We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merryburn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Birnam Hotel(Birnam)
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
41
12
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
12
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hotelsmall hotellovely wee hotelmake you feel at homecouldn't do enoughgreat hospitalityyogurteasy accessa great staytrain stationhilarydunkeldloungetaxi
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Was recommended by a work colleague. Staying at this place with work and have now booked my room until April 2011. Perfect, clean, friendly with good food and everything you would expect from a well established hotel. The bar is good also with a friendly atmosphere and not too far to travel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

To a point we certainly had a laugh, however, what they don't tell you is that the hotel is only about 100yards from the A9 and also has a Public Bar below the bedrooms so is noisy, food is fine but basic, our shower must have been the smallest on the planet anybody with a girth of more than a 40inch waist will not be able to move, our friends only got one towel between them. our coffee cup was not cleaned, We had a wardrobe but it was locked, not much good if your staying for a few days!!

When we handed in our key at on the second day for safe keeping whilst we were out it was then left on a heater in the public passage, We were also overcharged for drinks, we'll not be back

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tolgi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This was our second stay at the Merryburn with two more planned this year. I think that says it all. Set in a great location - the hotel is spotless even though refurbishment is just about complete. The rooms are stylishly decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The very accomodating staff are dedicated to looking after their guests and ensuring they have a memorable stay in this little nugget of the Highlands. It was a pleasure to stay here and are looking forward already to our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tobyoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Just returned from a pleasant five night stay at this delightful little Highland village hotel.Hilary Rennie and her able team of good alrounders seem to have everything covered,the hotel is in the throes of a rolling programme of general refurbishment which does make the " old " parts apparent.Our room was newly updated, with the usual tea/coffee tray, flatscreen TV, a comfortable double bed and a brand new en suite shower room, the central heating was very efficient. During our stay the residents lounge was closed for re furbishment, but it is a fine big room with direct access to a pretty little patio'd garden which would be great in the summer months.Breakfasts were cooked to order,we dined in on three evenings and the freshly prepared food was tasty and robust in content, for example, scampi,a superb home made steak pie, a bottle of very drinkeable Australian shiraz plus excellent coffee came to a mere £37!The cellar bar is very much a meeting place for a wide cross section of the village's drinkers,during our few days Hilary had laid on a live Duo,a darts match plus Man U L live on the widescreen TV via Sky Sport. Dunkeld itself is about a 10 minute walk across the river bridge and the Beatrix Potter Exhibition centre is just a few yards removed from the hotel.This friendly little hotel does'nt pretend to something it is not,we enjoyed our stay and plan to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iaindinnes_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Frühzeitig reservieren!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews