We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
150
166
124
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
166
124
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar rarotongan resort upstairs room cook islands room servicing direct beach access huge bed private beach seafood platter sister hotel marine reserve beachfront room paddle boards our honeymoon island style tropical breakfast captain andys
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Very relaxing place to stay; extremely comfortable beds, soundproof rooms, heavy curtains, excellent air-conditioning and ceiling fan, good mosquito netted ranch sliders, user friendly in-room safe for valuables, good water pressure and hot water supply in shower.
Staff unobtrusive but willing to help when asked.
Amazing snorkeling on Sanctuary Beach- swum with a turtle, saw huge variety of fish all shapes and sizes.Sat on our balcony and watched migrating hump-bank whales. Enjoyed use of free SUPs and kayaks.
As other reviewers have mentioned room often wasn't serviced till late in the day but this wasn't an issue. You are on "Island Time". Check in and check out extremely smooth, Appreciated daily newsletter showing tide times, weather, activities and local info. One negative was the sand in the dining areas, there were cigarette butts which remained under the tables in the pool area over several days.
All in all an excellent place to stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank letsgo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Kia Orana Letsgo,
Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us.
We are so pleased to hear that you found your room very relaxing, with the extremely comfy beds, soundproofing, heavy curtains, excellent air-con, mosquito screens and good hot water supply in the shower. It was also nice to hear that the staff were helpful but unobtrusive, and that the newsletter was helpful with the local info.
The Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve directly in front of the resort is the longest established marine reserve on the island, and as it is a natural fish breeding site, it offers world class snorkelling, as well as safe kayaking and stand-up paddle-boarding. We are pleased to hear you had sightings of the migrating humpback whales, this is the best time of year to see them.
The sand floor in the Bluewater Grill restaurant highlights the beachfront location of the resort, but we have taken on board your comments regarding the cigarette butts and passed on to the Manager concerned.
We would love to have you back in the near future. Wishing you all the best for the remainder of 2017.
Kind regards,
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Booked Ground floor beach front room 7 Months prior to visit. Dispite 2 emails confirming we have what we paid for....upon arrival we were in a 1st floor room having spoken with the manager on 2 occasions we were not moved... very upsetting and would not recommend this place to anybody !!!! .for the price they ask, breakfast was the same everyday, WIFi expensive when paying $400- $500 a night you would expect free wifi.?? This is not a 4 star hotel by any means, possible 2 star at the most and over priced at that. There are better on the Island......

Room Tip: Do not go there
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Kia Orana Ian,
We appreciate your feedback.
We make every effort to accommodate room requests by guests, however during busy times it is not always possible to allocate due to high occupancy levels.
As with most resorts on the Island, we offer a complimentary tropical breakfast buffet including seasonal fruits, fresh-baked breads, Danish and pastries, cereals, muesli, yoghurt, muffins and croissants, as well as an a la carte menu for an extra charge, and daily breakfast specials.
Our wifi rates are the same as the main supplier, as well as other resorts around the island. As you will appreciate, we are in the middle of the South Pacific on an isolated island, therefore wifi prices are not comparable to what you would pay at home.
I am happy to discuss any further issues you may have in a private forum. Please feel free to contact me via our website.
Kind regards,
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Sanctuary is set on a very nice beach and is Adults only but that for me with where the positives stop. Lisa the Night Manager is blunt, indignant and try's to hide that behind a polite voice. Other staff seem nice but a very under skilled and lack training. The rooms have issues with Cockroaches and ants it is an island so these can be expected. Housekeeping is extremely weak with rooms not being serviced until after 4pm and then coming back to see the floors not mopped the toilet not cleaned the showers untouched, in fact i think they only made the bed that was it. Poor cleaning is one thing but a light hanging from it's fitting inside the shower is dangerous as the wires are exposed over the shower (room 622). I did write that on a comment card my 2nd day but it was never looked at during my 1 week. They allow glasses in the pool yet another bad idea. It would be good to see someone take control of this resort before things get worse. At $285 NZ per night

Room Tip: Find a better hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aswyn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Kia Orana Aswyn,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the beautiful beachfront location at our adults-only resort.
We are sorry to hear about your experience with certain staff members, and rest assured I have personally addressed this with those concerned. It is disappointing to hear that our housekeeping levels were not up to standard during your stay and I apologise for this. Again I have personally addressed this with the team in housekeeping.
I apologise that the faulty light in the shower was not addressed promptly due to a miscommunication between departments. I can assure you that this issue has been resolved.
We do not allow glasses in the pool as this is a standard international policy and we take our guests’ safety very, very seriously. We do serve cocktails and cool drinks in Polycarp glasses, although they look like glass they are in fact plastic.
Being a tropical island, harmless bugs and insects are sometimes seen in rooms, and this is due to food and drinks left out in the open.
The resort has a Duty Manager available from 7am-10pm daily, who is more than happy to assist and address any issues you may have during your stay.
Kind regards,
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our experience at sanctuary as it was on the sheltered side and all the water toys are free to use. Although a bit dated rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. The restaurant was only ok for food quality but waiting staff were very friendly. Wifi is rubbish and expensive.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jjmacMorrinsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 October 2017

Kia Orana jjmac,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear you really enjoyed your holiday and your comfortable room, the friendly staff, and it sounds like you made wonderful use of the complimentary snorkels, kayaks and stand-up paddle-boards to experience the amazing marine life in the Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve.
We have recently welcomed an experienced Executive Chef to our resort, and we are in the process of overhauling all our menus to provide our guests with a wider range of choice from the healthier and fresher options, to the old favourites.
Unfortunately, due to being a tropical island in the middle of the South Pacific, wifi service is not always as reliable as you experience at home. Our prices are comparative to the main provider on the island.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Wishing you all the best for the upcoming festive season.
Kind regards,
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

A wonderful location on the island, safe waters for swimming and other water activities. Very quite and relaxing . Comfortable beds and lovely rooms. Staff are helpful and food was excellent. All in all a good time was had by all.

Room Tip: We think our rooms were the best 720 and 721.....upstairs beach front...but they were all great.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Nannywazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 October 2017

Kia Orana Nannywazo,
Thank you for your wonderful 5* review.
We are delighted to hear you also think this is paradise, and enjoyed our wonderful location right on Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve, with the safe swimming and quiet and relaxing environment.
We are also pleased to hear you found your bed comfortable, the room lovely, and that our staff and the food were all excellent.
We are thrilled you all had a great time.
We would love to welcome you back to paradise again in the future, in the meantime, we wish you the very best for the remainder of 2017.
Warmest regards,
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews