We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver City Mountain Resort(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cedar Grove Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Muir Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stony Creek Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,592)
Filter reviews
2,592 results
Traveller rating
746
1,091
493
185
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
1,091
493
185
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking lotsuperior roomnational parkdining roomsequoia buildingwindow fanseparate buildingspeaks restaurantstewart buildingyour luggagedinner reservationsmain buildingsofa bedgiant forestmake reservationsgift shopbeautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
1,853 - 1,858 of 2,592 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed in a deluxe room. The room was clean and the furnishings seemed pretty new. We got some spotty wifi signal in our room, but our tv had terrible reception, the picture was clouded by “snow”. Also the deluxe room description and pictures show a table and chairs in the room which we did not have, we had a small desk with one chair. There is a mini fridge which was great, but we tried to make hot water for tea in the coffee maker and it turned out smelling and tasting like watered down stale coffee. Also you could hear a lot of noise from people in the hallways. Also when staying at the Wuksachi your only convenient option for food is the Wuksachi Restaurant which is formal and a little pricy (In late October everything at Lodgepole was closed so your only option other than he Wuksachi Lodge for food is in Grant Grove which is almost an hour drive). The name says "Lodge and Village" but all that is there are the hotel rooms and a building with a small gift shop and restaurant. The food we had there was good, but overall we felt that staying at the lodge was overpriced for what you were getting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandK2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Wuksachi Lodge best feature is that it is very close to the Sequoia Park highlights with minimal driving required (especially if you use the shuttle system within the park). Room was clean and spacious. Some drive over to the main lodge for dinner, but it really is just as quick to walk. There are usually deer grazing between the main lodge and the 3 buildings housing the motel rooms. Dinner is an ordeal and a test of patience. The main lodge is the only option and reservations are required. We arrived at approximately 4:00 in the afternoon unaware that we needed a reservation and could only get an 8:45 PM reservation for dinner that night (we were not seated until 9:15 and people were still waiting after us). The small convenience store and snack bar that are approximately 2 miles away, closed at 4:00 PM. Driving out of the park means an hour of hairpin switch backs both in and out, so not an option. You are basically trapped for food with the only option the Waksuchi Lodge. There are too many people in this situation and the lodge cannot accommodate the volume, hence the long wait for seating. Breakfast is not quite as bad, since it is a buffet and people can come and go without reservations. Would be nice to see the lodge do something to accommodate the evening dinner overcrowding. Possibly dinner needs to be a buffet as breakfast is. A small store selling sandwiches for those who prefer not to wait could be open in the lobby. A small selection of food items could be available in the lobby shop. Unfortunately the staff doesn’t seem to care about the lobby full of guests waiting well into the evening for dinner. If you are staying at Wuksachi Lodge, make a dinner reservation when you book your room!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights (Saturday and Sunday, Oct 29/30, 2011) at Wuksachi Lodge in a standard room, #131 on the 2nd floor in the Stewart Building. We booked the "bed and breakfast" rate which included a very good buffet breakfast in the morning. Saturday night rate $155 and Sunday went down to $118. Very reasonable.
We absolutely lucked out with the weather as they had 5 inches of snow about 10 days prior. We enjoyed blue skies, mild temps, and hardly any crowds - we felt like we had the amazing trees all to ourselves.
We drove from Santa Cruz (Hwy 152 Hecker Pass through Gilroy to Pacheco Pass to Hwy 99 to Fresno to Hwy 180 into the park). Be sure to get gas before you enter the park! It was exactly 4 hours to Grants Grove where we had lunch and visited the General Grant tree area.
We then continued on Hwy198 to Wuksachi Lodge which was about 25 miles via a beautiful winding road.
The lodge worked out perfectly for us. Yes, you do have to walk a bit from the main lodge where the front desk, gift shop, small bar and restaurant are located to the building where the guest rooms are.
The dining room with huge windows overlooking the trees is lovely and comfortable and dinner was good - not cheap - not extraordinary - but staff is friendly and we were happy.
The local deer are very friendly and happy to munch around the lodge. We were told they even give birth underneath the staff cabins!
Sequoia is a gorgeous park and we love that it is not nearly as overrun as Yosemite.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Waksachi Lodge just one night on our trip, but in retrospect would have spent longer. A beautiful location was made even better by the service and friendly people there. The breakfast buffet was absolutely delicious. The view from the restaurant is georgeous, plus they were playing beautiful, soothing music that made us want to stay and stay. It had snowed before we arrived and the road out of the park was closed when we arrived, but the desk clerk was eager to call for road conditions to make sure we could continue our journey as planned. The rooms were basic hotel rooms, but clean and what a view. We would definitely stay again. So much more reasonably priced than hotels in Yosemite.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthegoCincinnati_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just came back from spending 3 nights in sequoia national park. We enjoyed our stay at the wuksachi lodge. The rooms are a short walk to the restaurant. The food is good. They only have a breakfast buffet, but you can choose either the hot or continental buffet for $12.95 or $7.95 which seems reasonable. The dinner was nice with good wine and a nice selection - we thought the prices were very reasonable, but we live in San Diego. You must make reservations for dinner since there is a limited amount of help this time of year.

The only thing I didn't like about our stay- the bed was not good, and the linens were very rough, but still better than camping! There is no place else to stay or eat in the area.

The hiking is great! The trees are amazing! If you only have time for one hike, take the "Congress Trail" to see Sherman's tree. Morrow Rock, which provides incredible views of the area, is also well worth your time.

There is road construction as you approach the lodge. The road is only open on the hour, and if you are not in line you must wait until the next hour to use the one way road.

We didn't see any bears, but the deer are like house pets, so tame. It gets really cold at night this time of year, but the days are beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews