We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
KerstinM
Tallinn, Estonia

Magical castle spa experience with friendly staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Dec 2023via mobile
I have visited Wagenküll several times and this is one of the most beaufiful quiet spas in Estonia. Beautiful historical castle with a nice little spa area. Very cozy place with friendly staff. An ideal place for couple’s getaway, but I don’t recommend for family/kids vacation. Guests highly value the quiet and relaxing trip back to history and also the castle rooms walls are pretty thin. However, there is an extra building, a new hotel connected to the main castle with underground tunnel.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
20
7
1
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
20
7
1
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews made us feel nice restaurant castle spa hidden gem suite feeling privacy middle complex treatment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2023 via mobile

Besides the suite interior and amenities, this is a regular 3 star hotel. Many things that are nice about this place, but are either poorly managed or just not paid attention to. The suites in the castle have very little to none sound proofing. I'm sure the staff is aware of that, but it's just not managed. We were put in the room right next to a family with small kids and all we could hear is the kids scream. Was woken up at 8am also by their kids screaming, because it sounded like they were right by our room door. Spa is very nice and has good amenities but it is way too small for the amount of guests that are staying there; plus the Spa is accessible also by non-hotel guests. Therefore it gets extremely cramped and not enjoyable. Staff doesn't strike as the most welcoming people either. Breakfast is very mediocre. What comes to the restaurant, it's quite ok for such a remote area, however the prices in a-la-carté are too high for such a remote area. Basically menu prices are the same as in Tallinn, but the quality and presentation of the food, of course, is lower. Another thing that didn't make good impression was dirty curtains:) They had yellow stains all over and it was the first thing I saw, which made me think if everything else is so poorly cleaned as the curtains:) Overall I'd say the experience is not worth the value paid.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SanitaTLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2023 via mobile

Visited the spa on the 3rd of June at 12:30pm. I came all the way from London and brought my mum and my 12-year-old sister. The spa personnel was quite rude, I have never seen such a face filled with hatred anywhere in hospitality and I have travelled all over the world…
Even though we were a family and were entitled to a discount, we were charged as 3 adults as we had no idea that a family ticket was an option. Hence it would’ve been nice if the staff were more attentive and offered the option of the family ticket…
Moreover, it was our first time visiting the spa and asking the staff girl where the dressing room and the saunas were or making drink orders felt like such a burden to her. Also, when we were asking for dry towels, she was on her phone and didn’t pay any attention to us at all until the other staff girl came and gave them to us.
Lastly, when we were leaving, we paid for the ordered drinks and didn’t even get a good bye…

These things aside, the spa itself was very nice and we really liked it. We would love to return but the staff’s attitude makes us doubt this decision. I hope it can get better. Thank you Wagenküll.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2023 via mobile


Castle SPA Wagenküll is located in a small village, which makes it a hidden gem.
Decor really makes you feel different.

Give a visit to the Castle tower, it's free and open 24/7!

We booked a Deluxe room from Castle. Really nice small details made us feel very comfortable and think about history of this place.
Minibar (small fridge), widescreen TV, toiletteries, bathrob, slippers (not for spa!), tea- and coffee set and much more. Beds were comfortable. Wifi area could be improved.

SPA is very nicely decorated and fits there very well. Different saunas, places to relax, Japanese bath etc. Visiting a smoked sauna is a must, it's very unique.
There is also a small bar from where you can buy drinks and cocktails.
Take your own flip-flops from home or buy from reception!

Restaurant - New York steak was dry and not so tasty as it should be. Fish was OK, but not worth the money. Kind of pricy place and food is definetly not worth the money. Service was very friendly and professional.

Buffet breakfast was delicious and lot's of different options. Everything I chose, tasted very good. Extra points for the good coffee!

Overall experience 5/5 and highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ardi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2022

At night there was so much talking from the next room that I couldn't sleep.
I contacted the reception with the problem and they went to talk to these people three times, but it was no use.
Finally, the police also came, but we didn't stay at the hotel anymore and we left after three in the morning. I have visited many hotels, but I have never had an experience like this before. Very bad

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ailoj2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2022

Liked. The food in the restaurant was really good so was the service. The spa was cute and cozy. The suite had a lovely fireplace.
Disliked · The room we stayed in - the suite in the main castle - was located next to the restaurant, so the room smelled like food, so were smelling all of our clothes and belongings. The restaurants toilet was located next to our room and it was really uncomfortable to listen people use it as we thought we would have privacy within the suite and a nice quiet vacay. It was also really weird to walk to the spa with our robes on trough the whole restaurant while others were dining and we were all red from the sauna. The bathroom in the suite had see trough curtains. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, so were the sheets and pillows. The bed had 2 small blankets. As well the breakfast did not have any gluten free or lactose free options.The staff of the castle were agreeing with us about the room, but could not even offer a discount after a really disappointing stay. Honestly after this I won't never want to come back.

Room tip: Do not book the suite
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sofia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews