We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$245
PricelineUS$245
Hotels.comUS$245
Agoda.comUS$245
eDreamsUS$245
Orbitz.comUS$245
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
384
232
80
43
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
232
80
43
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds arts and crafts mountain biking hot tub buffet style beautiful lake fun activities salad bar wine and cheese included meals paint ball new forest dance party family tradition forest cabins cross country skiing each meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

Thanks again for a great adventure Montecito!
We have been to Montecito 8 years in a row during the summer but this was out first time during the winter. We live in SoCal so we could have gone to big bear or mountain high, but we made the drive to Montecito instead.

The staff is the best!!!
They had plenty of gear for rent and it was so affordable. Snowshoes, skies, snowboards, helmets, boots you name it. They had it here and we loved that the lessons were also very inexpensive.

The food was all included and we really enjoyed our time at Montecito.

Because of COVID-19 and county guidelines we were limited where we could eat but that is out of their control. We normally enjoy eating our meals with other guest but that is going to be on hold until the state starts to open up again.

Thank you Montecito! We love you and hope this COVID mess fizzles out sooner rather than later.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mmonreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

I booked a trip for my small family and another family member did the same for there’s . We were told that this would be one of the best trips we’ve taken. It was sadly not because our checkin was at 4pm(nearly missed the whole day). We were notified that a escort would meet us at a certain location because the roads were dangerous. We showed up early around noon and were told the escort would be there at 4:30pm which they weren’t an hour and a half passed and finally our escort arrived! Not only did it take a very long time to drive up to the lodge but when we arrived (dinner time) we were starving and immediately went to check in and grab dinner but the service attendant who was serving us was extremely rude when it was there fault for coming to escort us late! None of the activities were available so we found ourselves wondering around. I have already messaged someone from the lodge and haven’t heard back. I’m very disappointed for the price I paid. This picture shows us patiently waiting.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Q583NIrener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Dear Rene R,

While we are sorry that you were disappointed in your trip to visit our lodge, I must point out that you came to visit while California was under the "Shelter-in-Place" order imposed by the State of California. While we had permission to be open by the State, the order prohibited us from offering organized activities to our guests due to safety concerns. However, it was snowing during your visit, so there was access to snow play and snow sport equipment rentals, along with free access to sleds and snow tubes. We have clearly provided changes to our operations on our Website on our Covid-19 Safety page for those guests who are traveling during the pandemic. We have had no cases of Covid-to-date, either our staff or our guests, and are proud of our safety protocols in this regard.

I would also like to point out that our standard check-in time is 4:00pm, as stated on your reservation, when the road is open all the way to Montecito. 4pm is the standard check-in time of all hotels inside the park gates. During the winter, the National Park Service can close the road to Montecito at any time due to dangerous conditions, such as ice and snow, and sometimes, just in anticipation of a big storm. This was the case during your visit when we were expecting 1 1/2 to 2 feet of snow.

When the park service closes the road, we offer an escort service so our guests can come in to the lodge safely. We ask guests to arrive at the Grant Grove Market parking lot at 4:30pm in preparation for our escorts scheduled arrival time at 5pm. However, when there is an active winter storm, such as during your arrival, our escort staff will often have to drive slowly for the safety of our team and our guests. Sometimes, we will have to remove hazards or do some additional plowing (with Park Service permission) to make the road safe for our escort. We do state this information on our "Winter Travel Advisory" page of our website and ask for our guests' patience during storms especially. You can find this info on our "Winter Trip Info" and Montecito Escorts FAQs" pdfs on our website. On these pages we suggest that people be patient, bring games, food/snacks, blankets, in case of a snow storm, which might delay our escort. We realize that many people coming to visit us are not familiar with the dangers of winter driving in the Sierra, which is why we provide this escort service for free when the road is closed.

I do apologize if the staff member serving dinner was rude to you. That shouldn't have happened as our staff is expected to treat all of our guests respectfully. Our staff does have an excellent reputation for customer service, but, occasionally, one of our staff may be very stressed or having a bad day (such as during these particularly stressful times of
the pandemic/shelter-in-place/winter snowstorm). I apologize for this shortcoming, but do ask for our guests to be cognizant of the very real stress that essential workers are under during this pandemic, especially during the most recent post-holiday surge.

I have checked with our reservations staff and we did not receive an email or a Facebook dm from anyone complaining during the month of January, nor do we have a reservation from anyone under the name "Rene" with a last name beginning with "R." I am wondering if perhaps you sent a DM to the wrong Facebook site? Our official Facebook site is: MontecitoSequoiaLodge&SummerFamilyCamp.

Rene R., again my apologies for your disappointment. Most of our guests have been complimentary of the experience they have had at our lodge despite the challenges presented to us during the pandemic, but especially during the California Shelter-in-Place. Many of the complaints you have expressed are due to things out of our control due to weather and the Shelter-in-place order. I do think if you had traveled to visit us during non-pandemic times, you would have enjoyed your stay. I believe our staff has been doing an amazing job under very stressful circumstances, however I do again apologize if one of them was rude to you.

Wishing you all the best. Feel free to send us an email or dm us on our Facebook page if you would like to discuss further.

Sincerely,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp



I wanted to point out, however, that you came to visit us during the Shelter-in-place order imposed to

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2021 via mobile

Is my favorite place, 100% good, excellent, amazing.
If you looking for place where your family have a good memories, this is the perfect place

Si buscas un lugar donde llenar tu familia de buenos recuerdos es este el lugar perfecto

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 758sherryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful review 758sherryg! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you and your family return to build more happy memories!

Warmly,
T. Dally
Owner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

This was our second stay at Montecito Sequoia, and our whole family loves it there.
Our room was in a separate building, with the door leading right onto a snow-covered patio. Within the lodge itself everyone was taking every precaution to be Covid-safe. The included meals are served cafeteria-style right now due to health regulations (instead of the usual buffet), and were fresh and delicious, including vegetarian options. Sledding on the hill right behind the lodge was great fun, and it took us only about 20 minutes to drive to the General Grant giant sequoia grove in Kings Canyon National Park. Ended my birthday in the hot tub with a view of the snow-covered mountains - it's always such a treat to get away to the lodge for a while!

Room tip: The Sugarpine building is separate from the main lodge, which makes it quiet and more private. Our room had a view of the lake.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Annabell O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you so much Annabell O! We are so glad that you enjoyed the sledding hill and a dip in the outdoor hot tub for your birthday!!! Sounds like a wonderful way to celebrate. We hope you come back for years to come!!

Happy belated birthday!

Cheers,
T. Dally
Owner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021

Awesome getaway. Cabin was warm, cozy and super clean! Spacious bathroom with nice hot water a plus. We had a great time snowshoeing and snow tubing, what a treat for us San Diegans. Food was plenty and delicious. But the staff at Montecito should receive the most praise. Front desk staff, kitchen staff...everyone was so friendly and kind amid all the required social distancing. We will be back. Would love to rent one of their larger family cabins next time for our reunion!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank skimilk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Dear skimilk23,

Your review is very heartwarming to read during these challenging times! Thank you so much for the recognition of our staff -- we agree that they should receive the most praise, especially while working during this pandemic! It is so much appreciated!

We look forward to having you return for your family reunion!!!

All the best,
T. Dally
Owner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews