We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
103
47
14
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
47
14
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bear box tent sites camp store visitor center appalachian trail big meadows camping trip small restaurant large tent bathrooms were clean fire pit pay showers car camping neighboring sites gas station great camping laundry room
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We tent camp. These sites are "walk in". Looking at the map when I made reservations I did not realise that the ones farther back have to walk past the front sites. I had a front site. Loop A, site 16. So, people had to walk past us. Luckily this was not a huge issue and the people behind us were curious. The bathrooms were fine, and we did not use the showers. The showers were separate so I liked that. If we are ever there again, we will camp here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

I have been here more times than I can count. And I will keep going back. I love this place! the bathrooms are clean, the showers are clean, the rangers and all pretty cool.

The AT runs right behind the campground and you are within walking distance of so many trials.

No electricty - no wi-fi! PERFECT place to come and unplug!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bonnielt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Most recent stay was June 23rd thru June 26th 2017 ~ We camp in a Little Rig "Tear Drop” style RV only 15' long w/o toilet or shower ~ plus we like to eat outdoors using the picnic table and set up our dining canopy for sun and weather protection and thus rely on condition of campgrounds facilities and being nearby our site ~ so our critique is focused in that area

We had reservations in Big Meadow Campground [recommended] and our site B107 was very close to the restroom [several placed throughout the camp]. It had flush toilets, sinks with luke warm water, and electrical outlets. The showers [private lockable rooms] were further away; the only one in camp near the entrance in vicinity of the check-in ranger station. Restrooms were cleaned twice a day [am/pm] but showers once daily [am] and they ran out of hot water every night due to full campground; best to take showers early am and bring extra quarters – in case you can’t finish in allotted time. Each shower room was cheery and bright with modern fixtures. The walls and floors were full on tiled, had a bench and ample # of hooks for towel and clothes but no rubber mats to keep feet dry when toweling off. Overall still a good experience using both facilities

All roadways and sites are paved with mostly level sites though some are not and you’ll need blocks. This is a dry campground (no hookups) although there is ample # of water spigots near all restrooms. The campground is laid out in two loops; 1 has pull-thru and back in sites and has more shade than the other loop with more open back in sites and a separate area for walk-in tent sites which had (4’x 4′ x4′) “bear-proof” food boxes; don’t use your tent or coolers left outside to store food.

The campground is about 3400′ whereas the valley below is around 1000’. Summertime temps can soar to over 100 degrees in the valley, but is usually in the 80’s in the park’s campgrounds. Big Meadow is a great location for a base camp as you explore the park [its very large] to hike the many trails – including the Appalachian Trail which runs through it and be sure to visit the several visitors centers to gather more information of things to do. Don’t miss driving Skyline Drive taking advantage of pulling off the side of the road at the many overlooks and don’t miss the lodge. A camping trip to the Shenandoah is a perfect place to get away from the typical tourist traps laced with commercialism if you want to unwind turn off the phone and enjoy nature along with the peaceful solitude it has to offer

The actual “Big Meadow” area is about a mile away from the campground either by car or paved bike path. That is where there the Harry F. Byrd Visitor Center is along with a camp store. You can get or sign up for park tours and talks there. A camping trip to the Shenandoah is a perfect place to get away from the typical tourist traps laced with commercialism if you want to unwind turn off the phone and enjoy nature along with the peaceful solitude it has to offer.

Stayed: June 2017
3  Thank 1DIDO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

As DC Fed, the NPS folks here are the greatest! They respond timely to phone calls and are very knowledgeable of "walk up vacancies". Get there early (before 9-930) if you don't have a reservation. This is my 2nd visit to Big meadows and 1st time staying in E175+ section & you don't have go far to see a priceless sun rise. The section had a lot trees and probably would be cooler in the summer. It was "Super" windy Friday/Saturday AM helped some of the wind. Only negative was there is no "assigned" nearby pantry to wash pans, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Upon checking into the campsite we were instructed to read and sign their bear policy; yes they take measures to not have the bears needlessly coming into contact with people. No coolers or food items out at any time the site is vacant, seriously! They check and will take coolers leaving a $$ fine; second offense you are told to leave. Adventures continued with a bear visit one night and deer checking out the camper another. The wash sink behind the bathrooms is helpful to keep food away from your site & not needing to heat water. Far from light pollution so saw the Milky Way! Hiking trails very close along with the Appalachian Trail. Witnessed sunset from both Big Meadow and Naked Creek Overlook; amazing! All of the staff were very friendly and informative. Enjoy!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Martina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews