We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodations”
Review of Kachina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kachina Lodge
Reviewed 6 January 2012

It was kind of like staying at a highway chain motel. Bed was a little mushy, but linens and bathroom were clean, and everything was operational (carpet spotted but clean). It was nice to be able to check in and use the El Tovar lobby with the same privileges as Tovar guests; I think guests at the neighboring Thunderbird Lodge are supposed to use the Bright Angel, where they check in. We overlooked the parking lot, but it really didn't matter as we got out for the sunrise and got plenty of Canyon viewing during the day. Skip the other rim restaurants--just eat at El Tovar. Better food, nicer looking and not much more expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank family5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 609 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a well run basic hotel on the rim of the grand canyon. The front desk is at the adjacent El Tovar hotel, which is quite grand, and when we visited, all decked out for Christmas including a 2 story christmas tree. Very festive. The Kachina Lodge is a short walk next door. Nothing special about the room, which I would have called average, except that the staff and service were so friendly and helpful, it raised my opinion of the place. And we had a view of the canyon from our room and the stars on a clear night. Can't beat that.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a canyon side room. FYI , there are no elevators, just stairs, so if climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Let's face it, if you are going to stay at the Grand Canyon you really want a view of it from your room. What could be more romantic than that?

The rooms themselves are bog-standard motel style rooms with nothing special and are pretty small. What is special though is the view from the window. The call it 'partial view' but ours had a perfect view. If you ask nicely and ask for a second floor room you might get a room as good as our was.

The dining choices are pretty ordinary at the grand canyon. After all it is basically a monopoly so unless you drive 7 miles back to the nearest town out of the park, you'll be eating there.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

So, I could give 4 stars because of the price and the actual room you get, since it's not a 5 stars accomodation, but be able to see the Canyon from your room and stay only 50 feet from the edge of the Canyon it's priceless. So, YES it is worth it.
And don't get me wrong. The room is very nice. A little bit smaller than other rooms I stayed in but with a great bed, nice towels, very clean and great condition bathroom. And my room had a air cond. also.
I still can't forget that I was able to wake up at 4:30am, walk just outside my room instead getting a car and see a beautiful sunsire at the Canyon. So, what else could I ask for??????????????????????????????????? I would stay there again, again, again......................................................

Room Tip: Room with a view! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabrielamagalhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Its location which is by the South Rim is simply awesome. Imagine waking up to a view of the Grand Canyon, it would be worth the price. Checking in & out have to be done at El Tovar which is a 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Remember to book a room facing the Grand Canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sllee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.7 km away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,666 reviews
0.1 km away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,050 reviews
0.7 km away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
9.8 km away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
9.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge

Address: 10 Albright Avenue, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: €173 - €335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kachina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Kachina Lodge Grand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing