We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kenai Fjords Glacier Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Taroka Inn(Seward)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sauerdough Lodging(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seward(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor 360 Hotel(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Motel(Seward)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
122
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat ridesea ottersglacier lodgeblack beansalaska wildland adventuresrocking chairsworth every pennygreat foodrain gearwonderful experiencewildlife viewingexcellent staffbeautiful scenerybucket listall sortsspent two nightsstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We just returned from 12 days in Alaska visiting the Kenai Peninsula and Denali National Park and this place was my absolute favorite. I hesitated to book it because of the price but it was worth every dollar. We stayed for two nights and hated to leave. It all started with a 4 hour boat ride to our destination with many stops on the way looking at a variety of wildlife and glaciers which took the place of booking a separate wildlife and glacier cruise. The cabins were tucked away amongst the trees with a view of the lagoon and the lodge looked out over the Pedersen Glacier. The setting was just stunning. We canoed to the upper lagoon which wowed us with the beautiful ice formations in the water. We kayaked to the Aialik Glacier for an all day adventure eating lunch next to the Glacier as it was calving. It should be noted that we are not experienced kayakers but had great direction from our guide with no problems. We canoed and hiked to the Pedersen Glacier for some more fantastic scenery. The guides were all very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. In addition, if you are looking for peace and quiet--this is the quietest place I have ever been. The other plus was the food. It was outstanding. My husband is a picky eater and he was eating things I have never seen him eat before. So my advice to anyone thinking about booking this place is don't hesitate to do it. With all the activities that we did , the great food and accommodations and the beautiful setting I believe it is a great value for your money and an experience that you will never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ILKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The lodge has been well described in other reviews, so i won't reiterate all the details. Suffice it to say, a 3 hour boat ride (in and of itself a worthy excursion) takes you away from it all, to a group of 16 comfy cabins, nestled at the foot of Pederson Glacier. A common lodge house for meals, drinks, nature talks, and daytime excursions (mainly sea kayaking, hiking) that are epically wonderful.

The Travel Channel was there, doing a profile of "VIP alaska lodges" and followed us around one evening for an after dinner hike (alaska, summer, no nighttime!) and we had a safe and wonderful encounter with a black bear, who my daughter named Franklin, which coincidentally is the name of the big bear of a chef who whips up miracles nightly! I suspect that's gonna let the secret out, however!

I'd strongly recommend three nights instead of just two (which only give you one FULL day on site, since you arrive on boat in afternoon and leave mid-day as well) but two would be a minimum.

Bring bug spray, but with 30% DEET, we got one bite among the four of us.

Food wonderful, and guides (especially brian....ah, brian, our family has a bit of a brian crush, i think) amazing.

Yes, expensive, but all inclusive (except beer/wine).

And for us, a truly once-in-a-lifetime way to experience a magical place, in relative solitude, with great comfort.

Room Tip: All cabins the same, and great.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NeilOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This lodge provides the most unique vacationing experience I have ever had. Your journey begins in Seward, where you climb aboard the perfect-sized boat (not too many people) and cruise down Resurrection Bay and into the fjords. During this enchanting 2-3 hour boat ride, we saw orcas, humpbacks, harbor seals, sea lions, and puffins. A pod of Dall porpoises even played with our boat for about 15 minutes on the return trip! It was amazing! On the way, you get to see unusual rock formations and glacial capped mountains. Then we admired the magnificent calving of Aialik Glacier. Next, the boat brought us to a boat landing where we were greeted by staff. A short 1/2 mile walk into the woods, and here is this fabulous lodge with all the comforts of home. The view of Pederson Glacier is striking and different at all hours of the day! The cabins were comfy, the food was delicious, the guides are top-notch, and the staff is very friendly! I felt like I was a million miles away, yet was able to enjoy the luxuries of a prestigious hotel. Perfection!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ_Madera_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We did not hear about this beautiful cabin based lodge situated right across from the Pederson Glacier, until we actually visited Alaska and did a one day kayaking trip at Aialik Bay, and the guide mentioned it as an option if we did not want to camp overnight. We loved the area so much, we booked a cabin the next night and stayed for two more days. After spending two weeks in Alaska, we feel Kenai Fjords is the best place to see sea-wildlife, explore glaciers by kayak, and experience true sea wilderness. This is a perfect place for couples or family who may not feel comfortable camping overnight and 'roughing it', although if you do stay here I highly recommend staying at least two nights. Although the costs might seem prohibitive, keep in mind included in this cost are several excursion options including a trip to beautiful Abra Cove across the bay, a day trip to Aialik glacier, and a canoe trip to the upper lagoon at Pederson glacier. Keep in mind, the latter option only is possible if you spend at least two nights because the first day your boat ride will likely come in around 2-3pm and the high tide must be rolling in for this excursion to be possible (otherwise the creek between the two lagoons is flowing away from the glacier, and would be impossible to to row). High tide ranges quite a bit, but at least when we visited, it was around the 1-3pm window. So if you spend a one night stay, you will likely arrive too late to do the trip the first day, and you have to board the boat by around the same time the next day, and will not be able to do it the next. The trip to Aialik glacier is worth it too (lots of calving, and a nice rocky beach to eat lunch and watch from), and so really to get the whole experience of what this lodge can offer you access to, you are looking at a 3 night stay (canoe the 2nd lagoon first day as an intro, abra cove in AM, upper lagoon at Pederson in PM, then Aialik glacier on the 2nd full day, then perhaps relax on the AM before leaving). When considering the cost, keep in mind full day boat shuttle and kayaking trips to this area can cost as much as $300-400, so the cost of the lodge is actually quite reasonable if you have the time. The food and service is well done, the staff seem very happy and blessed to be working here, and you have the likely possibility of seeing black bears in the area as well (thankfully, we only saw 2 at a distance). This place has only been open for 3 years so it is somewhat of a 'well kept secret', but not likely for much longer. Each cabin has views of Pederson glacier, has hot water, a balcony with chairs to relax on, and none are 'second rate' although they are apparently building a "VIP" suite for investors.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank photowa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

A lovely lodge, much more than we expected due to the isolation. To get there we had a wonderful 4 hour ride with views of porpoises, seals, and many birds, including both kinds of puffins. Orcas were in the area but we didn't see them. A stop at the face of the Aialik Glacier with car-sized chunks falling off. We had never experienced the sounds of a glacier and were in awe. Then you are landed on a rocky beach and walk another 1/2 hr into a modern, clean, lovely lodge. Each individual cabin has a big picture window and a porch with a view of the lagoon, seals, otters, birds, bears (lots of bears) and the Pedersen Glacier. The staff was helpful and knew the area well. The canoe and kayak trips were fun. Our only complaint was that the hikes were short and too easy....they seem to be geared for a less able clientele at the moment. But we'd go back in a heartbeat.
The Wildlands folks are a quality operation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pennstatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews