We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$245
PricelineUS$245
Agoda.comUS$245
Hotels.comUS$245
eDreamsUS$245
TravelocityUS$245
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
384
232
80
43
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
232
80
43
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds arts and crafts mountain biking hot tub buffet style beautiful lake fun activities salad bar wine and cheese included meals paint ball new forest dance party family tradition forest cabins cross country skiing each meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2020

I used to work for Montecito 15 years ago. It was a great place to visit and I would visit again. Lots of great memories there. I missed the very busy summer times with the available programs, fun people and great food. I miss the place already.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 705attilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

Dear 705attilak,

Thank you for coming to visit! We love to catch up with former staff and campers! Please come back in the summer, so you can relive your positive memories and see that Montecito has held to the traditions created by Pony and are continuing to honor her legacy as we move forward.

Hope to see you summer of 2021!

Sincerely,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020

We have stayed twice here and enjoyed it each time. The staff was always super helpful, our rooms were nice, the lake was fabulous and the s'mores around the campfire were so much fun. However, on our latest stay, Aug. 25 and 26, 2020, the grounds were a total mess. No one was tidying up. A bag of trash and a used blanket remained outside a room next to ours the whole time we were there. Empty wine glasses (not ours) remained on a table for two days. Toys were strewn about the beach as if they had been there for days. The part of the lodge where people used to sit on couches and play games, before the pandemic, was a total mess. Montecito-Sequoia Lodge: Can you do something about this?

Date of stay: August 2020
2  Thank Sunsetblvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

Dear Sunsetblvd,

We are so glad to hear that you had a lovely stay. Please note that covid has put additional stress on our staff, but we did make some changes to address these issues. As former guests, I believe you are aware that we ask guests to please bus their own tables...unfortunately, many guests didn't seem to adhere to this policy, and since we had to move all dining out of doors, it was more difficult for our staff to stay on top of things. We have made our guests more aware of our busing policies, and have assigned specific staff to clean certain areas. This has improved things greatly.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Appreciatively,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020

My family just returned from a 4 night stay and really enjoyed our experience. I was skeptical that we could travel during a pandemic and thoroughly enjoy ourselves, but it was one of our best trips ever.We felt very safe with the protocols in place with staff, required masks and no housekeeping visits to the room during the stay. Especially right now, having the meals available was so beneficial as there is very little food options open in the parks. The food is being served cafeteria style now vs buffet and also nice that there is a bar for the parents! There is so much to do here. Our kids (ages 8 and 5) loved the pool, trampoline, and evening s'mores. We had a great time on the lake using the paddle boards, kayaks, and canoes and enjoyed the Friday night Bingo game. There are activities each day for kids such as arts/crafts, archery, and air rifles. It was such a great in between spot to also explore both parks. We would love to return!

Room tip: Rooms in the main lodge do not have a mini fridge. I called to request a room with a fridge.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mere811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

Dear mere811,

Thanks you so much for your review and letting other guests know about our safety protocols during Covid. We were very fortunate to work with a long-term guest who is an infectious disease doctor and in charge of covid protocols at her California hospital.

She reviewed our protocols and made an onsite visit before we opened for summer to make sure we were following the latest CDC and California State guidance. We were also blessed to have many of our other guests and medical professionals review and experience our protocols who gave us similar feedback.

This was very gratifying , as we invested a lot of expense and thought in reworking our business from top to bottom to keep our staff and guests safe. So far so good!

We hope you return again next summer mere811, when we feel we will be better able to truly deliver the great Montecito experience as life will hopefully be more back to normal!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your visit! We appreciate your kind words and support!

Warmly,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020

We had the best time at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge during our 3d/2n stay...the room was clean and spacious (with a spectacular view), all of the staff were super friendly and accomodating (they even made us packed lunches when we went for a hike to Mist Falls). Horseback riding on the trails through the lodge was a pleasure and it was nice that we could hop on a paddleboard, kayak, or canoe and just go for a paddle around the private lake.
Also, it's worth mentioning their COVID-19 safety protocols were above and beyond; they made us feel very comfortable staying there. We would absolutely come back and stay again.

Date of stay: August 2020
1  Thank ealek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

Montecito is the only place that we have kept as a recurring family tradition for 8 years. We like to travel, get out in nature, do fun stuff and relax when we vacation, so Montecito has been able to meet all those needs.

The staff and counselors are AWESOME! They really keep the kids learning and exploring new activities. They offer arts and crafts, painting, mountain biking, stand up paddle boards, paints ball, swimming at the lake or the pool, jacuzzi... you name it!

There’s so much to do, or not do. My wife and I would just chill and read some days and other days she would do a hike while I went on a mountain bike ride with Neptune and the guys.

We have also used the camp as a base for day trips into kings canyon and sequoia NP. Buck rock, Hume lake, Moro rock, crystal cave, Zumwalt meadows, general Sherman / Grant trees are all relatively close to camp too.

It’s great to get back from a hike, shower up, grab a glass of wine and have a meal ready to go when you get back.

I would highly recommend Montecito even if you can’t stay during the family or adventure camps. Hope this review helps.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank mmonreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews