We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebratory meal in a special place”

Horn of Plenty Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$92
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for over 50 years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This multi-award winning, independently owned Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley.
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Arriving at the Horn of Plenty on a beautiful summer evening we were looking forward to celebrating our 45th Wedding Anniversary, and we were not to be disappointed.

We started by having drinks and appetizers on the terrace overlooking the Tamar Valley, enjoying the views. Our food, when we entered the dining room was beautifully presented, well served and, best of all, tasted delicious. Several flavours are encompassed in all the courses, cleverly put together by an excellent chef. At the end of our meal, the sun was setting to the west. A perfect ending to a gorgeous evening,

Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Sue S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at the Horn of Plenty. We are delighted to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations – especially since you were celebrating such an important anniversary!
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and happy to have had the opportunity to help mark the occasion.
We hope to see you both again very soon.

Kind Regards

Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018

We stayed here overnight with dinner, bed & breakfast. Not the cheapest of places to stay so was hoping for the best. The room didn't disappoint with ample space, bifold doors that opened right back onto a private patio and a view of the Tamar Valley. A very nicely furnished room and a very good sized bathroom with deep bath and large shower. Nice products provided to use in the bath/shower too. Tea and coffee making facilities were well thought through, cleverly concealed in a cupboard with a drinks fridge below too.
The evening meal was good with a choice of seasonal dishes and locally sourced products. On the "Michelin Star/fine dining" scale of things, with canapes and a taster soup provided too. The service was very attentive and professional from all staff.
My only disappointment was that before dinner I asked if the bar staff could make me a Classic Martini (dry vermouth, vodka and an olive). I was told that this was not possible, but not given a reason why. I would have expected such a high class restaurant to be able to throw this easy drink together. To add insult to injury, I later heard a lady order a dry martini, which she was served without question. The only difference between my request and hers was the addition of vodka and an olive!
Overall, this is a lovely place to stay and to eat if you want to treat yourselves.

Thank ses2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Had a delicious Afternoon Tea here, the location offers wonderful views and the staff are friendly and helpful. There was a lovely selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones with plenty of tea available. Very reasonably priced too. If we are in the area again we will definitely return.

Thank Madison100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Madison100,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is such a pleasure reading such positive feedback from our happy guests.
We look forward to you visiting us again very soon.
Best Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Arrive to see the sun shining over the beautiful wooded Tamar valley - a stunning setting and we were so lucky to have a window table and a warm welcome from the restaurant staff. We chose the 3 course lunch but in addition we had some delicious finger appetisers followed by a cappuccino of broccoli and black pepper soup - compliments of the chef. Staff were attentive constantly offering bread and checking if everything was alright. Each course was so delightfully presented - we were never hurried and could enjoy our meal with no hassle. A wonderful atmosphere - we were given a choice of three places to take our coffee and petits fours - choosing the Drawing Room as it was such a hot day. We sank into a comfortable sofa, read a paper and totally relaxed - a perfect birthday treat. Thank you all so much,

    • Service
    • Food
Thank nomadsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear nomadsDevon

Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review following your recent meal at the Horn of Plenty.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit - all the more as you were celebrating a special occasion.

We are thrilled to have left such a great impression on you both and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Very tasty dinner - nothing we would change.
A couple of 'amuse bouches' which were delightful and lovely surprise. The total meal was great.

Thank steveBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear steveBray,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to the Horn of Plenty restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal, and very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horn of Plenty Restaurant also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Calstock, Cornwall
 

Been to Horn of Plenty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing