We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colin is MASTER CHEF”

Tal Majjistra Eat House
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$46
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A beautiful outdoor staircase leads to the spacious Tal-Majjistra restaurant situated on the first floor. This space has also been expertly converted and enjoys a very suggestive dining atmosphere, especially in the evenings. The restaurant and its jovial atmosphere lends itself well to couples, families and groups, as well as special occasions and events. The kitchen serves all favourite Maltese dishes and then some. Traditional fare includes snails, fried goat's cheese, octopus, rabbit, horse meat and quail amongst others. These are complimented with more regular Mediterranean dishes such as salads, pasta, rib-eye, burgers and fresh-fish options. All this can be washed down with an extensive menu of both local and international fine wines. Tal-Majjistra Eat House offers the perfect blend for those looking to go local but at the same time want to enjoy quality food and service. The character, location and atmosphere of the restaurant make it even more special.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a meal here.
service was fantastic.
dining area and kitchen spotless.
Chef colin served me a rabbit specialty..
it was lovely.
keep up the good work.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 942kennyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

I will start by saying two things. This had the beat rabbit in Malta at one point hands down. The place is now called Maestrale as of the start of this year. New management, new name and a new menu.
I will finish the review under its new name.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank shaunb816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We came home from Malta a week ago and already missing the food. This is the best restaurant! Get the Maltese Appetizer Platter; it's soooo good. There were 5 of us, we all got different things and every dish was excellent. The night after eating here, we made reservations in a restaurant near by. We looked at that menu, and went back to this restaurant instead! We again had 5 different entrees and again they were all A+. The waitresses were awesome. They were helpful, charming and attentive but not overbearing. Thanks Sara, Kelsey, and Lorraine! And the owner treated us to liqueurs! If you are in Malta, make this a stop! You won't regret a bite!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Choice of fresh fish - pick your own and it's prepared especially for you. We chose the Rock Fish - very mild and tastefully prepared. Features a lot of Maltesian dishes. We also had the Rabbit-stuffed Tortellini. Best meal we had in Malta.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jm1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

It’s far from tourist attractions which’s personally what I was looking for. Awesome food too! Recommend it a lot!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 806b_lints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tal Majjistra Eat House also viewed

Mgarr, Island of Malta
Mgarr, Island of Malta
 
Mgarr, Island of Malta
Mgarr, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tal Majjistra Eat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing