We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

What a great place! Our room was in the single story section of the ranch, with the patio and two great rocking chairs overlooking the lawn and pool. he room was very clean with plenty of room for the four of us in two queens. The staff could not have been more friendly, each one seemed to be treating us to their home. This was our first trip to Death Valley for four 60 year old native Californians, we will return. We didn't take our little dog on this trip, only service dogs are allowed in the ranch rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanapapa2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    2,466
    1,239
    400
    208
See reviews for
1,460
2,907
121
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had a very nice room at the Ranch. The place is quiet. The onsite restaurants are not bad, but are over priced. There are not any other options in the middle of Death Valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller70029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Wonderful resort but pricey. Be prepared for lots of stairs on many levels or a bit of a walk for the elevator. King bed too hard. The dining area and the pool area make up for any shortcomings though especially at sunset!

Room Tip: Rooms 108 to 112 overlook the balcony and magnificent sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caburpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch, not the much pricier Inn that's a mile up the road. We stayed on the second floor motel-type room toward the end of the road, near the riding stables and overlooking the golf course. It was quiet and clean, the rooms seemed to be very well tended. There is no elevator to get to the second floor so get a ground floor room if that is a problem.

The entire Ranch is walkable, and it feels good to walk after the 2 hour drive from Las Vegas. Make sure you get your gas before you get into the national park (It's almost twice the going rate at the Furnace Creek Ranch gas station).

We golfed 9 holes, with rented clubs, and even managed to lose two balls into the water. Who knew you could do that? Overall, the Ranch was fine, the spring fed swimming pool superb, the steaks wonderful, if pricey, and the temps very moderate in mid-February. Stop by there. You'll like it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnInPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We booked a cabin at Furnace Creek and were glad we chose this particular option among the limited choices available. Furnace Creek Inn is reviewed here under the same title, but it should have a separate listing - it's a completely separate place and much more expensive and upscale. That said, we were glad we chose a cabin over a place by the pool and the grass because it was quieter there, and for us the point was to "get away" out into nature, not to hear other people at the pool or the tennis courts. Plus I really enjoyed my early morning stroll down to the end of the short road which terminated in the palm tree grove, where I saw a coyote one morning and lots of birds another.

The cabin was very small and basic, and more like a motel room than an attractive log cabin would be, but it served our needs fine. We especially enjoyed sitting on the front patio with our coffee and tea in the morning or with a beer in the evening. The coffee maker and hair dryer in the room were much appreciated.

Room Tip: Cabins are very small, but are in the quieter, less social area of Furnace Creek. For us the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzanneJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
15 reviews
15.0 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,751 reviews
0.0 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing