We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
78
50
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
50
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaugrabies fallsnorthern capeguest houseswimming poolfantastic stayblack swansovernight stayen routeexcellent servicenext morningrooms are spaciousroad tripreal oasisnational parkwow wowhelpful staffmade us feel at home
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We fully paid for a spesific room, but when we checked in, they had moved us to a totally deferent room. Our new room was in the middle of the dining area of the restaurant, 2 meters away from the swimming pool. The original room that we booked was far away from the busy restaurant for a reason.

We had n wonderful dinner. Our waitor, Carika was great. But unfortunately when we went back to our room, a company was having a year end function by the swimming pool, right in front of our room. They really enjoyed themselves drinking and splashing in the pool. Things only started to quiet down half past one the next morning.

It is unfortunate that we had n bad experience, because I know Vergelegen is actually n nice place to stay over.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lamoine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We and our friends had booked a 3-bedroom chalet. It was a nice chalet, but oddly there was no light switch for one bedroom i the actual room - we eventually figured out that the light switch was in another bedroom at the other end of the chalet. This was really odd and a nuisance as we were 4 adults and 2 kids, and one pair of adults was using that room.

We complained and as they say, it's the making right that matters. The owner herself came over to apologise, as did staff. We were offered free drinks with our dinner. This didn't fix the problem, but showed real intent and care by the staff and owner.

The chalet itself was well-appointed, with an air conditioner in each room (crucial in 40C heat) and a bottle of water each. The included breakfast was lovely, and the dinner we had was also fantastic in a great poolside setting. Dinner staff were attentive. Lovely gardens and play area for teh kids as well - an oasis in the desert.

A fantastic stay all round.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMZ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Neat, clean and airconditioned! Perfect stop over for a night. The restaurant was satisfactory, with a decent wine list and helpful and friendly staff. I especially likes the ducks roaming around. Did I say the rooms were very neat?

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JGrove1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed there overnight on way to Paternoster. Beautiful place, clean and welcoming and exceptionally friendly, helpful staff. No request was too big for them, they were happy to help. Nice food and effort in presentation. Recommend it!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Liane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We stayed two nights at Vergelegen and enjoyed the modern room (we stayed in one of the new built rooms ) and the super friendly service. The food at the restaurant was also excellent. The only thing which can be approved is the breakfast- freshly made eggs would be very nice instead already done eggs on the buffet,,,
We will definately come back again !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mela1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews