We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
60
82
39
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
82
39
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tent camping picnic tables bathrooms were clean dump station flush toilets visitor center one night coin operated strong winds parallel park hook ups heard coyotes the loop amazing views close proximity views of the mountains water bottles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2022 via mobile

Campsite was nice and spacious even though on a slope. Close to Visitor Center to take any of the tours of Wind Cave. Bathrooms were clean but there are no showers and there was nothing to dry your hands. Very quiet at night. Would definitely recommend staying here. We were in the tents only section.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brianf499
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 July 2022 via mobile

We had site #19, which had electric and was on the outer loop with amazing views. There is no water or sewer hookups and it's basically a pull thru right off the road. The rangers put on a fantastic program at night at the amphitheater where you can learn about the park, and then see the night sky and stars thru a telescope. The ranger even air dropped a picture he took while we were standing there. Trails aren't too far from the campground. There is a lodge with souvenirs and the visitors center also has tons of souvenirs and rangers to help. Wish we had one more day here, the kids loved the Badlands!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mommy1Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 October 2021 via mobile

Fantastic location. Good showers. Lots of game. Laundromat in Wall, clean easy inexpensive. Lodge restaurant is a DUMP do not even think about it. The area is fascinating. Door hike good but go early to avoid the busses. Windy so nail your tent down well

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peacethroughtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 September 2021

It is always a privilege to camp within an amazing national park such as Badlands, but don't expect all the perks & comforts of campgrounds you may have visited on the way. But here you are surrounded by the unique peaks and mounds and are literally minutes from spectacular trails in the heart of the park. How very special to go to sleep & wake up to that, especially on a clear night with a million stars overhead. However- know before you go- not all sites have electricity, no water hook-ups, of course no sewer. (There is a place you can fill your tank as well as a dump station.) And if you have an RV, you do not back in, but sort of parallel park on the side of the loop road. Your door may be opening out directly onto the road. And if you have a large rig, you may not be able to fit it in. Also, due to the close proximity to the valuable and fragile grasslands and the unrelenting wind, absolutely no fires are permitted, not even charcoal grills. That's the best policy- but if tent camping, plan your menu accordingly. RV-ers can always cook inside, no problem. Also note- showers are coin operated so don't forget to have your quarters ready! Rest rooms get a lot of use and need a bit of an update. Picnic tables are shaded, but there are few trees and sites are very close together and offer little privacy, especially for tent campers. Now having said all that, we still loved our time there. Abundant birds, the sky, the fresh air, silent deer wandering through, the stars, and most of all the scenery 360 degrees around you- it's incomparable!

Date of stay: August 2021
1  Thank Birmingham_ALKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 August 2021

This was a basic campsite. There were flush toilets and hot water, always a big plus to any tent campers. During our 2-day stay, everyone in the surrounding area went to bed before 9PM and started getting up/packing up from 4:30 AM onward. They all spoke in loud voices ("Are we mixing the dirty laundry?" one woman asked only feet from where I was trying to sleep,) and had either eaten breakfast or left by the time we rolled out of our tents at 6:00 AM. One family had two small children, one of which was crying continuously while she sat drinking coffee, like he had been awakened far too early and needed a nap. We had learned to double-secure the tents by then, which was a good thing at this exposed campsite without any trees or means of a wind-break. A storm went through the first night, with strong winds. We kept both the side flaps of the tents halfway open to create airflow, which worked really well. Definitely hard ground, but we had good quality pads beneath our sleeping bags. The campsite is right at the entrance to the park. We didn't hear any traffic noise, however.

Room tip: This is a campsite for RVs, trailers, tents, etc.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Oregonwriter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews