We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Review of Merryburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merryburn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Birnam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel after booking it at short notice. The staff were very friendly and the premises very clean and welcoming. Hillary the owner and her staff went out of their way to accomodate us in every way. The room itself was large with ensuite and tastefully decorated. The breakfast next day was also very nice. I would definately return for a stay at this hotel, what a welcoming change

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanszycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

Was recommended by a work colleague. Staying at this place with work and have now booked my room until April 2011. Perfect, clean, friendly with good food and everything you would expect from a well established hotel. The bar is good also with a friendly atmosphere and not too far to travel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

To a point we certainly had a laugh, however, what they don't tell you is that the hotel is only about 100yards from the A9 and also has a Public Bar below the bedrooms so is noisy, food is fine but basic, our shower must have been the smallest on the planet anybody with a girth of more than a 40inch waist will not be able to move, our friends only got one towel between them. our coffee cup was not cleaned, We had a wardrobe but it was locked, not much good if your staying for a few days!!

When we handed in our key at on the second day for safe keeping whilst we were out it was then left on a heater in the public passage, We were also overcharged for drinks, we'll not be back

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tolgi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This was our second stay at the Merryburn with two more planned this year. I think that says it all. Set in a great location - the hotel is spotless even though refurbishment is just about complete. The rooms are stylishly decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The very accomodating staff are dedicated to looking after their guests and ensuring they have a memorable stay in this little nugget of the Highlands. It was a pleasure to stay here and are looking forward already to our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tobyoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Just returned from a pleasant five night stay at this delightful little Highland village hotel.Hilary Rennie and her able team of good alrounders seem to have everything covered,the hotel is in the throes of a rolling programme of general refurbishment which does make the " old " parts apparent.Our room was newly updated, with the usual tea/coffee tray, flatscreen TV, a comfortable double bed and a brand new en suite shower room, the central heating was very efficient. During our stay the residents lounge was closed for re furbishment, but it is a fine big room with direct access to a pretty little patio'd garden which would be great in the summer months.Breakfasts were cooked to order,we dined in on three evenings and the freshly prepared food was tasty and robust in content, for example, scampi,a superb home made steak pie, a bottle of very drinkeable Australian shiraz plus excellent coffee came to a mere £37!The cellar bar is very much a meeting place for a wide cross section of the village's drinkers,during our few days Hilary had laid on a live Duo,a darts match plus Man U L live on the widescreen TV via Sky Sport. Dunkeld itself is about a 10 minute walk across the river bridge and the Beatrix Potter Exhibition centre is just a few yards removed from the hotel.This friendly little hotel does'nt pretend to something it is not,we enjoyed our stay and plan to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iaindinnes_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
1.0 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
528 reviews
2.2 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,371 reviews
0.2 km away
Birnam Hotel
Birnam Hotel
#5 of 5 in Birnam
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tayburn House
Tayburn House
#1 of 5 in Birnam
33 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Merryburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merryburn Hotel

Address: Station Road, Birnam PH8 0DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birnam
Price Range: €55 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merryburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing