We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice. Request AC room. Bring earplugs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panamint Springs Resort
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This review takes into account the remote location and incredibly harsh conditions with which the Panamint Springs has to contend. The term 'resort' is a misnomer, but you will find a clean and quaintly charming motel in an ideal location for exploring Death Valley. The staff were particularly friendly and eager to share their knowledge of the area. Dinner was actually pretty good considering where we were. Breakfast wasn't great and you don't get much for $10. There is no pool, which is a shame as a dip would have really hit the spot. In the hot months make sure you request one of the handful of rooms with AC when booking. The swamp cooling system will get the temperature from 120 to the 80s, but you'll need the extra AC to get into the more comfortable 70s. If you are a light sleeper my biggest piece of advice is to bring earplugs because both cooling systems are very loud and you might not get much sleep without them. The gas here is slightly more expensive than the Chevron at Furnace Creek and much more than outside the park. A few more tips: if you enter the park from the west, pull over and have a look at the Joshua tree 'forest' at elevations above 4000 feet, it's quite something. At night look up at the stars--Death Valley displays one of the most fantastic night skies I have ever seen. In conclusion, if you are fine with basic accommodation this is a good choice, and apart from the 5 star luxury resort at Furnace Creek (which is obviously way more expensive) the other options in Death valley don't look much better. We would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your kind and honest review! We hope you will return to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Panamint Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 324 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

I've been traveling to Death Valley for years, and I've had a couple good experiences at Panamint Springs. I camped there a couple years ago (winter) on my way down into the valley. Last week, I spent a night in the motel, so I got to know the facilities better. I had a really nice time!

The staff clearly take great pride in what they do. As they'll be glad to tell you in the general store, the restaurant's beer selection is fantastic (even by Northern Californian standards, living near some incredible liquor stores). The restaurant also had fair prices for cocktails, like their "signature" prickly pear margarita. Prices can often be very high within Death Valley, since goods need to be transported long distances before being served to customers, so the food and drink prices were lower than expected.

We and our dog stayed in a pet-friendly room. The carpet looked like it had been very recently replaced--everything was spotless. The duvet cover also looked brand-new. There were some brown washcloths (next to all the other towels and washcloths, which were white) and a note asking that for makeup removal, we use the brown washcloths rather than stain their other ones. Then, along with the toiletries, they provided little packets of makeup-removing towelettes! I was very impressed. The motel is old, and it's in a place where it's probably hard for them to receive services, and the staff is clearly putting a great deal of thought into their guests' experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you noticed some of the little touches. I hope you will return again in the future! All the best...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were expecting this place to be in the back of beyond and knew they had no TV or pool, we had mixed feelings about it after the stay, the staff were very friendly but the room needed a lot of attention as already has been commented on by others, so many rules and "you will be charged if you.............." The air con couldn't be adjusted and was on all the time which was terribly noisy.On the whole taking in to account the location it was OK but still feel the price rather high.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

We are very sorry to hear that you had mixed feelings about your stay here. We are the least expensive accommodation in Death Valley National Park, therefore are rooms are more rustic that the other accommodations. We are remodeling each room as we can, which will include a new vent system for the cooling system which can be closed by the guest. Thank you for your review and honesty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This "hotel" is clearly playing on the fact that it's one of only 3 in Death Valley. No TV (no big loss) No pool and a bizarre check in (in the gas station!) are all slightly annoying but no big thing. BUT the rooms are a shack with paper walls, the shower is a hose hanging from the wall and the bar/restaurant area had a swarm of cockroaches appear from the wall whilst we were eating. The staff were very good which makes me wonder they would work in this dive that clearly expects money for old rope!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotttaylor1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We do not advertise our lodging as being a hotel. We make it clear that it is a motel and the rooms are very basic. We also disclose on our website that the motel rooms were built in 1937, therefore the walls are a little on the thin side.

Our check-in is at our General Store, which also sells gas, snacks, and gift items. We only have 15 motel rooms, which does not justify having a reservation desk solely for check-ins. There are no rooms that have a shower such as you describe: "the shower is a hose hanging from the wall", so I'm not sure how to respond to that. All of the rooms have a normal shower with a normal shower head coming out of the wall, not a hose. Many people enjoy our rooms because they are rustic with character. Our prices are the least expensive in the park because our rooms are the most basic. Our prices are very reasonable when you consider our location and operating costs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just happened upon this place while driving through Death Valley, NP. Wow!!!! We had the best time....got to know the manager for the evening! He made us feel right at home!!!! Our room was soooooooooooooooo cute!!!! The manager made us feel right at home....great meal, great drinks....LOVED THE PLACE!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westernstargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review! We try to make everyone feel at home. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
27.2 km away
The Oasis at Death Valley
The Oasis at Death Valley
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,526 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
17 reviews
41.4 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.4 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
251 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Highway 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: €32 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panamint Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Panamint Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing