We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soothing hideaway or family fun ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed in a Deluxe Beachfront Room and loved it. The super king four poster was so comfortable and the private outdoor shower a lovely, tropical treat - we didn't use the shower inside our bathroom! Our room opened onto a private deck then the beach - absolute beachfront alright! The cabanas surrounding the pool, restaurants and waterfront were a fun feature of our dining experience and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. The snorkelling is much better at this beach than Muri Lagoon and there are lots of other water based activities on offer for free - from kayaking to paddle boarding, or having free scuba lessons in the pool! The staff are very friendly and helpful and the resort features lots of free parking spaces across the road from the resort for your rental. Overall, we loved our stay - relaxing and blissful to full of activity and lots of family fun!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BBercic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 October 2017

Kia Orana BBercic,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so delighted to hear you had a blissful and relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed your Deluxe Beachfront Suite along with the outdoor private shower, which is a unique feature and very popular with our guests.
The Chef and his team will be thrilled to hear that you found the food to be delicious and reasonably priced.
We pride ourselves on our beach location and the Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve which is the longest established marine reserve, and has world-class snorkeling.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post you review, we are thrilled to hear you had such a lovely holiday and truly took advantage of what we have on offer.
Kind regards,
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

The area in Rarotonga where the hotel is situated is probably as good as it gets with beatiful beach and sea. Unfortunately, however, the same can't be said of the hotel itself. Some nice friendly staff and some not so good. The rooms are particularly disappointing.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Redkinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2017

Kia Orana Redkinnell
Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear you loved the beautiful beach and Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve with stunning sunsets, and plenty of tropical fish affording you world-class snorkeling directly in front of the resort.
I am sorry to hear that you found some of our staff not so good, and your room to be disappointing.

We have introduced additional training for our front line staff in an effort to improve on our service levels, and as you have probably seen during your stay we are undergoing soft refurbishment of public areas and rooms as occupancy allows, and with minimal guest inconvenience.
Yours sincerely
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Good value resort on south side of the island with everything right on your doorstep. Kayaks and paddle boards free to use and good restaurants and bars on site. Great spot for sunsets with beautiful beach and decks to watch from

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2017

Kia Orana Tim,
Thank you for your glowing review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful beach location of the resort, and happy that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the complimentary water sports equipment available to our guests.
I am pleased to hear that you also enjoyed our food and beverage outlooks.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Rarotonga in the near future.
Kind regards,
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

The rooms, facilities, beach are all great. Food also was really nice. Particularly enjoyed the the a la carte menu and definately chefs specials. However having stayed at many resorts in Fiji, Asia, Jamaica, Mexico, Australia, Hawaii, this place is very dull. Im not sure if it's a cultural difference (we visited resorts in Aitutaki Lagoon that were more lively) or not but the staff are very nonchalant, there is no real entertainment, no cultural shows or dancing. Nothing to make you consider sticking around once the sun goes down. Daily resort activities are boring and not attended. For those who do show up you leave wondering why you bothered. Thankfully we were there with friends and entertained ourselves. I recommend leaving the resort and taking the bus or scooter to see more of the island. Overall the place is clean and tidy but if you are looking for a fun and superfriendly resort, i would recommend elsewhere....like Fiji. They have really finessed great fun family fun.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2017

Kia Orana Janet
Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you found your accommodation, the facilities and location to be great. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the scrumptious meals our chefs prepared for you during your stay.
Our Tour Desk offers guests various options to book tours and cultural events on the island, such as the famous Te Vara Nui cultural show, Highland Paradise cultural show, Koka Lagoon Cruise and many more. These tours offer pick-up and drop-off service from the lobby.
We have taken on board your comment regarding our daily activities programme, however I must say that I am a little surprised as our Activities programme is one of the favourite features of our guests stay, and we tend to receive glowing reviews of the staff who look after our Activities Hut.
Yours sincerely
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

After reading Trip Advisor reviews prior to our holiday I was a little nervous about staying here, but I was pleasantly surprised!

Our garden room with a King bed and a set of bunk beds was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Everything worked. The team at the Rarotongan were friendly and accommodating, going out of their way to make sure my kids and I were happy (something I appreciated even more as a single mom).

The game fish on the menu at the restaurant was superb, they have great cocktails, along with an extensive drinks menu for the kids. My kids loved the kids club and the activities they had on offer.

The best thing of all though is the beach and lagoon. The water is crystal clear and teeming with fish. We spent most of our days swimming, snorkelling, and kayaking which was bliss! The activities hut was well stocked and we appreciated being able to get fresh beach towels each day. Eating breakfast overlooking the water we even got to see a whale.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2017

Kia Orana Tanya,
We are thrilled to hear that you and the kids had a great family holiday with us.
We are glad that you were well looked after and that you enjoyed the beach location and the crystal clear Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve, along with the complimentary water sports equipment and cultural activities, as well as the kids club.
I have passed on your compliments to the Chefs and they are ecstatic.
This is the best time of year for whale watching, and we are delighted that you and the kids experienced this over breakfast from the waterfront deck.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back to Rarotonga.
Wishing you and the family all the best for the upcoming festive season.
Kind regards
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.2 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.7 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
9 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
8.4 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.7 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve | Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: €134 - €256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing