We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, great stay”

Harris Jungle House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harris Jungle House
Ranked #3 of 3 Canaan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Took a two-day trip over to Tobago from Trinidad and called up Harris at short notice hoping for a cheap but convenient rental. Was very happy to get a room with two separate beds since we were two, but not a couple. Mr Harris was very friendly, offering to pick us up at the airport, though we missed our flight and was late so had to forego that plan. Nevertheless, the room was clean, the location quiet and accessible, as Golden Grove Road links Caanan/Bon Accord with Buccoo/Mt Irvine side of the island and also back to the highway/Crown Pt/Scarborough side via Milford Road. Really appreciated the time at Harris Guest House and I look forward to returning and maybe taking one of those Jungle tours.

Room Tip: All rooms at ground level. The nighttime was quiet and we didn't hear much, if any, street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2015

It was so clean quiet and peaceful. I enjoyed my stay & will be visiting again shortly. Rooms were ac dinning & kitchen area was very spacious only problem is I'm too short for the kitchen sink but very childproof.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Doringaldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Mr. Harris is very nice and knowledgable about T&T. His jungle tour, $140, is great and gives you a whole tour of the island. From the morning jungle walk with lots of birds, then snorkeling at little Tobago- amazingly beautiful views and sea life, to the water fall to rinse away all the salt water from the day, I would highly recommend staying here. The rooms are nice and clean with private bathrooms. A full kitchen allows you to buy fish at the market and prepared them yourself. It is a quick 10 minute taxi ride to Bocco bay, highly recommend this beach as well. Very clean and private. You can use the mangroves to shade yourself from the hot sun.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Quiet location. Peaceful, nice to retreat to after one of his jungle tours and beach.

The open savannah opposite is just relaxing to look at.

Your option is to make your own breakfast or lunch as the kitchen is well equip and accommodating.

Harris goes all out for Guests.

Room Tip: This is a small guest house so it depends on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DMidastouch J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Harris's Guesthouse was a bit of a wildcard for us. We didn't know if it would be good or bad, but figured as we were only staying a few days we'd roll the dice. I'd say it was a lucky shot!

It really felt like staying in a normal house, having all that one might require from that. But, what made it feel like staying in a home more than just a house was Harris himself. Picking us up from the airport, taking us for groceries, talking and teaching about Tobago, he really did everything to make our stay great.

If you just want to relax on the beach on some resort, then this perhaps isn't the place. Want genuine Tobago and a base of operations for adventure? Then it is!

I would also strongly recommend going with Harris on one of his jungle tours. Really spicing up and something special to do during the vacation, being one of the highpoints sure to be remembered!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Harris Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Jungle House

Address: Golden Grove Road, Canaan, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Canaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canaan
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing