We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cafe”

House of Meg Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Gilsland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

A lovely little cafe in the heart of Gilsland. We had some delightful sausage and bacon baps and a hot drink to warm up.

Would recommend a slight detour from the HWP for hikers to recharge batteries.

A great haven from the wet weather. They do have a side garden for use in better weather.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank HelenaL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

Lots of outdoor tables as well as indoor space. Simple menu but able to provide a gluten free filled roll for us. My toasted panini with brie, bacon and cranberry was excellent. Lovely, friendly service.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank joaniebinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

Good little tearoom/shop in Gisland - good stop off if you are walking on Hadrian’s Wall path. Serves hot snacks and sandwiches etc. We had coffee and home-made blueberry and apple scones - perfect rest break.
Plenty of seating outside in garden and front of shop.
Friendly , helpful staff too.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank deedeem959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

Friendly, welcoming, clean, with excellent coffee. A lovely pitstop on our hike. Tables inside and out and dogs welcome too.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank flosssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2020 via mobile

Called in for a snack before going on a walk with our dogs. It was quite late on (2:30pm) and was still busy. They had run out of a few things but were very flexible and were able to put together 3 very delicious panini. The guy in charge was very friendly and helpful. We sat outside with the dogs and the food was brought out to us. This cafe is a little gem well worth a visit if you’re in the area. I look forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank SkiBabeWiddrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Meg Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to House of Meg Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.