We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Kept Secret”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the kitchen!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the kitchen!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
View from the kitchen!
The Milky Way and The Mountain Star - shot taken by visiting guest
The kitchen bar
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
Sunset Master
The Sunset Master
Sunset Master desk
Bistro with a view!
Firepit with a view!
The incredible night sky.  A 3-second exposure at 1am taken from south deck.
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view.
Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
An Elk bull visiting the front yard
A great day to ski out and ski in
The Mountain Star Shipwheel to help you set your course to adventure! :)
A mountain bluebird graces the deck railing
Moonrise over Saddle Mountain taken from east deck
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Go144218
1 review
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed 26 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

View from the porch tonight. We are staying in a complete “off the grid” home, powered by the sun and the wind. The water is hauled to the site and loaded into a cistern. A beautiful, well decorated, and full of plants home, with a loft and wraparound porch. Every detail has been with thought, and feel blessed to be apart of someone’s dream today. The owner is a photographer artist, and has his work displayed all over this casa! Thank you Rob Dutton for sharing this incredible place called the “Mountain Star”

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cole19800
Ortonville, Michigan
1 review
“Amazing place! ”
Reviewed 29 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

First....the property owner was very accommodating and really made us feel at home, we weren't treated like a customer. The location was amazing, the house was beautiful extremely clean and really made us feel comfortable and at home. I wish I could of stayed longer! Next time I'm back in town I will definitely be booking another weekend stay!

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destinati...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed 27 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I can't say enough about the house and wonderful time we had staying at Mountain Star Rob our host had everything we needed to plan our days he went about and beyond the house itself was very comfortable and cozy and the views of the mountains is something you can never get over we are looking forward to future visits at Mountain Star

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamsrollz
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Great Karma”
Reviewed 27 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed 3 wonderful nights at Rob's house. It was a perfect base for our exploration of the Grand Canyon, Flagstaff and surrounding areas. Rob met us at the home right on time and gave us the grand tour. He has a wonderful book of things to do and helpful materials all about the area. Quite better than any host we have had before. We were 2 couples, each bedroom was very comfortable with a private bath. WiFi worked great. The house is very clean and well equipped for cooking at home, playing games, watching DVD movies, enjoying the starry starry nights. Shampoo, soap, toilet paper, detergent etc. - all provided. The house has a very warm - positive energy feel from the moment you walk in. It is a private and happy place to be, especially after a long day of sightseeing and hiking. There are extra backpacks and flashlights and basically he has thought of everything you might need to borrow. We brought up some of our food, but there is a great Safeway about 30 minutes away in town so you can stock your fridge. It is a quiet, restful, safe place and I just wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks Rob!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigittel...
Mississauga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable, organized, spacious home with stunning views!”
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived at the beautiful Mountain Star, we felt at home and appreciated the personal note, flowers and message on the message board left by Rob the owner. It was the perfect location to stay to do day trips in the area. Some of our hikes and sights included Red mountain, Grand Canyon tour with All Star Grand Canyon tours (with amazing guide Chris McLuen) , Az trail, Sunset crater, Slide Rock in Sedona, Adobe Jack trail, Broken Arrow, Cathedral Rock, Templeton trail, Airport Vortex, and the Watchable wildlife trail 5 minutes from the house. We also took full advantage of the house and the amenities ( BBQ, washer dryer, dishwasher, cooler for day trips, games, Xbox, DVD’s etc.) We love that this home is powered by solar and wind and that it is so peaceful, comfortable, organized, spacious with stunning views.
We leave with so many amazing memories of this precious time spent with our teenage kids and we’ll surely plan on coming back soon!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.