We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
245
56
10
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
56
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar ile aux cerfs stand up paddle unique concept morning trip typical mauritian food away from the road free boat sugar cane fields harmony with nature two nights daily shuttle hotel stay busy road grand river common areas tented accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

I took the day package as I wanted to hire a kayak for the day, and it was the only way I could do it. Wow! The lunch alone was worth the ~£30 price; you could call unlimited use of the kayaks and SUPs, pool and facilities a bonus.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

I was a bit unsure about the accommodation prior to our trip as I am not really the camping type. But it turned out to be one of the best accommodations and experiences of our trip. We tents are big and very comfortable, the people are very nice and helpful, the food is great! We made the trip to Ile aux Cerfs which was ok. And we definitely recommend using the kayaks to visit the nearby waterfalls in the late afternoon. We saw apes and bats on the ways which was really cool and fascinating.
We only stayed for 2 nights but would have wished to stay a bit longer ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Had a terrible night with humidity and mosquitos... only to be told by arrogant owner that if we don't like it we can leave. Some basic amenities like a fan and spray to prevent bugs is not an unreasonable request and could possibly prevent other clients having same experience. Once again selling a concept but not following through on detail. All MU hotels are going the eco and sustainable route it's not a unique concept but basic service and customer comfort should go without saying... it rates the same as a typical backpackers - nothing more.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank clare s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it. The tents are rustic but comfortable, as are the common areas. The free use of kayaks and paddleboards is a nice bonus. We took the morning trip to Ile aux Cerfs, included with the stay, and were happy to have some beautiful, empty beaches to enjoy before the throngs arrived. Food was very good and the two resident dogs were fun to hang out with. The whole place had a very relaxing vibe and we easily mingled with other guests. The only reason I rate it four stars instead of five is that it's a bit pricey. That said, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to people who want a different stay from the normal resorts on the island.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a tent with a view.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank laurensvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

This must be the most luxurious experience that it’s possible to have while sleeping under canvas. The tents are spacious and comfortable. There is a big team working there, and they are all so friendly and do everything they can to make you feel welcome. Everything feels well organised, but still the vibe is very relaxed.

However, you should be aware that it’s not the quietest location. It’s located next to a busy road, and is in a village, so there are lots of dogs barking at night and a call to prayer just before dawn. The last two nights we stayed there were very windy, and the wind was beating against the side of the tent all night, making it quite difficult to get any sleep.

The food is pretty amazing. Everything is freshly prepared, with a lot of the vegetables and herbs grown right beside the kitchen. The breakfast buffet was great (though we would have liked more fresh fruit). Lunch was a buffet with several different curries and sauces, and dinner was usually a barbecue. All the food was delicious – certainly the best we ate in three weeks in Réunion and Mauritius. But to be honest, after a few days, we started to feel that we’d had enough meat and rich sauces, and we were craving some simpler food. We would have loved a simple sandwich or samosa from a street stall, but we couldn’t find anything within walking distance of the site. If you’re staying at Otentic without your own transport, you might want to think ahead about other places to eat sometimes.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews