We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phantom Ranch
Nearby Hotels
US$304
US$215
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$211
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$412
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yavapai Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
El Tovar Hotel(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maswik Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
302
95
9
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
95
9
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak dinnerstewcornbreadsouth kaibab trailbunk bedsfamily stylebright angel creekmule ridethe cantinafellow hikersbunk housetrekking poleschocolate cake for dessertin advancewake up calltop bunklong hike
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We did the mule ride and stayed overnight in a cabin at Phantom Ranch. We were absolutely overwhelmed by the services available for such a remote location... lights and extra power points in the cabins, a double bed, and a toilet and sink within our cabin - we were expecting a lot less! We did a couple of small walks and saw some mule deer, and some amazing sights. The dinner and breakfast were served family style, which is not our thing, and meant that I was left with a slightly rarer steak than I would normally eat, but the food was tasty and there was plenty of it. Overall, an incredible experience that I would recommend to everyone!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
6  Thank zanzibar138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We visited with a group of 20 (10 in a Group cabin: recommended); 4 gals in Womens, 6 guys in the Men's dorms. Stayed two nights. Breakfasts and dinner were acceptable (can you say BACON!! The best!). Lunches...maybe pack your own; and supplement with stuff you can buy at the canteen. The bagels were stale; and most of the lunch food was not all that nutritious; just calories.
Bathrooms shared by the 4 person cabins and group cabin had great showers; not so much in the dorms. (I was the 'coordinator'; so got to see it all!). The dorms got a 5am Mandatory wake up call each am; even if half of the dorm didn't get breakfast until 7am (so get a 4 person or Group cabin if you don't want to awaken at 5am!). Bring earplugs.
Bunks were comfortable enough; everything was clean enough. Cabins were plenty warm. Bring a headlamp/flashlight for night. You ARE staying in a 90year old facility; at the bottom of a huge hole!!
Service was friendly; but a bit 'militant'. I imagine they need to be the 'time police' due to the masses. Don't forget to tip them. They don't make much.
Postage was available to mail postcards.
The location was spectacular. For those only experiencing one day at the Canyon bottom, I would skip the River loop; and take the North Kaibab trail (assumiing you came down from the South Rim) as far as you wish; then turn around. It's an easy, flat hike along the canyon bottom, with a different view at every turn (go to RIbbon Falls if you have a few days down there to recover before the climb out unless you're in really great shape).
A big recommendation: spend more than a day at the bottom of the Canyon; so you can experience it; do some day hikes; and rest before the climb out (which cannot be underestimated!), Another suggestion: get a cabin.
The Rangers were super friendly (Emily especially); and helpful. You can check out books at the Ranger station; so Don't bother to pack in your own book. Plenty of decent reading there.
The mule duffel service was a God send for our group (and We TRAINED!! for 33 weekly hikes beforehand!). It was worth the money. Like I said, Don't underestimate the Canyon!
Water was tasty enough; and no need to worry about digestive problems from the water (maybe gall bladder/digestive issues from fatty foods, but not the water!).
In November, we had terrific weather, No scorpions, No snakes, No bugs, didn't even see mice! Just a cute grey fox, some cute birds, a dozen mule deer; and the Aspens and Cottonwoods in peak yellow colors! Mother Nature was with us; as well as the 'Good Weather Fairy'!
One last word: plan to pack out your trash.
All in all, we had a fabulous trip; and would highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MamaMona01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We hiked down Nov. 8 and left on the 10th. Snow at the top and dry on the bottom. Temps were 40's - 50's. PERFECT hiking conditions, except for the mud after we left the snow portion on the SK trail, but we passed the section quickly. We stayed in the dorms as a cabin was not to be; however, it did not lessen the experience of enjoying the bottom of that great big whole in the ground. The dorm was kept clean and all us gals were very considerate of each other. My hubby managed in the dorms as well, but he would have much preferred a cabin. You are hardly in your dorm at all, so bascially,we felt that it didn't matter much in the end. We ate 2 dinners. The steak dinner was okay. The stew dinner was excellent. Breakfast was perfect. Lots to eat and lots of fun to eat family style too. The lunches have a lot to be desired, but at least we didn't have to think about schlepping too much food with us from the rim; not sure what they could do to improve the lunch. The overall experience is so unique and wonderful. We are not campers and this gave us the opportunity to relish being at the bottom without any care in the world. I just wish it wasn't the most dificult reservation in the world to snag!! We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gailcharisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We hiked down & up the south rim (South Kaibab down & Bright Angel up) at the end of Sept. I'm glad we didn't do it any earlier in the season b/c when we got to the bottom it was HOT! (Mid 90's full sun)
We stayed one night at Phantom Ranch in Cabin #10. We lucked into a cabin vs the dorm. I called 13 months out & was actually the 1st call of the day so maybe that had something to do with it.
We did the 6:30 hikers stew dinner (which was good) and actually bought 2 lunches (1 for when we got down the 1st day ~ which tasted pretty darn good after hiking down) & 1 for the way back up.
Hopefully you're lucky enough to get a room here b/c it's worth it! What a way to see the Grand Canyon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We are from the UK and had planned the rim to rim walk from North to South for almost a year. After initially failing 13 months ahead to get through on the phone to Xanterra to book a bed at Phantom Ranch, we applied for backcountry permits a few months later. Shortly after that I made a speculative call to Xanterra to see if there had been any cancellations for Phantom Ranch and we were in luck! We got a 4 bedded cabin, #10, to ourselves. To be honest, without the cabin bed, the space in the cabin to relax, recuperate in air con : ) we would have had a much much more arduous rim to rim hike with larger rucksacks including tent etc. Having the "luxury" (and I deliberately use that word strongly, given the location and temperatures involved in the inner canyon) of the cabin made our trip. The cabin had air con which worked really well, a flushing toilet, a sink with drinking water (we checked it was potable), and beds to stretch out on. We really appreciated having the cabin to just the two of us as we had loads of space to repack our bags, pack soaking wet shirts, wristbands, etc into sandwich bags for the ascent up the South Kaibab (far more scenic ridge walk and interesting than the bright angel ascent, and to be honest not too bad at all given an early 05:20 start - we reached the top near Yaki Point before 11:00am). Lots of internet reviews say don't do it - I am glad we did, but be fit and well prepared and complete it before lunchtime otherwise the heat will make minced meat of you.
The 6:30 evening meal was Hiker's Stew and was brilliant, served with soup, bread, salad and chocolate cake for dessert. But - the breakfast next morning will remain in our memories for a long time, absolutely fantastic. French bread, syrup, bacon, peaches (yes peaches which went really well with the bacon!). Our only regret is that we were so busy sorting our electrolyte drinks (Mountain Fuel Extreme Fuel from the UK) and wet clothing for the next day that we missed the evening ranger talk. Having said that, preparation was vital for an early start and succesful ascent without issue on the S Kaibab. Phantom Ranch gifts were available from inside the main building, and the shower block had towels and shower gel available. All in all a great place to stay which makes the rim to rim easier than camping.
R Laird

Room Tip: Ask for Cabin #10, the air con worked a treat : ) A cabin is a real advantage over the dorms, as you don't have to put up with snoring!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hikerlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews