We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and a good bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panamint Springs Resort
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I liked this place. It is a bit outside of Death Valley NP. If you stay a few days and drive in you will put a few miles on your vehicle and the gas here is pricy. However the drive in is spectacular. The rooms are clean and basic, no TV or phone. The is a good little restaurant and bar with a spectacular view from the veranda. All the places in the park were more expensive and from some of the TripAdvisor reviews not as good. It is definitely worth the inconvenience and the extra drive time, if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful and kind review. We really appreciate that you took the time to post this.

We are actually located inside Death Valley National Park, 10 miles inside the western border. We are not in Death Valley, but the Panamint Valley, which is one of several valleys in DVNP.

We hope you will visit us again soon! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Panamint Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 331 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our first visit to Death Valley. We stayed in Panamint Springs for two nights on 20 and 21 April 2012. It was a convenient stop after the long drive on the Friday from the south, as well as leaving early on the Sunday monring to get home. The first night we had the cottage (#16), and the second night a 3-bed, single room (#14). We never heard any of the neighbours. Both the rooms were clean and cool, and much better than what we expected after we saw the outside of the buildings, which were a bit old. The staff were helpful and friendly. Special attention was given with small things in the cottage (e.g how the towels were folded and water on the table). We had the buffet breakfast at the restaurant one morning, which was made up of cerials, orange juice, bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs, which helped us through the day. There isn't a swimming pool on the premises. The general store at the gas station next door had awesome scoops of ice cream. We were happy with the service we got and the price we paid.

Room Tip: The loose-standing cottage (#16) has a 2-person bench on the porch, as well as a TV and a living roo...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bjbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We really appreciate it and hope you will visit us again in the future! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We got the last available room here. The alternative is to either bunk outside the park (long way away) or pitch a tent across the main street. This is a motel-style place. You park right in front of the room door. You go to the gas station/convenience store next door to check in. Everything is basic but works fine. It gets very windy here. So, adjust your expectation about your room having sand on the floor and all that. The location can't be beat if you come in via the east entrance. It's quick to get to various must-see sights and the Panamint Mountains are gorgeous!

We had dinner at the restaurant across from the rooms. You pay a few bucks more for everything here. Again, people need to adjust their expectations according to the location and situation. Sit outside and watch the sunset. It is beautiful. Also, I think it is only fair to review base on variables that the management is able to control. They cannot control the sand that the wind blows into the room nor the noise other inconsiderate occupants made. If the noise is from their own housekeeping, it'll be valid.

We will definitely stay here again on our future trips.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jawayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We really appreciate that you took the time to post this. Yes, the housekeepers are constantly battling the wind and sand and dust. We do our best, but sometimes the wind winds :)

We hope you will visit us again in the future! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Panamint Springs Resort is an old style western establishment. There are a limited number of rooms and camping areas. We stayed in one of the rooms which was clean, comfortable and had all that we needed. This is not the Ritz but perfect if you are in Death Valley to enjoy the natural world. Meals on the porch had wonderful views and were great fun as each night we managed to meet up with other people and share adventures. The food was basic but very good. Actually, I probably had the best pizza and burger for a long time. All of the staff work at all jobs and live here. They freely share their knowledge of the area and make you feel like family.We were not bothered by noise from neighbors, but may have been one of the loud ones as we ooed and awed at the stars, birds, and osprey that took up residence. Yes, it was not cheap, but nothing in the middle of a desert is!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lukethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it. We hope you will come visit us again soon! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at Panamint Springs April 6-8 and enjoyed our stay. Our room was comfortable and clean. We had no issues with noise except for the early riser next door that kept going out to their car. The staff at the bar/restaurant were cheerful and enjoyable. The price of the food is high for what you get. Our first night I ordered a burger and if it weren't for the fact I was super hungry I would have sent it back. It was dry, burned and like shoe leather. I was even still hungry after I chocked it down. I would go back in a heartbeat but I do wish their cook would improve.

Room Tip: Get a room without an adjoining room and fill up before you get to the park.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillandLisaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate that you took the time to post it.

I am very sorry that the food you ordered in our restaurant was sub-standard. We have a bit of a problem finding good staff in such a remote location. I think you may have stayed here during a period of time when we had a poor staff member. We work with our staff regularly to make sure they are maintaining our standards. We currently have a wonderful cooking staff.

We hope you will return in the future! Please email me and let me know you are coming if you do. We will take care of you! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
27.2 km away
The Oasis at Death Valley
The Oasis at Death Valley
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,531 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
17 reviews
41.4 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.4 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
262 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Highway 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: €29 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panamint Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Panamint Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing