We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trip to Malta”
Review of The Burrow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Burrow
Ranked #1 of 1 Tarxien B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The Burrow at Tarxien, Malta belongs very well to the complete isle. A wonderful old house, lovely restored and a nice result between old and new. Dinner together with the family is the best way, learning english again! (so, I should better fly back again) The people of Malta - especially Chiara, Frank and their kids - are very friendly and helpfull. The easiest way to travel around the isle is by bus or with the friendly taxi drivers. Valetta and Mdina are great cities, the perfect mix between old and new (very busy) in Valetta and full of history in Mdina.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

I would go back tomorrow if I could! Cozy, classy and clean rooms, extensive breakfast, family dinner if desired. Privacy and quiet in spite of the whirling doings of a wonderfully adaptive and engaging family with separate quarter. The place exudes quality in every direction. I loved that it is in a small town, with access to everywhere. No need for a car. I had a bicycle. Wish I could have stayed a week!
Gloriously warm-hearted and sharp-minded hosts who give their all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiaraperesso, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Deborah,
Thank you so very much for your lovely words. It was wonderful knowing you if only for two days. I truly hope to meet you again and hopefully hear you play. It will help inspire a few :)
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Very nice, authentic, old and beautiful B&B. About 450 years old. Very kind and helpful people who run this... They really treat you as being part of their family. Clean and modern facilities. Just a few km's located from Valletta old town. BR, Stephan & Sander

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Clean and large rooms with nice and new furnitures. Clean and large bathroom too. Tipical Maltese building with squared stones and wood everywhere that make the house "alive" and warm!
The hosts, Frank and Chiara, were SO SPECIAL! A great family, kindly, funny, young and so on...you can feel like at home! Chiara speaks an excellent italian too.
Having the dinner all together, hosts and other guests from different country, was a wonderful and unique experience.
If you want to visit Malta then you MUST stay at The Burrow!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My bedroom was so nice! I sleep so good! And my friend's bedroom was like being in a castle!
The best breakfast of my all stay!
Chiara and her husband were helpful, smily, warm and friendly.
If I come back to Malta for sure I will stay again a the Burrow.

Room Tip: Je connais les deux chambres du rez de chaussée avec le patio c'etait extra. Celle du dernier é...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WildMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarxien
6.6 km away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,038 reviews
5.3 km away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,237 reviews
5.3 km away
Palazzo Violetta
Palazzo Violetta
#1 of 14 in Sliema
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Port View Guesthouse
Port View Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
314 reviews
5 km away
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel
2.1 km away
Julesy's BnB
Julesy's BnB
#1 of 2 in Cospicua (Bormla)
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrow

Address: No. 3 Alley 4, St. Mary Street, Tarxien, Island of Malta TXN 1740, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Tarxien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarxien
Price Range: €48 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Burrow 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burrow is a charming House of Character situated in the village core of Tarxien, located in a peaceful setting ideal for the single traveller, couples and families with children. Good location just a bus ride from the central area and the best attractions. Walking distance from the famous Tarxien Temples and minutes away from other pre historic sites and lovely beaches. At the end of the day, you can rest in a quiet and cool courtyard with other international guests and taste genuine home made food. Warm hospitality from your hosts will make you feel welcome and at home. Rich continental breakfast served in the period breakfast room or bright courtyard. The Burrow features comfortable bedrooms with the option of an en-suite bathroom. There are two large living rooms with satellite TV and another living room for the quiet reader.Children and families or small groups are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Burrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing