We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
118
62
31
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
62
31
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold panningdall sheepfly fishingthe busdog sled demonstrationlong rideduplex cabinnatural habitatdaily activitieshiking guidepan for goldpark entrancethree nightsalaskan rangeblueberry hilldenali mountainremote area
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at the Kantishna Roadhouse for 3 nights in mid-August and have no regrets. True, it is expensive but we may not make it to Alaska again so we splurged. The bus trip in with Kirstan was amazing. Kirstan has an amazing amount of knowledge about the park and its wildlife and she shared it all in addition to spotting wildlife. She gave our bus full of people plenty of time to view and take pictures and still got us to the lodge in time for a fantastic meal. The food was great. Yes, sound transmits through the log walls (which we have experienced before) but our neighbors were quiet and considerate. The atmosphere is very friendly and laid-back, the staff is knowledgeable. The guests all appeared very happy and like minded. We did two hikes with Kelly, whose enthusiasm was catching; the dog sled demo with Emmit far exceeded our expectations; and the gold panning was fun. The only fault was the breakfast which was very standard with no meat offerings and cool scrambled eggs. The small bar was a terrific place to hang out before dinner and share experiences with the other guests. If you go, go for at least 3 nights to be able to experience everything and seriously look at your budget to see if you can fit in the flight-seeing from the neighboring airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

While the price is a shock, it is understandable, given the remote location and the short season. The 90 mile bus ride is more of a safari than a transportation. Our driver, Gary, was a very effective wildlife spotter and the scenery is stunning. One major advantage of staying at the Roadhouse is that the return trip starts at 6:15 am and is first bus until at least the halfway point, allowing a better view of the more shy wildlife, who disappear with the traffic. The guided hikes that my wife and I took, were world class with few other hikers. Each morning's hike selections are graded by difficulty and are timed to return for the sled dog demo. The hotel staff is mainly young college students, although the bar is run by John, a veteran of 16 seasons with many stories. The only downside is the food. The pork dinner was very tough and the buffet breakfast had no breakfast meats. While the cost of transportation is high, it costs the same to transport a high quality cut of meat as a poor quality cut. My rating is 2 stars for the food and 5+ for everything else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We took the bus 90 miles into Denali to reach the end of the road. Our bus driver Kristen was simply amazing and had amazing skill at spotting wildlife. the ride is long but well worth it. We saw all of the big 5! even saw a mother bear with 2 cubs. Kantishna is located at the end of the road and when you stay here they provide all the meals. Also available is gold panning, sled dog demosntrations, guided hikes, bikes. Can get cool at night so bring a good jacket. We did not have a warm enough jacket which was needed on the evening hikes. During the day, mosquitoes can be a nuisance. Nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Kantishna Roadhouse is beautifully situated deep in Denali National Park. The staff is great, the food is good, and the cabins are okay. However, I'm stunned at the price. Truly unbelievable! I would rather have stayed at a more moderately priced lodge.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank jaba2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I were originally booked at the Northface Lodge, just a short distance from the Kantishna Roadhouse. However, our independant travel agent really screwed up and never made the full deposit to the Northface Lodge, so we scrambled to find a new place to stay. Word travels fast in Alaska and by the time I phoned the Kantishna Roadhouse, they already knew of our plight and were holding a room. Fantastic!

Turns out, we think we lucked out. The Roadhouse is really laid back, with lovely grounds, good food, and great hikes. Our cabin was large and comfortable, although the wall separating our room from the adjoining one was paper thin. Fortunately, our friends were next door and we all agreed to be quiet.

It's possible the North Face Lodge offers a more personal experience, but when we rode our mountain bikes over to the North Face Lodge to look around, we decided we liked the Roadhouse better.

If you're taking the train to Denali, we would recommend both the Kantishna Roadhouse at the end of the park road, and its sister property, the Denali River Cabins near the park entrance. We spent one night at the River Cabins and were impressed by the incredible scenery and casual ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonO_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews