We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenai Fjords National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenai Fjords Glacier Lodge
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights in June 2011. This was the finale of a 3 week trip to Canada and Alaska. We had planned this as a trip of a lifetime for over a year.

We collected our boat at Seward one comment I'd make is check where the agent is as they are difficult to find. Once we located our boat we had a 4 hour trip to kennai fjords glacier lodge - this was like a safari in its own right. Humpbacks sea otters an puffins all were seen.

On arrival we stopped by the immense Pedetsen glacier in the lagoon for an hour just fantastic.

Next we disembarked and took a 10 min walk to the lodge - luggage is delivered for you. The main lodge itself is specatularly located in black bear territory looking out onto the lagoon, glacier and sea. Spectacular vistas everywhere. Our lodge was located overlooking the lagoon and glacier as all were. Vert comfortable and eco friendly this place is all about nature.
The staff were very friendly all dining is communal - get to knowpeople and it's a buffet style. Food was excellent if a little biased to our us colleagues. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. Would recommend all the daily trips went kayaking, walking and hiking. We were blessed with the weather as well.
As an amateur photographer it was fantastic (tripod / momopod recommended). If you're into the outdoors with comfort this it.
Highly recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
67
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We just returned from 12 days in Alaska visiting the Kenai Peninsula and Denali National Park and this place was my absolute favorite. I hesitated to book it because of the price but it was worth every dollar. We stayed for two nights and hated to leave. It all started with a 4 hour boat ride to our destination with many stops on the way looking at a variety of wildlife and glaciers which took the place of booking a separate wildlife and glacier cruise. The cabins were tucked away amongst the trees with a view of the lagoon and the lodge looked out over the Pedersen Glacier. The setting was just stunning. We canoed to the upper lagoon which wowed us with the beautiful ice formations in the water. We kayaked to the Aialik Glacier for an all day adventure eating lunch next to the Glacier as it was calving. It should be noted that we are not experienced kayakers but had great direction from our guide with no problems. We canoed and hiked to the Pedersen Glacier for some more fantastic scenery. The guides were all very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. In addition, if you are looking for peace and quiet--this is the quietest place I have ever been. The other plus was the food. It was outstanding. My husband is a picky eater and he was eating things I have never seen him eat before. So my advice to anyone thinking about booking this place is don't hesitate to do it. With all the activities that we did , the great food and accommodations and the beautiful setting I believe it is a great value for your money and an experience that you will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The lodge has been well described in other reviews, so i won't reiterate all the details. Suffice it to say, a 3 hour boat ride (in and of itself a worthy excursion) takes you away from it all, to a group of 16 comfy cabins, nestled at the foot of Pederson Glacier. A common lodge house for meals, drinks, nature talks, and daytime excursions (mainly sea kayaking, hiking) that are epically wonderful.

The Travel Channel was there, doing a profile of "VIP alaska lodges" and followed us around one evening for an after dinner hike (alaska, summer, no nighttime!) and we had a safe and wonderful encounter with a black bear, who my daughter named Franklin, which coincidentally is the name of the big bear of a chef who whips up miracles nightly! I suspect that's gonna let the secret out, however!

I'd strongly recommend three nights instead of just two (which only give you one FULL day on site, since you arrive on boat in afternoon and leave mid-day as well) but two would be a minimum.

Bring bug spray, but with 30% DEET, we got one bite among the four of us.

Food wonderful, and guides (especially brian....ah, brian, our family has a bit of a brian crush, i think) amazing.

Yes, expensive, but all inclusive (except beer/wine).

And for us, a truly once-in-a-lifetime way to experience a magical place, in relative solitude, with great comfort.

Room Tip: All cabins the same, and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This lodge provides the most unique vacationing experience I have ever had. Your journey begins in Seward, where you climb aboard the perfect-sized boat (not too many people) and cruise down Resurrection Bay and into the fjords. During this enchanting 2-3 hour boat ride, we saw orcas, humpbacks, harbor seals, sea lions, and puffins. A pod of Dall porpoises even played with our boat for about 15 minutes on the return trip! It was amazing! On the way, you get to see unusual rock formations and glacial capped mountains. Then we admired the magnificent calving of Aialik Glacier. Next, the boat brought us to a boat landing where we were greeted by staff. A short 1/2 mile walk into the woods, and here is this fabulous lodge with all the comforts of home. The view of Pederson Glacier is striking and different at all hours of the day! The cabins were comfy, the food was delicious, the guides are top-notch, and the staff is very friendly! I felt like I was a million miles away, yet was able to enjoy the luxuries of a prestigious hotel. Perfection!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ_Madera_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We did not hear about this beautiful cabin based lodge situated right across from the Pederson Glacier, until we actually visited Alaska and did a one day kayaking trip at Aialik Bay, and the guide mentioned it as an option if we did not want to camp overnight. We loved the area so much, we booked a cabin the next night and stayed for two more days. After spending two weeks in Alaska, we feel Kenai Fjords is the best place to see sea-wildlife, explore glaciers by kayak, and experience true sea wilderness. This is a perfect place for couples or family who may not feel comfortable camping overnight and 'roughing it', although if you do stay here I highly recommend staying at least two nights. Although the costs might seem prohibitive, keep in mind included in this cost are several excursion options including a trip to beautiful Abra Cove across the bay, a day trip to Aialik glacier, and a canoe trip to the upper lagoon at Pederson glacier. Keep in mind, the latter option only is possible if you spend at least two nights because the first day your boat ride will likely come in around 2-3pm and the high tide must be rolling in for this excursion to be possible (otherwise the creek between the two lagoons is flowing away from the glacier, and would be impossible to to row). High tide ranges quite a bit, but at least when we visited, it was around the 1-3pm window. So if you spend a one night stay, you will likely arrive too late to do the trip the first day, and you have to board the boat by around the same time the next day, and will not be able to do it the next. The trip to Aialik glacier is worth it too (lots of calving, and a nice rocky beach to eat lunch and watch from), and so really to get the whole experience of what this lodge can offer you access to, you are looking at a 3 night stay (canoe the 2nd lagoon first day as an intro, abra cove in AM, upper lagoon at Pederson in PM, then Aialik glacier on the 2nd full day, then perhaps relax on the AM before leaving). When considering the cost, keep in mind full day boat shuttle and kayaking trips to this area can cost as much as $300-400, so the cost of the lodge is actually quite reasonable if you have the time. The food and service is well done, the staff seem very happy and blessed to be working here, and you have the likely possibility of seeing black bears in the area as well (thankfully, we only saw 2 at a distance). This place has only been open for 3 years so it is somewhat of a 'well kept secret', but not likely for much longer. Each cabin has views of Pederson glacier, has hot water, a balcony with chairs to relax on, and none are 'second rate' although they are apparently building a "VIP" suite for investors.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank photowa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenai Fjords National Park
2.2 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
560 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,040 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
747 reviews
0.6 km away
Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge
0.5 km away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#6 of 14 in Seward
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Fjords Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Fjords Glacier Lodge

Property: Kenai Fjords Glacier Lodge
Address: Aialik Bay, Kenai Fjords National Park, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kenai Fjords National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kenai Fjords National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenai Fjords Glacier Lodge is an all-inclusive wilderness lodge located within Kenai Fjords National Park. Nestled within a Native-owned wildlife sanctuary on the edge of a protected lagoon, Kenai Fjords Glacier Lodge and guest cabins enjoy stunning views of Pedersen Glacier. The rugged beauty of Alaska's spectacular seacoast and abundant marine wildlife is balanced nicely with the creature comforts of private cabins, a cozy main Lodge and hearty meals with gourmet flair. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenai Fjords Glacier Hotel Kenai Fjords National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing