We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Birthday Treat”
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Holywood near belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My birthday falls on St Valentine's Day so we have often found that the price in Hotels on that date seem to rise considerably. No so with Castle Dargan. We arrived on Monday 13th and were warmly greeted at reception. We were then allocated the Maud Gonne Suite We had our own sitting room, large bedroom and also large bathroom. Cosy and warm.

We had decided to eat in the Restaurant and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and well presented. We really enjoyed our brief stay and hope that we will make another visit there soon. The staff made us feel at home with their warm welcome.

Room Tip: If you are in a romantic mood we suggest the Maud Gonne Suite. Really warm and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahm398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    313
    198
    104
    69
See reviews for
206
679
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Booked Castle Dargan on a 'special' deal - golf and overnight B+B. The hotel was booked out - it was mid-term- good sign and delighted for them - but it appeared to be totally understaffed.
Decided to dine on the early bird - reasonably choice on the menu. Thought I'd order a 'medium rare' stake - forget it - 'well done' only! - presume so short staffed in kitchen they couldn't cope with individual orders. Apart from that meal ok.
Have to say the rooms were very comfortable.
The weather was changeable but the course was awash and should have been closed. Better marketing would have been to offer a 'rain check' green fee and get people back. Unfortunately I wont be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed in Castle Dargan for 2 nights , and unfortunately was extremely disappointed overall with my valentines break.
When we arrived our welcome was as warm as a cold winters night and our rooms were not ready to check in at 3pm. We were not that put out , because they were buzy.
Bar food was ok that night. The following morning we went for breakfast . When we entered the room the waitress never asked us how we were , did we have good sleep of make any general chit chat just asked "what room and tea or coffee " - i was so embarassed for international visitors that they should experience this !!
We had arranged to use hydrotherapy suite and have a massage each. Sadly hydrotherapy suite not working but wonderful therapist Sophie a massive asset to the hotel offered us a hyrdo herbal bath which was a nice touch. Dinner in that night was lovely and our waiter was so very helpful .
However Breakfast again the next morning was so disappointing .The waitress with no personality was working again.
We arrived to breakfast at 0950 ( breakfast finished at 10.00am ) she looked at her watch and had told us she had to check was there food left... even though there was 10 minutes , like the morning before no hello , no how are you , no nothing .. disgraceful hospitality . I understand we all have bad days but if your going to market this resort you need proper resort staff !! Breakfast was cold served on a lukewarm plate !!
Will not be recommending this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izzypal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We recently spent a very pleasant night at Castle Dargan. We were given a suite in the walled garden with fabulous views over the golf course and surrounding area. The living area was bright, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bedroom was a little on the small dark side but adequate for our stay. We ate in the restauarant where the food was excellent but somewhat let down by the inexperienced dining staff. The same was the case at breakfast, the dining room was full so we were seated in another room where we had to walk across to the main dining room for food. Again at breakfast the food was excellent but the service letting it down slightly. In general this is a pleasant location for a quiet relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

the good points, as it was our anniversary we were very kindly upgraded to a suite. The bedroom was very basic, needs a re-vamp but the bathroom was fab, lovely free standing bath tub facing a window, very relaxing. Staff all very friendly. Restaurant, not so great, not enough staff so we were left sitting with the remainder of our dinner in front of us for up to 25 minutes. Food was fine. Bar food was good and the service better. Spa treatments were lovely, and a lovely choc fountain as it was valentines, lovely touch. Breakfast delicious, very enjoyable. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TALKGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
8.7 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,596 reviews
6.7 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,051 reviews
9.5 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
8.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
392 reviews
12.9 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing