We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
118
62
31
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
62
31
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold panning dall sheep fly fishing the bus dog sled demonstration long ride duplex cabin natural habitat daily activities hiking guide pan for gold park entrance three nights alaskan range blueberry hill denali mountain remote area
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

After a very long bus ride, this roadhouse was a site for sore eyes, legs, hips, etc. The staff was very welcoming and we got settled in our cabin quickly. You are literally in the middle of nowhere so do not expect any electronic luxuries. The cabins are comfy but minimally appointed. There are plenty of activities which are reviewed each evening and you can sign up for what suits you. There are also evening programs if you want to partake. I did hiking and gold panning as well as exploring the grounds. We thought this place was great and were so glad we got to experience this remote area of Denali. We also thought the food was quite good. Not a lot of choices but what was offered was good. We especially liked the breakfast selections - the scones were awesome. There were families and folks of all ages enjoying this remote wonderful place. I highly recommend a Katnisha adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ljtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

What a great place! We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day visit . The bus trip out was amazingly fact filled and very enjoyable. The stay at the lodge could not have been better. All of the staff were first class and truly made us feel at home. The guides we had for our hikes were incredibly knowledgable but at the same time were always looking out for our well being. I liked the fact we always felt we were learning about the area and its rich history. The food was good and the dining experience fun. Anyone going to Denali needs to spend the extra time to travel this far into the national park . It is well worth the time and money. this was a perfect trip for us and we would highly recommend it to anyone, especially those looking to experience Alaska. it was fun!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Great experience staying in the Denali National Park. Beats travelling on a day trip. No TV. Wonderful. Accommodation was in cabins which were very comfortable. Only down side was lighting could have been much better to enable one to read without getting g eye strain.
All meals were included and were quite good. Hikes, fishing, gold panning all included with qualified guides.
Wonderful view of Mount Denali on a clear day from Wonderlake within walking distance of the Roadhouse. The journey into the Riadhouse on their bus is a great experience spotting and stopping to see the wildlife along the way. Highly recommend for someone who is looking for somewhere a little more remot

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Astinablue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The bus ride in and out is fantastic. Great driver/guides Christine and Kirsty provided a wonderful running commentary.

Considering the location, the accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious. Restaurant was very poor - set menu with no choices and served "family style" which is OK unless the first people served are suffering from colds!. I don't like poultry which was a problem because it was featured in most dinners and lunches. One night they offered a pork tenderloin which was so tough it was inedible. It's takes real creativity to mess up pork tenderloin! If you choose the vegetarian option, you get the same meal without the protein. Apparently the only vegetable they serve is kale. Couldn't even get plain vanilla ice cream for desert! Bar snacks consisted of cubes of cheddar and jack cheese with a few crackers. Salads were OK despite weird blueberry dressing one night. Dining was not exactly what we expected.

Considering the $500 per person per night charge, they could do a whole lot better but without any real competition at the end of a 90 mile gravel road, there probably isn't much incentive.

In general, it was a memorable experience, especially with good weather for all four days, but a pity about the catering.

Room Tip: Great location - bring your own food!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank impeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We will never forget our stay at the Kantishna Roadhouse for it was really one of the highlights of our Alaska trip. First we were really annoyed facing the long travel to go there but after a few minutes with the incredible Kirsty time was flying by. Luckily we had only 18 people in the bus and Kirsty kept us entertained during the whole journey. Unbelievable what she knows and what we saw. The roadhouse is not a five star hotel - surely you know that when you book it - but it is cosy with a breathtaking nature around you. Food was great, our tours with Mary and Josh (a pleasure for the kids being allowed to step in every muddy puddle on the way) great fun and we really enjoyed the place. Waking up early on the last day was first awful but with a clear blue sky an full sight of Denali with an amazing alpenglow we never have been happier for the early hour. A moment we won't forget.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews