$670
US$444
View deal
SAVE US$226
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$666
Orbitz.comUS$666
StayForLongUS$670
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
87
16
6
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
16
6
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black sails prickly pear island family pool adult pool ocean front beach ambassadors water aerobics class operations manager dream catcher drift bar uk half term dining staff sushi menu bedroom villa three bedroom beautiful lobby front desk staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Hodges Bay in early July. Like many others who have reviewed Hodges Bay on here, we went through a spell where we were a tad apprehensive, due to the reviews that were coming through not long after the hotel had opened.
We needn’t have worried.

Apart from the room requiring a bit of ‘softening’ when we arrived, which was promptly dealt with by Romane, we spent a very enjoyable twelve nights at the resort.
The hotel is a short journey from the airport, and upon arrival, you’re greeted by a very nice entrance, and hotel reception area.
We had an Ocean Front Two Bedroom Apartment that was a really good suite, with a large balcony, and a stunning view.
There was also a kitchen, with cooking facilities, and a full size fridge freezer. within the apartment, that proved to be very handy for us.
We were staying on a Bed & Breakfast basis, and although the setting for breakfast was brilliant, the choice of offerings got a bit monotonous over the 11 nights that we were there. Also, having tried all of the restaurants that are onsite, which were all very nice, our favourite was the Black Sails ‘Ultra Lounge’, where the tapas on offer were outstanding.
The staff were a major highlight of our stay, and like many others who have posted reviews, special mention must go to
- Brian,the Hotel Manager, who always took time to speak to the guests, and even searched the island for a bottle of Aperol for our enjoyment (much to the joy of Mrs T)
- Romane, who made sure that we were looked after at every opportunity
- Jonathon, Charles and Kevere, to whom nothing was a problem.
- LinseyAnn who’s smile made our start to the day at breakfast a pleasurable one
- Eyron, who went above and beyond, trying to teach an old man the basics of paddle boarding
- Seymour and Charles, two bartenders, who nothing seemed to be a problem for.
- and finally, Trevor AKA Stormzy, who while technically not a member of staff, was the best taxi driver and guide we could have asked for.

As for the hotel itself, for the size of the place, there definitely is a feel of a boutique hotel, due to the very attentive service that is on offer.
We loved our holiday at Hodges Bay, and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Antigua.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank LavvyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianmI50JS, Manager at Hodges Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Dear LavvyKing,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Hodges Bay Resort & Spa here in Antigua.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your accommodations and that it met your overall expectations with it’s amenities.

We are more than happy to offer additional food items for breakfast on your next vacation with us. We understand due to the length of your stay food items can seem repetitive; I have shared this feedback with the Executive Chef who has asked to pass on his apologies and has already started working on a breakfast menu that rotates more often.

I have shared your kind words with the team members that you mentioned, and they have asked me to say thank you for your kind words.

Thank you for all your recommendations and please feel free to contact me directly when booking your next visit to Hodges Bay in the future

Regards,

Brian Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

It is with great pleasure that I write this review about Hodges Bay. We stayed in a three-bedroom condo with a beautiful view during the first week of July. I am so thrilled to see that others are giving this property great reviews as the staff deserves the recognition. Before we arrived, reservations and the staff answered all our questions and concerns. Brian Murphy, Hodges Bay Manager, is always available and extremely professional in ensuring a magnificent stay for all the guests. Romane, the Villa Concierge and Butler Service Manager, was exceptional with the details of our visit to this beautiful resort.

After being greeted with smiles and champagne at the front desk, we were escorted by Romane to our room. From the moment we stepped into the beautiful open air lobby, we were treated like family. We have rave reviews for our butlers, Craig, Kev and Jonathan. Every day, they wanted to make sure that our excursions and reservations for dinner were made well in advance. The breakfast buffet and lunch on property were both excellent and the staff was extremely hospitable.

This place is for those traveling looking for a peaceful and quiet vacation to unwind. It is designed to relax in a laid-back atmosphere. The morning trip to Prickly Pear Island is a quick getaway and the lunch offered was delicious. The resort is extremely clean. The fitness room is nice and yoga classes were fantastic.

Due the fact that it is summer, some of the resort options were not available such as the coffee bar; please note that this was not a problem, because anything you want to eat or drink can be provided by the butlers upon request. July is off season, so there was no need to have some of these options open. The island is beautiful and worth exploring.

Thank you again to Brian Murphy and staff who checked in with us daily to make recommendations and ensure our every need was met. Overall, I would recommend this property. Amazing resort, Great vacation, Great staff! Would go back for rest and relaxation anytime.

Very impressed with Elegant hotels!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JMtravel1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianmI50JS, Manager at Hodges Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Dear JMtravel1121,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review following your recent stay here at Hodges Bay Resort & Spa here in Antigua.

I am happy to hear that the butlers went above and beyond with booking your reservations, tours and excursions and to make your overall stay as pleasant as possible. I was also pleased to read that you found the resort facilities met your expectations.

Thank you once again for choosing Hodges Bay Resort & Spa and for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Regards,

Brian Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2019

Recently spent 8 nights at Hodges Bay Resort & Spa with my daughter and sister. We had an absolutely luxurious vacation. We stayed in a beautiful two bedroom ocean view apartment overlooking the pool. Our stay included butler service and Romane, Craig, and Jonathan were amazing and took care of all our requests from airport transfers to dinner reservations, booking tours, arranging taxi transportation and basically making sure we were enjoying each day of our vacation. The breakfast buffet was excellent each morning as well as the food at all the restaurants on the property including room service. All the staff from the front desk to the pool and beach were so helpful and worked hard to make sure all of our needs were met. The Hodges Bay Resort & Spa and all of its staff are the reason we will be returning next year!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianmI50JS, Manager at Hodges Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Dear Cathy B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay here at Hodges Bay Resort and Spa here in Antigua.

I am delighted that you had a luxurious vacation experience with your sister and daughter at our resort. I have shared your kind words with the all our team members, who are so grateful for the recognition. It's a comforting knowing that you and your family left relaxed following your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hodges Bay Resort and Spa next year.

Kind regards,

Brian Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019

Just returned home after the most amazing two week family holiday at Hodges Bay resort. I don't often write reviews but felt that i needed to express what a wonderful place this was to stay.
From the minute we arrived to the minute we departed everyone at the resort were so helpful and friendly. I like to especially mention the Manager Brian who worked hard in order to make sure his guests were happy at all times and also Craig and Jonathan who are a credit to the hotel with their excellent customer service, nothing was too much trouble and they both have the best smiles on the island.
All areas of the hotel are kept so clean and the rooms are cleaned every day.
The restaurants were nice and the food was lovely although maybe a few extra dishes on the menu would be good.
We stayed in a ground floor 3 bed apartment over looking the sea it was very spacious and ideal for family of 6. The only thing that was missing was maybe somewhere to dry towels and wet beach stuff rather than having to hang it all around the apartment. (only small issue).
The beach bar perhaps needs a little more entertainment at night as its set in a beautiful spot in the resort in which you can see the sunset.
I would recommend to hire a car to visit other parts of the island. We loved Jollys beach and ate in a lovely restaurant called The Bay House. Also swimming with stingrays was amazing ( a must do). Also another recommendation would be to go on the sailing boat a round the island we went with a company called Eolia highly recommended.
The hotel is happy too arrange any activities you wish to do.
Overall a fantastic holiday and our thanks goes to Brain and his team. Hope to see you all again soon.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sixonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianmI50JS, Manager at Hodges Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay here at Hodges Bay Resort and Spa here in Antigua.

We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing two weeks at our new luxurious resort. I have shared your kind words to each team member that you have mentioned who were all very appreciative.

I must say that we are happy to hear that you were pleased with your Ocean Front Three Bedroom Apartment. Our team here at Hodges Bay Resort, have been working hard to ensure that everything is perfect and I was pleased to read that you also found the resort facilities met your expectations.

Thank you once again for choosing Hodges Bay Resort & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Brian Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019

For a new hotel, this has outdone many holidays I have been on. Picturesque beach, beautiful scenery and even the main pool was peaceful despite the fact there is also an adult pool! Both are lovely. Food was great, the only downfall was the time taken to be served. Not once have the chef nor waitresses told us 'no', they are more than happy to accommodate to every request. The highlight by far has been the butlers, Romaine, Craig and Jonathan are a credit to this hotel and they make it stand out. They are attentive, more than helpful, and lovely, genuine people. I could not speak of them more highly. Perhaps the men could be allowed to wear a polo shirt or shorts during the daytime? There is a range of things to do on this island, and you will never be bored! Location is great.

I have had the most relaxing 10 days and I would recommend this hotel to anyone, I will be back!

Thank you :)

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank indiadaisy1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianmI50JS, Manager at Hodges Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Dear indiadaisy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay here at Hodges Bay Resort and Spa.

I was delighted to read that this holiday has outdone many of your previous holidays which I am sure have all been outstanding. I have shared your kind words with the butler team who are a so grateful for the recognition. It's a comforting knowing that you and your family left relaxed following your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hodges Bay Resort and Spa.

Kind regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews