We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantallon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilsland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tantallon House
Ranked #7 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Chesterfield,UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed at Tantallon House B&B for one night whilst walking Hadrians Wall. The warm and friendly reception which I received on arrival was impressive. Stayed in the South Room with a large private bathroom across the corridor containing both a free standing shower and corner bath. Lovely quiet location with little traffic and views across the hills made for a good night's sleep followed by a hearty breakfast next morning. Received good advice from my host as how to leave the Wall path later in the day to make my next destination. Took an pleasant walk up to Birdoswald to rejoin the wall path close to the Banna Roman Fort. I got an evening meal at the Spar Hotel just up the hill which was good value and gave me the opportunity to visit the superb little Church at the start of the hotel drive. I understand that evening meals can also usually be arranged at the B&B across the road to Tantallon House. Highly recommended whatever the purpose of your visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    37
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
63
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Witney, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Cannot recommend this B&B enough. We mis-timed our day of walking and arrived before check-in time, but within minutes were inside the B&B's communal living room being served with hot tea and fresh-out-of-the-oven hot cross buns. Delicious.

The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. The B&B's position high on a hillside in Gilsland afforded each room on the front of the house with a truly unbeatable view of a long section of Hadrian's Wall and rolling pastureland for miles beyond that.

The night's rest and breakfast were both of high quality. The hosts struck a perfect balance between being available for questions but not hovering.

Perhaps the thing that impressed us most was the willingness of the hosts to cater to our needs as Wall-walkers. At breakfast, we were met with a print-out of the days weather forecast, details on bus times, and knowledgeable answers to all our questions about the remainder of the route. They also offered bicycle storage, which I had my eye on for a possible repeat trip following the cycle trails.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had a family break at Easter 2012 - 4 of us stayed in two rooms at Tantallon House B&B. Despite the very variable weather (bright sunshine one day, showers and even snow on subsequent days), we had a thoroughly enjoyable few days. Roger and Lorna could not have been more welcoming, and were extremely knowledgeable about the local area, suggesting places to visit when our walking plans went awry because of the weather. The rooms were comfortable, bathrooms luxurious and breakfast was a feast. Tea and biscuits in the afternoon went down very well. We would thoroughly recommend Tantallon House B&B!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house have a view of Hadrian's Wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our family had a magical visit to Cumbria in April 2012. It rained every day, but the perfect location of the self catering Tantallon cottage didn't stopped us from exploring the area with young kids. We would highly recommend any family to stay in this lovely cottage.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luchy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here in February 2011 for one evening on the way up to St Andrews in Scotland.

We were keen to stay in this bed and breakfast given it’s fantastic location so close to Hadrian’s Wall and it was a truly delightful stay.

Tantallon House was easy to find and there was plenty of parking space. On arrival Roger and Lorna were very welcoming and served us afternoon tea which we enjoyed in the spacious lounge while they explained some of the history around the bed and breakfast. We were keen to do a walk along Hadrian’s Wall so Roger provided us with a map and a few different routes we could follow. The walk we did was superb and took us along the wall and through some of the countryside.

Ahead of the booking we had the option of the choosing which room we would stay in which was nice. We chose the East Room which was very spacious with a modern TV and a private bathroom. Everything in the room was lovely. We asked for a tour around the house and were surprised to find a full sized snooker table on the top floor! The whole house is evidently carefully looked after with Roger and Lorna clearly perfectionists wanting guests to have the perfect stay!

We slept very well, the room was quiet and the beds really comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding!!! It’s worth checking out the breakfast menu on the website (http://www.tantallonhouse.co.uk/bed-and-breakfast/breakfast-menu.html) but I went for the full English breakfast with orange juice, tea and a selection of cereals and it set me in good stead for the rest of the day!

Our only regret was that we didn’t stay longer! This is a brilliant B&B and we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask when booking if you'd like a room with a view over Hadrian's Wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
0.0 km away
Gilsland Spa Hotel
Gilsland Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 km away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#3 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.7 km away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
11.5 km away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#5 of 27 in Brampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
8.2 km away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantallon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantallon House

Property: Tantallon House
Address: Tantallon House Hadrian's Wall, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tantallon House bed and breakfast and holiday cottage accommodation, located on the border of Cumbria and Northumberland, overlooks the longest unbroken stretch of Hadrian's Wall. We offer a peaceful getaway spot and an ideal gateway to the many places of interest in this area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing