We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great (but!)”
Review of Alishan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alishan House
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Chiayi County
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Excellent location, great views from the terrace and - if you are lucky - from the room as well. We had a high floor room in the new building looking into the top of the trees and it was one of the best hotel views, we have ever seen. The (artificial) waterfall between the buildings is funny as well (especially during a heavy evening rain).

However, do not expect 5 star downtown hotel. The building is a bit outdated and the food is a bit boring but not bad.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank jajalumaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Most of my comments remain the same since my first review but my perspective has changed a bit during my second visit. This time, there were 6 of us (adults) and 1 toddler. Traveling with a toddler is obviously different from traveling with all adults...

While the hotel still offers a breathtaking view and exceptional services, I must say the hotel needs to improve on their food choices. Since we stayed here for two nights this time, we tried their dinner buffet, breakfast buffet, and room service but in the end, we enjoyed our instant noodles the most...

For obvious reason, we didn't want to feed our toddler instant noodles, so I wish the food selection can be as enjoyable as our hotel stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

So we booked two nights in the Alishan House in the wonderful Alishan area. When you arrive in this spectacular location you see how beautiful Taiwan is.
The hotel itself seems to be the best option in the area. But its far away from luxury or high class as they want to be. The prices are high but the quality of services Is average.

When we arrived the checkin was not as friendly as we know it from other hotels in Taiwan. But thats ok. The room itself a double room in the newer building was already a bit dated and not very well maintained. For example the toilet seat heating wasn't working - and Alishan can become very cold in the winter.

The complete design of the room wasn't that nice maybe an 3 star hotel style but nothing more.

Worst part of the hotel is the food. I have really never seen a low quality breakfast and dinner buffer like this. The quality of the food was at most average even below. The room where the buffet is served feels like a train or bus station waiting room. The acoustic is miserable and you don't feel welcome at all.

So we decided to checkout one day earlier and leave this wonderful mountain area. But the food was so bad that we don't want to enjoy it one more night.

But as mentioned before its one of the only hotels - and the location is really so beautiful with the awesome view from the hotel rooftop.

Would I recommend the hotel? Yes I do have to recommend it because there are no alternatives and you really have to visit Alishan when you are in Taiwan. But the hotel itself needs a lot of improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank arneworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The room we booked was a Double Room in the “Modern House” part of the hotel at level 7 for one night which was kindly upgraded by hotel staff (Tom) to a Quadruple Room.
Location (5/5) is unique. You must park your car in public car park near the shopping area of Alishan and take hotel shuttle bus for about 1km to go to hotel.
Accessibility (5/5) was very good. There is only one road going to Alishan and you can’t miss it. The road is amazing to drive and don’t rush. Enjoy the spectacular views. Amazing walking tracks near the hotel.
Hotel Condition (4/5) is good but soon will be needed some renovations. Hotel was built in 2004 and bed frames and doors are dated. Make sure to check viewing deck on level 8 and even better views of herb garden on level 10.
Room Cleanliness (4/5) is good. The toilet didn’t look very clean.
Room Comfort (5/5) is good. Very comfortable bed, small size bathtub with amazing view, but not very quiet, specially we wanted to sleep early to wake up 3am for sunrise view which is why this area is famous for.
Room View (5/5) is great. The room window and balcony was facing west, looking down to a beautiful garden and having mountain view in the far side.
Customer Service (5/5) is very good at hotel reception. Very friendly staff.
Internet (5/5) was very good, just like everywhere in Taiwan.
Breakfast (5/5) was good but too crowded. The restaurant area is spacious though. The hotel also offers dinner because there is literally no option around the hotel to buy food. The breakfast and dinner buffet menu are maybe 85% the same.
Value for Money (3/5): No. With price of $375 AUD even included the buffet breakfast and dinner, still feels expensive. Also late check-in at 4PM and early check-out by 11AM, means you have the room only for 19 hours.
Overall (4.6/5) great location, amazing walking tracks and spectacular views.

Room Tip: The modern house is the one to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParshinV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

This is hotel is in a great location because it is located inside of the Alishan National Park. However, it is definitely an older hotel. There is a small cafe in the front lobby where you can order food, in addition to coffee and tea. I had a room with two double beds. Four our bathroom, the sink, toilet, and shower were all separated so that made it convenient since I was sharing the room with two other people. For dinner, we had the buffet at the hotel restaurant. The food was okay. We also had the breakfast buffet which was just average as well. The hotel has a convenient shuttle that takes you to the main village area where there are more shops and a 7-11. Overall, I think the best part of the hotel is the location.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank VLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiayi County hotels
11.8 km away
Fenchihu Hotel
Fenchihu Hotel
#13 of 33 in Chiayi County
66 reviews
28.3 km away
Ali Mountain Oriental Pearl International Hotel
Ali Mountain Oriental Pearl Inte...
#17 of 33 in Chiayi County
11 reviews
0.8 km away
Dafeng Hotel
Dafeng Hotel
#22 of 33 in Chiayi County
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 km away
Alishan Shermuh International Tourist Hotel
Alishan Shermuh International To...
#23 of 33 in Chiayi County
98 reviews
28.4 km away
Yundeng Landscape Hotel
Yundeng Landscape Hotel
#2 of 33 in Chiayi County
47 reviews
2.1 km away
Alishan Youth Activity Center
Alishan Youth Activity Center
#6 of 33 in Chiayi County
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alishan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alishan House

Address: No.16 West Alishan, Shianglin Village, Alishan Town, Chiayi County 60541, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Chiayi County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Chiayi County
Price Range: €188 - €477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alishan House 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alishan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alishan House Hotel Chiayi County
Alishan House Taiwan/Chiayi County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing