We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day break”
Review of The Samson Inn

The Samson Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Gilsland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

We cannot fault the Samson inn. The breakfasts were excellent.We ate thwre for 3 evenings and each dish we tried showed that the chef loved food and brought the flavour out in everything he cooked.The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.We would highly recommend this place.We love it when people..and places exceed our expectations.Well done owners.Gina &Chris Richards.Harrogate.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Passenger619397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

The twice baked cheddar cheese soufflé tasted as good as it looks in the photo and the apple and coconut crumble was just as scrumptious. The thing about the Samson Inn is that the food is a real surprise, as the pub is an unpretentious village boozer that isn’t easy to find. We stumbled upon it the first time we did the Hadrian’s Wall walk a couple of years ago - we were so impressed that we paid a return visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DWaters82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

we ate here while visiting the area at the end of August, we had their rare beef burger, it was yummy, the pub is dog friendly too so we were able to eat and keep our dog with us which was good. lovely surroundings, tasty food, friendly staff, whats not to like

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank dianewoods1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Very family friendly and cozy gastro pub. All the staff were friendly and polite on each visit I made (twice), the food tasted amazing and I highly recommend the steak, perfectly cooked to my request.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank J1jonny8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Great atmosphere. Helpful staff. Great food (especially good steak!). Good beer selection. Super-king-size bed in Superior Room

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Samson Inn also viewed

 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 

Been to The Samson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing