We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
144
35
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
35
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steve and geraldine shipwreck bar music nights ship wreck bar meals golden retriever saturday bbq enjoyed the live music butter chicken loved our stay here awesome beach local staff other guests seafood chowder chilli con carne bbq night deluxe unit
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Beautiful location on edge of the lagoon. Steve provided a personal touch with recommendations of what to do and where to eat. iconic beach bar was a great way to meet fellow guests.Saturday night BBQ,live music on Tuesday and Thursday nights.All perfect for a relaxing holiday!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 984Kathy984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your fantastic review. Very happy that the recommendations worked out well for you and that you enjoyed relaxing in our little beach bar.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Spent the night here before an onward flight to Aitutaki, we were looked after from the start with an early check-in (plus breakfast!) and help getting a rental car. Such a nice quiet place to while away the hours and nap after the nasty overnight flight.
Was very happy to hang out with Dexter the golden retriever who reminded me of my boy back home!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Kia Orana Scott,

Thank you for your great review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Dexter is a very cool dog, he just loves people and beach life....

Come back soon and see us again.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Steve gives a great one on one welcome and things to do talk first morning, and even though we have been to raro before gave us new things to do and try (standing in jet blast as plane comes in was awesome!!!!). Room was lovely and clean with thought to detail like providing a sealed container for your food to protect from ants. Would stay again in a heartbeat if just to hear the banter of the girls at the bar and breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Kia Orana Joanne,

Thank you so much for your awesome review, your kind words are very much appreciated.

Very happy that the recommendations worked out well for you.

Come back and see us soon.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in 2011, and decided to return this year, mainly for the position. West coast, great beach, safe snorkelling friendly staff. The new owners have been here two & a half years. The rooms have been repainted on the outside. The breakfast remains the same: fresh fruit, tea, toast, juice, coffee and fresh cooked muffins. Mostly these were delicious. Actually I'd also say the fruit selection has improved. As have the meals on site. The Shipwreck Bar is part of the resort, and the meals we had there were much improved on what we'd had six years ago. The Saturday BBQ was good value. Two small entrees, plenty of well cooked food, and the background music, provided by one of the owners was a pleasant surprise. His singing and guitar playing made for a lovely ambiance. We had paid for a late check out of 6pm, but were able to stay until 9pm, when we were to be picked up.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DeanoKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your great review, very happy that we have managed to improve the resort and your experience on a number of fronts. :-)

Thank you for your kind words about the Saturday BBQ, very happy that you enjoyed my live music.

We hope to see you back again very soon.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Wonderful stay, very relaxing.

Pros.
Amazing snorkelling best we have encountered in all the islands.
Beach to ourselves most of the time.
Clean and comfortable rooms, basic but have everything you need.
Amazing staff, owners and Dexter the dog made the holiday very special.
Shipwreck hut is a gem best place to view sunsets and cocktails too bad either :)

Cons:
None

We will be back

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sallyt027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Kia Orana Sally,

Thank you so much for your perfect, informative review, your comments are really appreciated.

I will pass you kind words on to everyone (including Dexter...). :-)

We look forward to seeing you back again, just let us know and we'll book you in.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews