We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing take away meal”
Review of The Samson Inn

The Samson Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Gilsland
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 23 September 2020

We recently stayed at Brookside Villa B&B in Gilsland and through them ordered an take away prepared by the staff at the Sanson Inn (which sadly is currently closed). After a hard days run, the meal was just what we needed - the fish pie was a mix of excellent flavours and the lamb hot was also great. All the puddings on the menu sounded great and the ones we chose were.
We can recommend their takeaway meals and look forward to returning when the bar is open again.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2020

The Samson Inn chefs - Maurice and Sara - have provided over 200 take-away evening meals for my B&B guests over the past weeks. Great food and an essential service. Thank you to all the staff who are pulling this together, Denise & Gerry

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denisec687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020

Gilsland's only Inn and I think we got there on a bad day. This was our last night on a 4 day walk along Hadrian's Wall. We had a comfortable night in our room and the staff were friendly and helpful. However, the food was not up too much. Fish pie was all potato and the lamb hotpot was undercooked and had too much untrimmed lamb fat in it. Breakfast was lumpy scrambled egg, and some salmon thrown on top of it. Good selection of ales at the bar but the website ordering process (covid) was clumsy and hard to work (no way to order breakfast on line except by a cut and paste process). After three efficient and accessible experiences for meals/beds in previous B&Bs on our walk the Samson Inn scored low marks for its approach to the covid problem - seriously over engineered!

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnCambsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

Lovely people, great food! We had a take away for four (the pub is closed) which was really nice. 2of us are vegan and our needs were perfectly catered for, including breakfast. We had chestnut & mushroom pie with chips & veg, and coconut milk rice pudding which was yum. Room was clean and comfortable.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank 450chrissiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2020

Pub itself ids still closed but the chefs who supplied lovely dinners to our B&B in Gilsland deserve a special mention. Thank you

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Graham0072015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Samson Inn also viewed

 
Castle Carrock, Brampton
 

Been to The Samson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.