We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lets get away from it all”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Grove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vaimaanga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very relaxing time. Stayed in a matenga beachfront. Seemed to draw the short straw as we had the smallest one. But do you know that didn't matter because when we walked on our deck we had the most amazing ourlook. Palm trees and a fabulous beach just a couple of steps from our door. Great chill our experience. The breakfast was very basic, just fruit, cereal and toast. You could have cooked food, but that cost extra. All in all a very peaceful, quiet resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Palm Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our first trip to Rarotonga and what an AWESOME TIME and the stay at Palm Grove was as I said above... Simply Amazing. A big thank you to Betsy and her staff especially Joanne, Nga (The man of many talents, builder, rugby coach & comedian) and Toko (making it all easy) in the office and a big shout out to the staff at the restaurant and the young cook. Hey young cook keep up the great work...'Go and try the burgers!!!" Complimentary Breakfast and great lunch and dinner menu.

We stayed in the One Bedroom Superior Bungalow Room G11, Spacious, clean with cooking facilities and lounge and outdoor deck with a beautful view of the mountains out back and mancured gardens with mountain jungle out back... breath taking.

Beach white sands warm blue AND only 1 minute walk away, free snorkeling gear and along to look at out in the reef, free kayaks. Also scooter hire from Palm Grove but you'll need a bike licence approx 40min ride around the island of Raro

We had drinks with other guest at their beach front bungalows... awesome again, awesome view. HAPPY HOUR AT PALM GROVE.. Every Friday 4:30pm - 6:00pm its actually 1.5hrs haha Free drinks to house guests, live music the band is great. Atmosphere gets you in the mood with that island flavour.

What got me was the high volume of return guests ages (20's to 80's+) honey mooners to relaxying getting away to Palm Grove that I spoke to who are bringing more friends and family.

My wife and I loved it and we will go back to Palm Grove for sure and we will be taking our kids this time.

You know what... stop reading this and book now. You won't be disappointed.

Have a good stay

Pana & Jo. Christchurch, New Zealand.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and go for the beach front bungalow. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our first trip to Rarotonga was AMAZING!! We loved staying at the Palm Grove. The bungalow was right off the beach with an breath taking view. Just a few steps off our back porch and we were on the most beautiful beach you could imagine. The restaurant was very good and had one of the best breakfasts on the island. Also, the staff of the hotel are all very helpful and friendly. Our only regret is that we didn't have the opportunity to stay longer! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Bungalows are the way to go!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After a lot of research for a place to stay in Rarotonga, my partner and I took the plunge to book Palm Grove after reading rave reviews on Trip Advisor .... and wow, are we glad we did!

We were a little bit nervous at booking a One Bedroom Superior Bungalow after the great reviews of the BeachFront rooms, but we were far from disappointed. The room was spacious, clean and set in absolutely beautiful gardens, with a picturesque view of the jungle right on the back door step. The beach was only a minute away from the front door with the restaurant and main office just around the corner, which left the room quiet and relaxing. There are a few good spots to snorkel on the island, but the beach at Palm Grove was so amazing we didn't even go to any other beaches! We also loved the free snorkel, reef shoe and kayak hire (which we made a lot of use of!).

The staff were also great, with the pick up from the airport excellent and some really good tips into what do during your stay and some insight into island life. We took the opportunity to have a walk around some of the big resorts while we were in Raro and we were SO glad we chose Palm Grove.

What we wanted was a relaxing, authentic experience without staying somewhere big and 'flashy' and thats exactly what we got. If going back, we wouldn't stay anywhere else and we can't recommend it more.

Room Tip: The One Bedroom Superior Bungalows are excellent value for money and offer a beautiful setting away...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Third trip to Rarotonga and have to say this accomodation was the best so far. Small, clean and friendly. Cook in your room, or eat on site or at a nearby places and a convenient grocery store within walking distance. Great beach for swimming and snorkelling. Hopefully my 4th trip will be for longer than 2 weeks and will be at Palm Grove!
Thanks Besty and Staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.4 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
5.3 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
6.1 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.1 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: P.O. Box 23, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vaimaanga
Price Range: €125 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the enchanting area of Vaimaanga on the stunning southern coast, Palm Grove enjoys the tranquility of one of the best locations on Rarotonga. 26 individual bungalows are scattered over 5 acres of landscaped beachfront and garden property. Bungalows are available in studio to 3-bedroom layout and feature kingsize beds, kitchen facilities, aircon, flatscreen TV, and private patio/balcony. Property amenities include our onsite restaurant and bar, swimming pool, guest BBQ, laundry facility, tour desk, and motorbike rentals. All guests receive complimentary daily tropical breakfast buffet and use of kayaks, snorkel equipment, beach chairs and beach towels. Welcome to Palm Grove, your private piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Hotel Vaimaanga
Palm Grove Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing