We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“An Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Sunhaven is an excellent place to stay on the island. We felt were welcomed and looked after.
We like the place as being a nice, tranquil where you can relax and have great vacation.
It was great going out in the morning exploring the lagoon with the kayaks or snorkel just outside
on the beach.
The room was nice,clean and kept to high standard.I especially loved having the fresh flowers in room everyday- a nice personal touch :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daliya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Kia Orana Daliya G,

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thanks very much. Glad you found Sunhaven tranquil and relaxing and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you can come back again sometime to enjoy the flowers.

Merry Christmas and Kia manuia,

Dennis and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
142
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Rarotonga is a charming Island in the South Pacific. If you are looking for a beatiful quiet beach where you are worried about the tide coming too close to flood your bungalow (now that's ocean view!!), Sunhaven is your choice. They have a little day restaurant on premises but lots of original eating places nearby. Public transportation is excellent. The place to stay when you want your own bungalow, do some of the cooking yourself and do not like crowds interfering with your vacatyion in paradise. Nice swimming pool and very clean facility.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hey Mike,

Thanks for the positive review.

It's coming up a year since you stayed at Sunhaven and I imagine winter on the ranch has set in making you dream of sunny hotter places to be right now. Hence you're review of Sunhaven at this point in time!

It's a good thing our bungalows are raised up off the ground far enough to prevent any high tide flooding the inside. As you say - now that's an ocean view - I some times say to guests - if we were any closer to the sea they'd need a canoe to get to their room! Only kidding.

I hope all's well for you in Clearwater and that you had a good year. Patti and I look forward to see you and Regina again....

Have a Merry Christmas and a prosperous 2012.

Kia Manuia,

Dennis and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Our first time in Rarotonga and we had an awesome time. Dennis and Patti are great hosts and offer privacy,perfect facilities, cleanliness,great staff, and fantastic sunsets. We are planning to go back again in 2012 and after looking at other resorts while we were there, we are definitely going back to the Sunhaven. It was the holiday we hoped for and got ! Thanks guys and we have sent quite a few people your way. Mates that are looking for the holiday we had , and we know they will have it with you !
See you November 2012
John Farley & Wendy McKinlay
p.s Will be sending Harley picture very soon

Room Tip: They are all good whether you want 1 or 2 bedroom or studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you John and Wendy for your great review. I'm very happy you got the holiday you hoped for and look forward to meeting your mates in due course.

Yes....see you again Nov 2012.

Cheers,
Dennis and Patti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

It's a great spot overlooking the lagoon and out to sea (on your doorstep). You get to see some great sunsets. I loved just hopping on one of their canoes for free and going out on the lagoon. Dennis was a wonderful host and very helpful. I would definitely stay at Sun Haven again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thanks for your review Aaron, much appreciated. I'm glad you liked your short stay at Sunhaven. The kayaks are fun for sure. Hope you can make it back sometime soon. Kia manuia, Dennis and Patti (who you will meet next time)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Perfect way to recharge the batteries. We couldn't fault the bungalow we stayed in. Set right on the beach under coconut trees with the swimming pool nearby. Staff were careful not to intrude on your holiday and the bungalows were kept spotless. We hired bikes for the five days and found Sunhaven positioned perfectly for visiting local restaurants and travelling to other snorkelling sites around the island. We also discovered the "Brunch cottage" run by Patti and Elvin. Coffee was great. I also recommend you try the fish and chips at the "Brunch Cottage".
Very very good!!. Dennis and Patti are well organized and the work they do behind the scenes ensure you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thanks Neill W for your helpful review. You know where we are when you get a hankering for a second helping of Patti's famous fish & chips! And of course our coffee!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Dennis and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.5 km away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.8 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.1 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Lagoon Breeze Villas
#1 of 12 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhaven Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west sunset side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Arorangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing