We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
299
26
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
26
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskariega rivergame reserveboat ridenarina trogonbird lifesmall boatsouth africalion cubswonderful experiencetwo nightsclose rangeamazing dayshis passionour night stayexceeded our expectationsknowledgeable guidesense of humour
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We have had a marvelous day. We did the boat, game drive, lunch and boat tour and enjoyed every minute of it. Our guid Chris gave very good explanations on everything and he could find the animals during the gamedrive. The beautifull nature and diversity of animals (birds, lions, rhino's, giraffes and many more) we saw was overwelming. Also the lunch provided was good. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back some day. I can recommend everybody to make a visit to Sibuya Game Reserve.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi Paul S -Thank you for the lovely Review - we're always happy to hear that guests have had a 'marvellous day' & hopefully have made memories to treasure for a lifetime. Chris is passionate about his life-style & loves to share his knowledge so will very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with him. We hope that next time you'll return to experience the true ambience of our little piece of paradise by spoiling yourselves with a couple of nights in one of our Camps or Bush Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes from Carol, Chris & the rest of the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Sibuya is an excellent area to look for lions, elephants, giraffes, rhinos and many many more animals. And to find them! Thanks to our passionated and sympathic senior-ranger Kobus we 've had an once-in-a-lifetime experience .
The accommodation (bungalows) are luxious; the atmosphere in the restaurant and pool is nice. "Een baie mooie ondervinding".

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Koen-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Greetings Koen-Maria
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your 'Sibuya Experience' at our lovely Bush Lodge with Kobus. Saying That he provided you with a 'once in a life-time experience' is wonderful praise - he'll be delighted at your kind words. Thank you! The refreshing pool has been extremely popular lately as it's been so very hot - 41 degrees in the shade yesterday! We hope one day you'll return - we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes from Carol & the Bush Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Well what can we say about Sibuya! We are holidaying South Africa for 2 weeks and this has been the highlight of our stay in this beautiful country. From arriving to leaving the whole experience was truly wonderful! We stayed at the river camp where all the staff were lovely and so helpful. The food (especially the impala steak) was good quality and well presented. Our accommodation although classed as a tent was perfect for the surroundings. All our game drives were superb with our ranger Scott. His enthusiasm for his job and animal conversation is something Sibuya should be proud of.

We can only say thank-you so much for making our time with you a memory of a lifetime.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Compass802808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi Mark.Nina - What a great Review! Thank you! It's so rewarding when we get such open appreciation for what we strive to achieve. To be the hightlight of your visit to SA is high praise indeed! Scotty will be over the moon at the lovely comments ...he's so dedicated to his life-style & has gone from strength to strength during his time here at Sibuya. We admire his efforts tremendously & are supporting him in furthering his conservation studies. Please enjoy your memories & one day hopefully you'll return to re-live them - 'Sibuya' means 'We will return!' ...so you never know! Wishing you happy days & more unforgettable memories. Carol, Scott & the River Camp Team team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in the forest camp, our accommodation was described as a tent, I suppose it had canvas walls, but also a thatched roof, en suite bathroom and balcony, it was very luxurious. Our meals were delicious with a good selection to please everyone, our ranger Daniel, was extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna and his driving was something else. He delighted in setting up mid drive refreshment stops in the most fantastic locations, he was a fun person to be with. We had 2 game drives each day, one at 6am the other at 4pm, and we saw 4 of the big 5 in 2 days. The support staff, Meghan, Dylan and Welcome, the chef, were great, we were treated like family. It was a great experience, We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: all rooms are identical, some closer to the main lodge, no TV or WIFI
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Greetings vap88 - What a wonderfully rewarding Review - thank you!
We’re glad that you enjoyed your time with Daniel & the rest of the team at Forest Camp & that you had a good time making memories to treasure. We do our very best to give our guests an informal but informed & personalized stay so are very happy that you appreciated their efforts. They’re all passionate about their life-style so would really have enjoyed sharing it. You realise of course that you're now part of the 'Global Sibuya Family'!
We hope one day that you'll return to share the magic of Sibuya - after all - 'Sibuya' means 'We will return'... Looking forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes from the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We spent three days with two couples there and were absolutely thrilled. The rangers are super skilled, the game drives are unforgettable and the entire environment is both luxury and eco-friendly. We stayed at the River Camp with four tents tucked away in the bush. This lodge was our top highlight. We sighted four of the Big Five in less then two hours and many other game, birds and a wonderful landscape.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KT14055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Greetings KY14055 to you from a hot & sunny Sibuya! Thank you for the great Review - it's wonderful to hear that we were your 'top highlight' - high praise indeed & hugely rewarding for us - the River Camp Team will be thrilled! You were so lucky to have those great sightings as even the grey giants can sometimes be illusive... We hope that one day we'll share the magic yet again....we look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes for a great 2017. Carol & the River Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews