We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, disgusting hotel”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We checked in to the hotel late in the evening. As my partner completed the check in, a couple who were 'walk ins'. They were greeted and rudely treated. We went to our room, via an unlit street, no reason for a lack of marker lighting and got to our deluxe room.

This is the most horrific sight I have ever seen in a hotel. Obviously the location plays a huge part in this as the hotel management obviously do not care about customer experience over revenue.

The room was disgusting, there were no skirting boards on the walls (there had been but they had been ripped off). The room was dirty, like something from a teen horror film.

No air con and a heater system as old as the arc, everything was covered in inches of dust, this is no exaggeration, the room was filthy from the pictures to the head board to the fans, towel rail and the fan. Oh my god the fan, inches thick with dust on both sides.

The reception of the hotel was no better having looked around.

The food in the restaurant was inedible and the staff are nonplussed by the fact the hotel is a health hazard, probably due to its location.

My recommendation would be to either chance it in the woods with the bears or arrive in an RV and know where you're staying.

Price does not equal quality, please think before spending your hard earned cash on this place!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smatl0ck, Exec Admin Assistant at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Chris,

I deeply apologize for your horrible experience. It is never our intention to give a guest one such as this. We were going through a total remodel of the guest rooms in all of the 3 lodge buildings and the ambiance did suffer. The final stages are now happening and the baseboards are in and the construction is over. We are down to just hanging drapes at this point. I know that when a guest has a bad experience from the time they walk in, the rest of the stay follows suite. I will forward this on to the dept. managers for them to read and share with the staff. Thank you for your candor and we again, apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Beautiful and simplistic natural dining area.
Keep in mind that lunch stops at 3 p.m. and dinner begins at 430 p.m.
Sautéed mushrooms are delicioso.
Hamburgers are dry.
Food is basic. Overpriced. But choices are LIMITED in this area.
I ended up eating a sautéed mushroom burger because the patty was hard and not eatable.
Service: speedy and excellent and courteous.
I will likely package sandwiches from Subway in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 350kenyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smatl0ck, Exec Admin Assistant at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for the review. I apologize for falling short in some areas but grateful that you brought it to our attention. I will share this with the appropriate managers and we will use it for training purposes. I hope that you arrived to your next destination safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This property could be much better with needed improvements.
The staff was not welcoming nor overly helpful.
Seniors need assistance getting luggage to the rooms and this should be an automatic service. The room was clean but had a mouse and a broken bathroom sliding door.
Over priced for the long distance walk to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ranman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smatl0ck, Exec Admin Assistant at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for the review and I apologize that it seems we fell short in a few areas. I hope that you were able to enjoy the park and then arrived to your next destination safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

When I check into a hotel, I expect a clean room. That includes dusting. The ceiling fan over the bed was so dirty, that the dust was hanging off the fan. Ditto for the fan in the bathroom. This type of filth should never occur. The room is very rustic however the air conditioner, phone system and hair dryer in our room didnt work. The bathroom towels on the other hand were very clean- I appreciated that. The next morning when we approached the front desk about our concerns, we were told 'well you were given a bed.' Seriously. The Lodge is located in a beautiful area of the park and is convenient however unless you want an asthmatic sleep, I suggest continue to change rooms until you find a clean one. And be forewarned- parking the far from the hotel and there arent any elevators to the higher hotel floors.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AbbyCorrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smatl0ck, Exec Admin Assistant at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Abby,

I deeply apologize for the experience that you had to suffer through. It is never our intentions for our guests to walk away from here feeling as you do. I will forward this to the GM and the housekeeping manager, manager and inspectors. From this they will tighten up their operations to ensure that this is not the norm. Thank you for the review, as we see every one of them as an opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Not impressed with our room at all. We paid $254 a night, our room phone was disconnected, water leak in bathroom sink, no air conditioner, or Internet ( their website said limited- we didn't get any service, and house keeping did a poor job. For $254 we were expecting higher quality.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank melissarmoore408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smatl0ck, Exec Admin Assistant at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and I will forward it on. I apologize for your less than satisfactory experience with us; I hope you arrived to your next destination safely and was met with a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
23.7 km away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
550 reviews
14.3 km away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
654 reviews
20.7 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
182 reviews
27.3 km away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
25 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: €103 - €236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing