We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
386
233
81
45
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
386
233
81
45
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds arts and crafts mountain biking hot tub buffet style beautiful lake fun activities salad bar wine and cheese included meals paint ball new forest dance party family tradition forest cabins cross country skiing each meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2021

Awesome getaway. Cabin was warm, cozy and super clean! Spacious bathroom with nice hot water a plus. We had a great time snowshoeing and snow tubing, what a treat for us San Diegans. Food was plenty and delicious. But the staff at Montecito should receive the most praise. Front desk staff, kitchen staff...everyone was so friendly and kind amid all the required social distancing. We will be back. Would love to rent one of their larger family cabins next time for our reunion!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank skimilk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Dear skimilk23,

Your review is very heartwarming to read during these challenging times! Thank you so much for the recognition of our staff -- we agree that they should receive the most praise, especially while working during this pandemic! It is so much appreciated!

We look forward to having you return for your family reunion!!!

All the best,
T. Dally
Owner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2020

We enjoyed our stay at the Sequoia Lodge. We rented a forest cabin for two nights which was very beautifully decorated and clean. As it had a ramp to the front door and a roll in shower, these cabins would be wheelchair accessible. The kitchen featured a microwave oven and a small fridge. The kitchen sink for some reason was a bar sink, very small without a disposal. The king bed was firm, but comfortable. With covid still ongoing, you either ate at a few tables outside the lodge, which had heaters, or back in your room. The cabin had a dining table for 4, and we took one meal back to our cabin. Unfortunately, with a distance of about 100 yards from the cabin to the lodge, the food got very cold. Reheating the food left it kind of blah. The food itself was fair to good depending on the meal. However, it sometimes was dished out already too cold. The people at the lodge were lovely, kind, and very accommodating. We really enjoyed our drinks at the main lodge's fireplace. Hot chocolate was always available from the lady behind the desk. Our main difficulty was getting luggage from the parking lot to the cabin. Gray wheelbarrows were available which you loaded with your luggage and wheeled to your room, over an unpaved path with ruts and, in some areas, snow. For us in our 60s, at this elevation, it was a bit of a workout. Overall, this was an enjoyable stay. The night sky is just so beautiful.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cgtorrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Dear cgtorrey,

Thank you for your very information review of the pros and cons of staying in our beautiful Forest Cabins during the covid pandemic. Thank you for mentioning that our staff were "lovely, kind and very accommodating." We are very proud of our staff that are working hard during this challenging pandemic. We admire your tenacity in getting your luggage to the Forest Cabins, which sit at the very edge of our property (for privacy). The altitude and distance from the parking lot can be challenging, but please know that you can ask for help with your luggage at our front desk on an "as needed" basis. We are not a luxury resort with bellhops by any means, but our staff will do our best to help you out if you need it.

Thank you again cgtorrey! We hope you return to enjoy our beautiful night sky again soon!

Safe travels,
T. Dally
Montecito Owner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2020

Stayed here last year and had great time, food bar was excellent. Here again same time this year. Stayed in one of the newer private cabins. Cabin was beautiful, staff was friendly and helpful as usual. Food was hit and miss. Understand because of Covid that changes had to be made and resort is doing great job trying to roll with foolish regulations. That being said I think price could have been adjusted and lowered until regulations lifted. Will be back again if and when things get back to normal.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tone013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

Dear tone013,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We so appreciate guests like you who are aware that we are doing our best during these challenging times! Great choice to stay in one of our Forest Cabins...they are so beautiful and peaceful and a great place to get away from it all!

Thank you for understanding about the food as being hit and miss...our staff is doing their best under all the restrictions which prevent us from offering our salad and fruit bar, sandwich bar, dessert table, and other self-serve options. Different cooks have different styles of cooking as well, so you may prefer one meal over the other, because of those stylistic differences.

Thank you again tone013! We hope you come again soon when we can go back to our regular way of doing business and serving our customers!

Until then, happy holidays to you and yours!

Cheers,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020 via mobile

Had a nice two night stay but the food was consistently bad. It was way too salty, veggies were cooked until soft and mushy, and goopy cheese heavily coated nearly everything. Since there are no other nearby food options, I felt stuck eating what they had there and it was not good.

It’s too bad that the food spoiled an otherwise wonderful stay. We stayed in the newer family cabins and they were clean, modern, and spacious. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Due to this being the shoulder season, there were not many planned activities but the facility is located close to great hiking trails and has its own lake so there is plenty to do on your own

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alanj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

Dear Alanj60,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful Forest Cabin. We are sorry you did not enjoy the food. Our staff is doing their best during the pandemic, but we had to completely change to a cafeteria-style format from our traditional buffet. I would recommend that guests take this into consideration when they visit, as we can offer much greater variety and many fresher options (salad & fruit bar, sandwich bar, etc.), that we cannot currently offer. That said, I am proud of what are kitchen staff has been able to do during the pandemic, and is offering a much better selection than the park service food service concessions.

We hope you come back after the pandemic is under control to truly experience Montecito while operating normally...I think you will be really pleased at the quality and variety of food and activities versus your stay at this very challenging time for the hospitality industry. Thank you for mentioning that you found our staff all friendly and helpful...we pride ourselves on the quality of our staff and give them huge credit for the positive feedback we have received throughout this tough year.

Warmly,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

The lodge is rustic and you shouldn't expect a luxurious stay, but what you can look forward to is a mostly wonderful staff that goes out of the way to be helpful. From before arrival, Tiffany at the front desk helped us clear up a discrepancy with our reservation. Upon arriving, the road to the lodge was a bit icy and Steve came out to help us put tire chains on our vehicle. Adam in the kitchen served us some great meals that even our picky eaters enjoyed. Last, but definitely not least was Tatum at the front desk - every request made was taken care of promptly and always with a smile. Cheers to this great staff that make the resort a great place to escape the city life.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmjunior1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

Dear pmjunior1,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking time to acknowledge so many of our hardworking and caring staff! We are so proud of how they have endured and overcome the many challenges faced during the pandemic, yet still go out of their way to be kind and go above and beyond with a smile! We truly appreciate your shout out to Adam in the kitchen about the great meals you enjoyed!

We hope you return post-covid when we can shine at our very best! We look forward to your next escape from the city!

Appreciatively,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews