We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time stay inside National Park and good one”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Normally we do not stay inside the national parks, rates are very very high, quality is mostly not in line with the rate and so on....but this time we did:

- rates are reasonable and quality is good
- rooms are 11 years old, you can see that, but still acceptable
- very good service
- breakfast very extensive
- dinner very fine
- and of course it is perfect to stay inside the park
- for sure with this kind of quality and rate we will do it again

Be aware of the bears! We had picknick till somebody warned us that next to our table about 20 meters away was a big black bear... we saw many. Do not forget to visit Kings Canyon, totally different, but worth for a day trip from this lodge. 3 nights is enough to see everything very relaxed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,741 - 1,745 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed in a deluxe room. The room was clean and the furnishings seemed pretty new. We got some spotty wifi signal in our room, but our tv had terrible reception, the picture was clouded by “snow”. Also the deluxe room description and pictures show a table and chairs in the room which we did not have, we had a small desk with one chair. There is a mini fridge which was great, but we tried to make hot water for tea in the coffee maker and it turned out smelling and tasting like watered down stale coffee. Also you could hear a lot of noise from people in the hallways. Also when staying at the Wuksachi your only convenient option for food is the Wuksachi Restaurant which is formal and a little pricy (In late October everything at Lodgepole was closed so your only option other than he Wuksachi Lodge for food is in Grant Grove which is almost an hour drive). The name says "Lodge and Village" but all that is there are the hotel rooms and a building with a small gift shop and restaurant. The food we had there was good, but overall we felt that staying at the lodge was overpriced for what you were getting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandK2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Wuksachi Lodge best feature is that it is very close to the Sequoia Park highlights with minimal driving required (especially if you use the shuttle system within the park). Room was clean and spacious. Some drive over to the main lodge for dinner, but it really is just as quick to walk. There are usually deer grazing between the main lodge and the 3 buildings housing the motel rooms. Dinner is an ordeal and a test of patience. The main lodge is the only option and reservations are required. We arrived at approximately 4:00 in the afternoon unaware that we needed a reservation and could only get an 8:45 PM reservation for dinner that night (we were not seated until 9:15 and people were still waiting after us). The small convenience store and snack bar that are approximately 2 miles away, closed at 4:00 PM. Driving out of the park means an hour of hairpin switch backs both in and out, so not an option. You are basically trapped for food with the only option the Waksuchi Lodge. There are too many people in this situation and the lodge cannot accommodate the volume, hence the long wait for seating. Breakfast is not quite as bad, since it is a buffet and people can come and go without reservations. Would be nice to see the lodge do something to accommodate the evening dinner overcrowding. Possibly dinner needs to be a buffet as breakfast is. A small store selling sandwiches for those who prefer not to wait could be open in the lobby. A small selection of food items could be available in the lobby shop. Unfortunately the staff doesn’t seem to care about the lobby full of guests waiting well into the evening for dinner. If you are staying at Wuksachi Lodge, make a dinner reservation when you book your room!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights (Saturday and Sunday, Oct 29/30, 2011) at Wuksachi Lodge in a standard room, #131 on the 2nd floor in the Stewart Building. We booked the "bed and breakfast" rate which included a very good buffet breakfast in the morning. Saturday night rate $155 and Sunday went down to $118. Very reasonable.
We absolutely lucked out with the weather as they had 5 inches of snow about 10 days prior. We enjoyed blue skies, mild temps, and hardly any crowds - we felt like we had the amazing trees all to ourselves.
We drove from Santa Cruz (Hwy 152 Hecker Pass through Gilroy to Pacheco Pass to Hwy 99 to Fresno to Hwy 180 into the park). Be sure to get gas before you enter the park! It was exactly 4 hours to Grants Grove where we had lunch and visited the General Grant tree area.
We then continued on Hwy198 to Wuksachi Lodge which was about 25 miles via a beautiful winding road.
The lodge worked out perfectly for us. Yes, you do have to walk a bit from the main lodge where the front desk, gift shop, small bar and restaurant are located to the building where the guest rooms are.
The dining room with huge windows overlooking the trees is lovely and comfortable and dinner was good - not cheap - not extraordinary - but staff is friendly and we were happy.
The local deer are very friendly and happy to munch around the lodge. We were told they even give birth underneath the staff cabins!
Sequoia is a gorgeous park and we love that it is not nearly as overrun as Yosemite.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Waksachi Lodge just one night on our trip, but in retrospect would have spent longer. A beautiful location was made even better by the service and friendly people there. The breakfast buffet was absolutely delicious. The view from the restaurant is georgeous, plus they were playing beautiful, soothing music that made us want to stay and stay. It had snowed before we arrived and the road out of the park was closed when we arrived, but the desk clerk was eager to call for road conditions to make sure we could continue our journey as planned. The rooms were basic hotel rooms, but clean and what a view. We would definitely stay again. So much more reasonably priced than hotels in Yosemite.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthegoCincinnati_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
23.7 km away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
548 reviews
14.3 km away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
654 reviews
20.7 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
182 reviews
27.3 km away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
25 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: €108 - €229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing