We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
513
171
61
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
171
61
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard pool turn down service our honeymoon beachfront villa flambe island night ocean restaurant cook islands happy hour ribs wedding planner sun loungers tropical paradise relaxing holiday watch the sunset fish nice beach
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My husband and I always enjoy the Pacific Island drums, singing and dancing. We went for the Island night, as we were staying elsewhere.

The buffet was excellent, and we were entertained by a Island's best Singing Duo.

The music and dancing was set from each of the Islands, so the variety was delightful.

Room Tip: We were only guest diners
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank lagoon967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrownBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Kia Orana lagoon967

Thank you for taking the time to post your complimentary report about your dining experience at our Island Night with us at the Crown Beach Resort and Spa.

Management and staff are always delighted to read reports which demonstrate that all their efforts to ensure our Guests have an enjoyable experience, their needs have been catered for and most of all - the sunshine personality of our local staff is working its’ infectious Island magic….

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kia Manuia
The Team at the Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Some aspects of our Crown Beach Resort & Spa were absolutely FIVE STAR, like: The Flambe Restaurant, our room (we had courtyard pool suite) and the bathroom shower, the immaculately maintained grounds, the good location, the friendly and helpful staff, the quiet and private feel of the resort, the resort pool; and the range of fish you could see just kayaking out in front of the resort.

4 stars for: Buffet breakfast - Lots to choose from. Oceans Restaurant fish and chips. Cocktails. The pool in the suite (much smaller than we imagined from the photo). The beach area - lots of rocks to pick your way through for a swim.

3 stars for: Our dinner at the Oceans Restaurant & Bar. Food was average (especially when compared to Flambe Restaurant which was outstanding). Spa Ariki also gets 3 stars, because what they (still) promote and offer on their website is not the experience you get. We pre-booked what sounded like an amazing variation of treatments, and got a standard massage. Lovely people and still good at massage, but their senior therapist who could offer the reflexology, acupressure, homeopathy etc elements that they talk about on the website, has left.

TIP IF STAYING IN POOL SUITES: Put the 'do not disturb' sign out if you don't want unexpected visits from the pool cleaner during the day.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank NZJaxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrownBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Kia Orana NZJaxC

Thank you for taking the time to post your complimentary report about your stay with us in paradise at the Crown Beach Resort and Spa. Management and staff are always delighted to read reports which demonstrate that all their efforts to ensure our Guests have an enjoyable stay, their needs have been catered for and most of all - the sunshine personality of our local staff is working its’ infectious Island magic….

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kia Manuia
The Team at the Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We had a group of 20 staying here the staff are so lovely and accommodating to all of us especially when dining they put all the tables together to seat all 20 of us. They make yummy cocktails and are always friendly. The pool is always clean and the villas are very spacious and tidy and we loved everything about the crown resort

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Manda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrownBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Kia Orana Manda M

Thank you for taking the time to post your complimentary report about your stay with us in paradise at the Crown Beach Resort and Spa. Management and staff are always delighted to read reports which demonstrate that all their efforts to ensure our Guests have an enjoyable stay, their needs have been catered for and most of all - the sunshine personality of our local staff is working its’ infectious Island magic….

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kia Manuia
The Team at the Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at the beginning of July and overall we had a really great trip, but we would say our hotel room, a Beachfront Villa , is the biggest thing that really needed improvement given the price we paid.

Pros / cons:

Pros:
The BEST snorkelling is right in front of Crown Resort! I much preferred it over fruits of Rarotonga and there isn't the slimy feeling of the sand like at Muri.

Flambe restaurant is by far the best restaurant on site - spend your pennies there and don't bother elsewhere. Best cocktails and music by far.

The local warrior was very friendly!! Made the stay very enjoyable for many

Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful

The grounds were immaculate and beautiful and we enjoyed the vists from the chickens and its chooks!

The outdoor area was pleasant to the room and our villa was #7 at the end from memory ( at the end ).

The resort was very quiet and peaceful so definetly good idea If you want some peace and quiet!

All staff were very friendly!

Cons:

Considering the price for the beachfront villa we were disappointed In the room specifically. It was tired and basic given the price tag in which the bathroom was one of the most disappointing aspects - it was extremely basic and when I saw the photos of the pool villas their bathrooms had clearly been upgraded which is disappointing given the beachfront villas are the most expensive out of all but seem like they have been left last to be upgraded. The couches were barely big enough to lie flat on either.

The ' Oceans ' restaurant was not great. I wouldn't recommend going there as the service was not great and cocktails not great.

No WIFI was a bit annoying but considering how much we paid for our room we would've expected it to be free?

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrownBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Kia Orana Sarah M

Thank you for taking the time to post your report regarding your stay with us at the Crown Beach Resort and Spa.

Although we naturally delight in receiving compliments, we also sincerely appreciate our Guests informing us of when our services and / or product falls short of their expectations. As we are always striving to improve our standards, less positive comments provide a valuable tool of reference during our Departmental Meetings and Staff Training Sessions. Your contribution is therefore appreciated.

We appreciate your comments made on your villa and will endeavour to have any issues highlighted addressed during our scheduled maintenance period.

Thank you again for your report, and we trust the less positive aspect of your stay will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kia Manuia
The Team at the Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The hotel first of all has nice friendly staff Tina on the counter along with all the other very helpful ladies are great ,,Fun guy and tourist guide was the Warrior book a walk or paddle with him you will learn a few things and leave with a smile .Enjoyed our room with a plunge pool and private yard .The restaurant and drinks good ,nice place to be and snorkling fun always wear dive boots or sandles as there are prickly sea urchins ..Internet in room a non starter even though the charge for it also plumbing needs improved ,,but i will stay there again ,love Rarotonga even bought a cup saying so

Room Tip: 28 was good plunge pool private court yard ,nice bath and shower
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrownBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Kia Orana Robert S

Thank you for taking the time to post your complimentary report about your stay with us in paradise at the Crown Beach Resort and Spa. Management and staff are always delighted to read reports which demonstrate that all their efforts to ensure our Guests have an enjoyable stay, their needs have been catered for and most of all - the sunshine personality of our local staff is working its’ infectious Island magic….

Tina and Ngametua are thrilled to have read your comments and hope to see you again soon.

We have also made special note of the plumbing comments and will work to ensure that this is prevented from happening again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kia Manuia
The Team at the Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews