We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
50
101
47
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
101
47
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar cedar grove beautiful location road's end walls are thin rooms are small wi fi canyon lodging drive lodge accommodations park microwave nature wilderness souvenirs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2019

Simple and nice rooms so long into the canyon. Very friendly staff and kids friendly. Nice shop with all you need and souvenirs. A little scary to drive there so best to do that in daylight. The river and nearby nature very nice to relax. Also good shows by rangers.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

It had been several years since our first stay at Cedar Grove Lodge when we returned in September, and we were so pleased to find the only thing that had changed was the comfort and number of loungers on the deck and by the river!

If your idea of getting away from it all is a posh room with all the fixings and a fancy restaurant downstairs with gourmet groceries next door, well, this is not for you.

But if you can tough it out without a fridge, a coffee maker, a microwave, and a super-king bed; if you want to hike all day, and fall asleep listening to the river all night, this is a great place to stay.

Cedar Grove is a modest, welcoming, low-key lodge in the middle of a remote, pristine mountain wilderness.

The rooms are small, clean and simple, and best of all, there aren't very many of them, so this is not a zoo like some of the other NP lodgings we have stayed in over the years.

The beds are comfortable. The showers are hot. The walls are thin, but everyone was courteous and quiet while we were there. The staff were friendly. The setting is perfect. We would have stayed a week if we could have, and if we're lucky, we might get a chance to do so again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Coastfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2019

considering it's location this 3 star motel looks like a 5. The location is nice and the rooms clean enough. If you don't like it here it is 37 miles to another choice or 100 yards to the campground. Take it or leave it.

Date of stay: September 2019
2  Thank tom_treddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Excellent experience. The location is perfect - at the end of the road of Kings Canyon National Park with a soothing river on the property. Such a peaceful experience to sit in the chairs by the river and watch the wildlife and listen to the river The room is everything that a traveler needs. There is a restaurant and basic store on the property. Staff is friendly - room was clean. Great place to stay to enjoy nature and disconnect.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019

Fantastic location, right by the river, with great seating options both on the veranda and near the water.

However, the hotel is very very basic. The first room we went in had quite bad vibration, coming from fans downstairs for the kitchen. We asked to move, and had a better room, but it really was run-down and in need of refurbishment. The bed wasn't comfortable, and there wasn't a fridge, which was quite hard as the store on-site is very poorly stocked; they cater more for campers and not much for those in the lodge. There were no healthy food options at all, no salad or any way to make up your own lunch (but you couldn't plan ahead and take anything in with you as no fridge!) Store sold lots of unhealthy stuff but nothing very nourishing. The snack bar was our saviour, they have some great vegetarian options - but not a huge variety if you're staying several nights, so we drove to Grant Grove for a great meal one of the evenings.

The lodge is also quite far from some of the main attractions, so if I were to return or give advice, I'd say stay in Grant Grove for a better overall experience, and then maybe one night at Cedar Grove (or just spend a day in this area and drive back to Grant Grove).

We stayed in 7 hotels during a 14-day Californian roadtrip and this was the only one I was disappointed with.

Room tip: Stay in Grant Grove instead
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0rdSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews