We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Ambience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Venise Verte B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Knowlton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Four of us stayed in the B&B this past weekend. Ours hosts were outstanding in their welcome, lovely smiles, a true welcome. The breakfast is worth the stay alone. Raymonde and Andree served delicious food. We had the 2 rooms at the front of the house with the private bathrooms and were delighted with the size of the rooms and how quiet it was. The house is as one reviewer already stated is better than its photos. And the backyard is an oasis with a pool to relax in after a busy day out and about. We were in town for Author Louise Penny's Book Launch which was an outstanding event on its own. Visiting the town of Knowlton was an added bonus as the author includes many locations in the Eastern Townships.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the two front rooms with the private baths. The back 2 rooms share one large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at La Venise Verte, and really enjoyed our evening here. Raymonde and Andre are excellent hosts, and very helpful. The room was immaculate and the bathroom excellently appointed. A very nice shower. The location is on rue Victoria, a short walk from many of Knowlton's restaurants and historic buildings.Breakfast was delicious. The back yard is lovely, with a terrific swimming pool. The entire area of Lac Brome in the Canton de l'est, just a few miles from the Vermont border is a happy surprise. Murphy and Ida, Brevard, NC

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paxandbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The B&B is much better in real life than in pictures. It is situated in an absolutely charming neighbourhood of historic homes, and it is QUIET at night.

Our bedroom (Room 3) was large, clean, and bright, and the bed was comfortable (something rare in our recent experience).

The shower in our private bathroom was large and comfortable.

Thew breakfast was served in two courses (one cold and one hot). Both were excellent.

Raymonde and Andre are excellent hosts. We were travelling by bike, and they offered to transport our bags for us to the other side of Law Brome. When we were halfway there, one tire got a flat, and we realized we hadn't transported our tools or our tubes with us (they were in our bags). We called the Venise Verte and not only did Andre bring us our tools, he helped us change the tire, and then he took our bags to our next stop. That is truly excellent hospitality!

RE: Price

The Eastern Townships are an expensive place to stay. WE were in 5 different places in 5 nights, from North Hatley to Lac Brome. The Venise Verte in Knowlton was by far the best value for our $.

Room Tip: I looked at 3 of the 4 rooms because the doors were open when we left, and they were all large and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

If you are looking for a B&B which is perfectly located (walking distance to town and on a quiet street) this is the place! We received a quick response to our e-mails when requesting information. Upon arriving we were greeted by our hosts. A welcoming old house, nicely renovated. Nothing fancy, but tastefully furnished, extremely clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and we certainly had plenty to eat. Our hosts were very friendly but not overbearing. Unfortunately we only spent one night on the long Easter weekend. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two rooms which have a private bathroom. We chose the room located on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poussinnetta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is superb place to stay.
Where to start? The house is a bit unconventional in its style from the outside, but the rooms, plainly yet tastefully furnished, are inviting, comfortable, super clean, super quiet, and have a homey feeling to them.
The house premises are carefully maintained and there is a very large swimming pool where one can actually swim and exercise, instead of just freshening up. Among others, the pool may be this place's best asset.
Our hosts Raymonde & André were gracious, pleasantly talkative, and altogether very nice.
We really felt like guests and not like "customers" of a "business" (which is unfortunately the case at some other B&Bs)
Breakfast was of the best kind. Refined, tasty, with excellent fresh fruit.
Finally, to make this place even more desirable, room rates were most reasonable!
The Knowlton Lac Brome community is also very inviting, with a very agreeable and partailly tree shaded beach nearby (Douglass beach). While mostly French speaking, this community is open and welcoming towards English-speakers as well;
We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowlton
13.5 km away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#1 of 7 in Bromont
590 reviews
0 km away
Auberge Lakeview
Auberge Lakeview
#3 of 3 in Knowlton
62 reviews
4.5 km away
B&B Hillhouse
B&B Hillhouse
#1 of 9 in Lac-Brome
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Auberge Knowlton
Auberge Knowlton
#2 of 3 in Knowlton
44 reviews
0.5 km away
Clinique Versoi
Clinique Versoi
#1 of 1 in Knowlton
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Venise Verte B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Venise Verte B&B

Address: 58 Victoria | Lac-Brome, Knowlton, Lac-Brome, Quebec J0E 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Lac-Brome > Knowlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Knowlton
Price Range: €66 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop for one night or longer in this beautiful 1884 Victorian home located in heart of the village and a 10 minute walk from Brome Lake. Our B&B is classified 4 suns and offers a non smoking environment and WiFi. 4 Air conditioned spacious country style rooms (2 with private bathroom) Our B&B is also recommanded in many international travel guides like as Ulysse guides, Lonely Planet, Moon travel guides and Rough guides. During the summer relax in the garden and take a swim in the pool. WiFi available without costs. We treat you with the best quality breakfast: the delicious products that you will eat, are mainly certified organic. A delight for your taste buds and for your health as well! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing