We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Grove
Nearby Hotels
Raro Beach Bach(Vaimaanga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
327
193
44
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
193
44
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellow hibiscusbeachfront bungalowhappy hourcook islandsfishacross the roadbedroom housesunday bbqboiled eggsbeautiful beachon site restauranthibiscus restaurantlaid backtropical breakfastbeach sidefresh fruitfree kayaks
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our first trip to Rarotonga and what an AWESOME TIME and the stay at Palm Grove was as I said above... Simply Amazing. A big thank you to Betsy and her staff especially Joanne, Nga (The man of many talents, builder, rugby coach & comedian) and Toko (making it all easy) in the office and a big shout out to the staff at the restaurant and the young cook. Hey young cook keep up the great work...'Go and try the burgers!!!" Complimentary Breakfast and great lunch and dinner menu.

We stayed in the One Bedroom Superior Bungalow Room G11, Spacious, clean with cooking facilities and lounge and outdoor deck with a beautful view of the mountains out back and mancured gardens with mountain jungle out back... breath taking.

Beach white sands warm blue AND only 1 minute walk away, free snorkeling gear and along to look at out in the reef, free kayaks. Also scooter hire from Palm Grove but you'll need a bike licence approx 40min ride around the island of Raro

We had drinks with other guest at their beach front bungalows... awesome again, awesome view. HAPPY HOUR AT PALM GROVE.. Every Friday 4:30pm - 6:00pm its actually 1.5hrs haha Free drinks to house guests, live music the band is great. Atmosphere gets you in the mood with that island flavour.

What got me was the high volume of return guests ages (20's to 80's+) honey mooners to relaxying getting away to Palm Grove that I spoke to who are bringing more friends and family.

My wife and I loved it and we will go back to Palm Grove for sure and we will be taking our kids this time.

You know what... stop reading this and book now. You won't be disappointed.

Have a good stay

Pana & Jo. Christchurch, New Zealand.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and go for the beach front bungalow. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our first trip to Rarotonga was AMAZING!! We loved staying at the Palm Grove. The bungalow was right off the beach with an breath taking view. Just a few steps off our back porch and we were on the most beautiful beach you could imagine. The restaurant was very good and had one of the best breakfasts on the island. Also, the staff of the hotel are all very helpful and friendly. Our only regret is that we didn't have the opportunity to stay longer! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Bungalows are the way to go!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After a lot of research for a place to stay in Rarotonga, my partner and I took the plunge to book Palm Grove after reading rave reviews on Trip Advisor .... and wow, are we glad we did!

We were a little bit nervous at booking a One Bedroom Superior Bungalow after the great reviews of the BeachFront rooms, but we were far from disappointed. The room was spacious, clean and set in absolutely beautiful gardens, with a picturesque view of the jungle right on the back door step. The beach was only a minute away from the front door with the restaurant and main office just around the corner, which left the room quiet and relaxing. There are a few good spots to snorkel on the island, but the beach at Palm Grove was so amazing we didn't even go to any other beaches! We also loved the free snorkel, reef shoe and kayak hire (which we made a lot of use of!).

The staff were also great, with the pick up from the airport excellent and some really good tips into what do during your stay and some insight into island life. We took the opportunity to have a walk around some of the big resorts while we were in Raro and we were SO glad we chose Palm Grove.

What we wanted was a relaxing, authentic experience without staying somewhere big and 'flashy' and thats exactly what we got. If going back, we wouldn't stay anywhere else and we can't recommend it more.

Room Tip: The One Bedroom Superior Bungalows are excellent value for money and offer a beautiful setting away from the direct beach front.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Third trip to Rarotonga and have to say this accomodation was the best so far. Small, clean and friendly. Cook in your room, or eat on site or at a nearby places and a convenient grocery store within walking distance. Great beach for swimming and snorkelling. Hopefully my 4th trip will be for longer than 2 weeks and will be at Palm Grove!
Thanks Besty and Staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed in a Beach Front studio which was very definitely on the beach. To wake up each morning with that wonderful view over the lagoon was truly stunning and the colours were wonderful. I could hardly believe the colour and variety of fish in the lagoon, which is perfect for those swimmers with a little less confidence as you don't even need to go out of your depth (unlike The Barrier Reef).
The Studio itself had everything we needed, particularly as we self catered for most of the time, though the restaurant was good quality and value. We would rate the accomodation 3/4 star and in fairness the owners do not claim to be at 5 star standard and accordingly the room rates are very reasonable. We understand that some refurbishment is about to take place, including a new swimming pool. However, the location (especially the Beach Front Studios) is more than 5 star and could not be bettered at any price.
The staff were a little shy at first (no problem with that) but we soon got to know them and they are very definitely lovely people and a credit to Rarotonga.
For us, this ticked all our boxes and we would love to make a return visit before too long.

Room Tip: Unless you prefer to relax around the pool, then the Beachfront Studios are definitely the best with the Matenga Beachfronts almost as good
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGrove, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Kia Orana Eric,

Thanks very much for your review of Palm Grove! We're so glad you and Anne enjoyed your time with us. It's wonderful that you've mentioned our upcoming refurbishments and I wanted to provide a little further information for other TripAdvisor readers.

As I've mentioned in some previous responses, Palm Grove is upgrading our mattresses this month. We have purchased Sleepyhead Elegance Plush mattresses, more commonly found in 4-5 star hotels. We have had these mattresses in our Beachfront Studios for 14 months now and they've gotten rave reviews. We expect to have the new mattresses in place in the next week, and this upgrade will include all new linens and pillows. And next month, all of our new furniture arrives!

We've started a refurbishment of our Garden Studios where we're installing bamboo-ply ceilings and homemade headboards. One unit has been finished so far and due to high occupancy, we have to wait until May to refurb two more units and then Sept to do the remaining three. The first unit has turned out really great and we are exciting about getting the rest of them completed.

And 2013 is definitely going to see us install a new swimming pool and refurbished decking/BBQ area! We don't have an exact date yet but we are aiming for Feb 2013. We are also looking to redo kitchens and bathrooms in some of our room categories next year, and I'll have more info about that later this year.

If anyone has any questions regarding our refurb plans, please email me directly at beach@palmgrove.co.ck

Kind regards,

Betsy Eisler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews