We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excllent breakfast”
Review of Monte Rosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barao de Sao Joao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte Rosa
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We were walking the Via Algarviana and our only day of rain was the day we arrived at Monte Rosa. We liked the cabins, even though we were there only one night and so did not use the kitchen, and by afternoon the rain had stopped and we used our little terrace. It was also quite chilly and we appreciated the heater in the room to warm up and dry out our clothes. This is a fairly simple place--only cold water in the bathroom sink (but hot water in the shower). The wifi was marginal in the room but fine in the dining room.

The breakfast was the best we had in Portugal. Scrambled eggs from their own chickens, fresh fruit, 3 kinds of cheese, ham, sliced tomatoes, two types of bread, homemade preserves, fresh orange juice, good coffee. We also got sandwiches for the next day's walk. The owner, Theo, gave us a ride to a nearby restaurant for dinner, because their restaurant was not yet open for the season.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2016

Time really stands still in this lovely surrounding where you can relax after a day exploring the fantastic environment and return to your cosy place. The hosts do litterally everything to make your stay great in an authentic service minded way: the breakfast and the taxi service are only two examples. Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michieldegenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

If you are looking for a relaxxing holidays with your family, this is the best place to stay!
I do recommend to book in advance!
You have a swimming pool & many cool apartments. It's close to a village called Barão de São João.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnbrownportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanniedepannie, Manager at Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I spent six days at a workshop retreat at Monte Rosa in May 2014. It would have been almost
ideal except for one very serious problem. One of our retreat leaders emailed the owner to
find out if they accepted credit cards for the 1 hour transport to and from the airport. The answer
was that they did indeed accept credit cards. Based on that, I only brought €200 figuring I could use my credit card for that and any other needs. When I arrived I was told that they did not take credit cards for anything. Not only did I not know if I had enough money to pay for the transportation, I had to forgo a massage and other incidentals at the retreat.
There was no apology for this mistake that put a damper on what could have been very wonderful.
On a positive note, the staff were all warm, friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and there was always a vegetarian option. The buildings and grounds were charming and beautiful.
Lovely flowers both cultivated and wild. The outside of the buildings were much more attractive than the inside and the inside was subject to mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FriendInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanniedepannie, Manager at Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

We indeed do not work with credit cards, but one can always make a bank transfer at Monte Ros., This saves us a lot of hassle and commission fee. In the villlage of Baráo, at 2 kilometers is a cash machine. Most people pay in advance by bank transfer.

The complaint about musquitoes I do'-t understand. We offer little electric plugs that one can use against musquitoes if there are any at all. All sleeping rooms have protection nets in front of the windows, so they can be open at night. Also a musquito netfor the bed is available on request.
Luckily most of the year we have hardly any musquitoes however....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wonderful stay at Monte Rosa. Peaceful rooms/cottages. Amazing gardens. Great for a healthy and relaxing break. On site yoga, massage etc. and lots of info on other activities, services. Little cats pottering around. Lots to do in area and close to some beautiful quite beaches. I thought it was very good value. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueshoeslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barao de Sao Joao
9.9 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
8.7 km away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
9.6 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
8.7 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
9.2 km away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#17 of 53 in Lagos
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Rosa

Address: Lagoa da Rosa | 9y, Barao de Sao Joao, Lagos 8600-016, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos > Barao de Sao Joao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barao de Sao Joao
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing