We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panamint Springs Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Ranch at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
US$365
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$309/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Inn at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
US$276
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amargosa Opera House and Hotel(Death Valley Junction)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Furnace Creek Campground(Death Valley National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (753)
    Filter reviews
    753 results
    Traveller rating
    104
    205
    187
    108
    149
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    104
    205
    187
    108
    149
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbeer selectiondarwin fallstent cabinspizzarestaurant barfront porchfull hookupslong drivemilky wayrooms are basicexploring death valleynational parkdesertballaratsolitudewildernesssignal
    Filter
    Updating list...
    377 - 382 of 753 reviews
    Reviewed 13 July 2012

    I've been traveling to Death Valley for years, and I've had a couple good experiences at Panamint Springs. I camped there a couple years ago (winter) on my way down into the valley. Last week, I spent a night in the motel, so I got to know the facilities better. I had a really nice time!

    The staff clearly take great pride in what they do. As they'll be glad to tell you in the general store, the restaurant's beer selection is fantastic (even by Northern Californian standards, living near some incredible liquor stores). The restaurant also had fair prices for cocktails, like their "signature" prickly pear margarita. Prices can often be very high within Death Valley, since goods need to be transported long distances before being served to customers, so the food and drink prices were lower than expected.

    We and our dog stayed in a pet-friendly room. The carpet looked like it had been very recently replaced--everything was spotless. The duvet cover also looked brand-new. There were some brown washcloths (next to all the other towels and washcloths, which were white) and a note asking that for makeup removal, we use the brown washcloths rather than stain their other ones. Then, along with the toiletries, they provided little packets of makeup-removing towelettes! I was very impressed. The motel is old, and it's in a place where it's probably hard for them to receive services, and the staff is clearly putting a great deal of thought into their guests' experience.

    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Sara L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

    Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you noticed some of the little touches. I hope you will return again in the future! All the best...

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 July 2012

    We were expecting this place to be in the back of beyond and knew they had no TV or pool, we had mixed feelings about it after the stay, the staff were very friendly but the room needed a lot of attention as already has been commented on by others, so many rules and "you will be charged if you.............." The air con couldn't be adjusted and was on all the time which was terribly noisy.On the whole taking in to account the location it was OK but still feel the price rather high.

    • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank witcheshouse
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

    We are very sorry to hear that you had mixed feelings about your stay here. We are the least expensive accommodation in Death Valley National Park, therefore are rooms are more rustic that the other accommodations. We are remodeling each room as we can, which will include a new vent system for the cooling system which can be closed by the guest. Thank you for your review and honesty.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 June 2012

    This "hotel" is clearly playing on the fact that it's one of only 3 in Death Valley. No TV (no big loss) No pool and a bizarre check in (in the gas station!) are all slightly annoying but no big thing. BUT the rooms are a shack with paper walls, the shower is a hose hanging from the wall and the bar/restaurant area had a swarm of cockroaches appear from the wall whilst we were eating. The staff were very good which makes me wonder they would work in this dive that clearly expects money for old rope!!

    • Stayed: June 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Scotttaylor1803
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

    We do not advertise our lodging as being a hotel. We make it clear that it is a motel and the rooms are very basic. We also disclose on our website that the motel rooms were built in 1937, therefore the walls are a little on the thin side.

    Our check-in is at our General Store, which also sells gas, snacks, and gift items. We only have 15 motel rooms, which does not justify having a reservation desk solely for check-ins. There are no rooms that have a shower such as you describe: "the shower is a hose hanging from the wall", so I'm not sure how to respond to that. All of the rooms have a normal shower with a normal shower head coming out of the wall, not a hose. Many people enjoy our rooms because they are rustic with character. Our prices are the least expensive in the park because our rooms are the most basic. Our prices are very reasonable when you consider our location and operating costs.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 June 2012

    Just happened upon this place while driving through Death Valley, NP. Wow!!!! We had the best time....got to know the manager for the evening! He made us feel right at home!!!! Our room was soooooooooooooooo cute!!!! The manager made us feel right at home....great meal, great drinks....LOVED THE PLACE!!!!!

    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank westernstargal
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

    Thank you so much for your very kind review! We try to make everyone feel at home. We hope to see you again soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 June 2012

    Wife and I stayed here for a night to break up the long journey we were making through Death Valley. It wasn't a particularly cheap stay. They haven't tried particularly hard with this place and they probably feel they dont have too, because there are not many other places to choose from.. and after a long day out in the sun and driving you almost feel that any where will do...

    We stayed in one of the rooms around the back and it was plesant enough.. First impressions u feel very underwhelmed, but once u settle in its more than adequate.. The room is not very large, but is comfortable and the shower was great.

    The only thing about the the rooms that will probably bother you if your a light sleeper is that the walls between each room is paper thin... we could here the room next doors conversations in its entirity and also what i first thought was a bear and jumped out the bed to check, but turned out someone in the next room was snoring really loudly.(My wife kindly informed me that there are no bears in the desert, whoops)

    The restaurant out front is nice enough, of course they charge a bit more than most places particularly for breakfast..but what you gonna do. One hidden gem is that they have a suprisingly wide selection of beer from across the globe as well as the States. This helped get us off to sleep and funnily enough we couldn't hear through the walls once wed had a couple.

    the food was good too, although it did take a little while to get served and the table cleaned, as there are no other places to go everyone on camp and in rooms tries to get in and while away the wee hours.

    All in all, the place did its job, i'd stay there again if i was passing through the death valley..

    It could be so much more with a little TLC and they could make this place really special, its a cross between "where else u gonna go" and "its actually not that bad" If they spent a little bit of money on some soundproofing, some new linen, this place with its views etc would be lovely, but like i said previously,i think they know that there is nowhere else to go so they've given you the bare minimum.

    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Lovinit4
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

    Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. Although our motel is more expensive than similar facilities in the city, we are the least expensive lodging in Death Valley National Park. Our prices are due to our high operating costs, as we operate off grid.

    Our motel was built in the 1930's, which is why the walls are very thin. We do disclose this fact on our website so that people can make an informed decision. We also ask our guests to respect quiet time between 10pm and 7am. Although we would love to fix this problem, we would have to tear down the walls and build new ones. This would require a great deal of money and time for the rooms to be offline. We hope to resolve the issue sometime in the future when we have the resources to do so.

    We have put a lot of time and effort into maintaining and improving Panamint Springs. We have put a lot of money and resources into the improvements. Improvements include: all new queen mattresses, new duvet and duvet covers in all the rooms, extra large heavyweight bath towels, 4 recently remodeled bathrooms and 2 recently remodeled bedrooms.

    We hope you will visit us again in the future! Thank you for staying with us.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews