We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our two week SA adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2017

What can you say about Sibuya? A magical experience that starts with your boat ride up river. My wife and two kids stayed at the lovely River camp. The accommodation was luxurious and beautiful, nestled among the trees. We shared the camp with 2 other couples which meant that it felt like a very personal experience where we chatted and exchanged stories, yet there was still plenty of scope for privacy if that is what you wanted. The food was delicious, freshly prepared and not over the top. Dining is in the lovely main lodge were all the guests and our ranger share a table. We all also enjoyed swimming in the river.

Our ranger, Scott was very pleasant and tremendously knowledgeable. We only stayed 1 night but enjoyed 2 drives and saw most animals bar the elephants. The joy of Sibuya is that while large, it is not so large that you spend hours looking for animals, here you are assured of seeing a great deal of wildlife. If you can stay at least 2 days you should.

I cannot recombined Sibuya highly enough. Our two weeks in SA were filled with amazing sights and experiences, I have visited Addo and Shamwari, but Sibuya will always be remembered as something very, very special. Thanks you guys for an amazing visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 at the River Lodge was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishDonamici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Greetings IrishDonamici - what a wonderfully rewarding Review - thank you! It's always great to hear that our guests have shared our magical multi-faceted world with such enthusiasm! 'Highlight of our SA adventure' is quite an accolade. Scott is passionate about his life-style so would really have enjoyed sharing his knowkedge with you. It''s a great pity you didn't get to see those elusive grey giants - it's incredible that on some days they just seem to 'disappear' & leave us guessing as to where they're feeding! The luck of the day! We hope that your memories will last a life-time & that sometime we'll be welcoming you back to re-live them! Wishing you happy days & exciting adventures. Carol & the River Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2017

We have had a marvelous day. We did the boat, game drive, lunch and boat tour and enjoyed every minute of it. Our guid Chris gave very good explanations on everything and he could find the animals during the gamedrive. The beautifull nature and diversity of animals (birds, lions, rhino's, giraffes and many more) we saw was overwelming. Also the lunch provided was good. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back some day. I can recommend everybody to make a visit to Sibuya Game Reserve.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi Paul S -Thank you for the lovely Review - we're always happy to hear that guests have had a 'marvellous day' & hopefully have made memories to treasure for a lifetime. Chris is passionate about his life-style & loves to share his knowledge so will very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with him. We hope that next time you'll return to experience the true ambience of our little piece of paradise by spoiling yourselves with a couple of nights in one of our Camps or Bush Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes from Carol, Chris & the rest of the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Sibuya is an excellent area to look for lions, elephants, giraffes, rhinos and many many more animals. And to find them! Thanks to our passionated and sympathic senior-ranger Kobus we 've had an once-in-a-lifetime experience .
The accommodation (bungalows) are luxious; the atmosphere in the restaurant and pool is nice. "Een baie mooie ondervinding".

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Koen-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Greetings Koen-Maria
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your 'Sibuya Experience' at our lovely Bush Lodge with Kobus. Saying That he provided you with a 'once in a life-time experience' is wonderful praise - he'll be delighted at your kind words. Thank you! The refreshing pool has been extremely popular lately as it's been so very hot - 41 degrees in the shade yesterday! We hope one day you'll return - we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes from Carol & the Bush Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Well what can we say about Sibuya! We are holidaying South Africa for 2 weeks and this has been the highlight of our stay in this beautiful country. From arriving to leaving the whole experience was truly wonderful! We stayed at the river camp where all the staff were lovely and so helpful. The food (especially the impala steak) was good quality and well presented. Our accommodation although classed as a tent was perfect for the surroundings. All our game drives were superb with our ranger Scott. His enthusiasm for his job and animal conversation is something Sibuya should be proud of.

We can only say thank-you so much for making our time with you a memory of a lifetime.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mark.nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi Mark.Nina - What a great Review! Thank you! It's so rewarding when we get such open appreciation for what we strive to achieve. To be the hightlight of your visit to SA is high praise indeed! Scotty will be over the moon at the lovely comments ...he's so dedicated to his life-style & has gone from strength to strength during his time here at Sibuya. We admire his efforts tremendously & are supporting him in furthering his conservation studies. Please enjoy your memories & one day hopefully you'll return to re-live them - 'Sibuya' means 'We will return!' ...so you never know! Wishing you happy days & more unforgettable memories. Carol, Scott & the River Camp Team team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in the forest camp, our accommodation was described as a tent, I suppose it had canvas walls, but also a thatched roof, en suite bathroom and balcony, it was very luxurious. Our meals were delicious with a good selection to please everyone, our ranger Daniel, was extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna and his driving was something else. He delighted in setting up mid drive refreshment stops in the most fantastic locations, he was a fun person to be with. We had 2 game drives each day, one at 6am the other at 4pm, and we saw 4 of the big 5 in 2 days. The support staff, Meghan, Dylan and Welcome, the chef, were great, we were treated like family. It was a great experience, We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: all rooms are identical, some closer to the main lodge, no TV or WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Greetings vap88 - What a wonderfully rewarding Review - thank you!
We’re glad that you enjoyed your time with Daniel & the rest of the team at Forest Camp & that you had a good time making memories to treasure. We do our very best to give our guests an informal but informed & personalized stay so are very happy that you appreciated their efforts. They’re all passionate about their life-style so would really have enjoyed sharing it. You realise of course that you're now part of the 'Global Sibuya Family'!
We hope one day that you'll return to share the magic of Sibuya - after all - 'Sibuya' means 'We will return'... Looking forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes from the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
10 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
21.1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
385 reviews
31.2 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
#5 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
41 reviews
11.2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
12.8 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge

Address: 39 Eastbourne Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: €350 - €504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big 5 Sibuya has more navigable river than any other game reserve in South Africa. The unique experience starts immediately with a 45 minute boat transfer from the village of Kenton-on-Sea to River or Forest Camp - luxury en-suite tented accommodation nestled in riverine forest and constructed in an environmentally conscious manner. Luxurious Bush Lodge, situated just outside the main Reserve in a pristine indigenous forested valley, is accessed the same way and then guests are transferred by game drive vehicle to the Lodge. All buffet-stlye meals & beverages are included - as are canoeing, fishing, swimming, birding etc. Add-on activities at a nominal extra rate include massages, horse riding on the beach and golf. An abundance of wildlife from Elephants to Otters and prolific bird life await you. Guests are hosted and guided by a team of experienced knowledgeable professionals who ensure a memorable personalised stay which will leave you saying 'Sibuya!' - 'We will return!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Sibuya Game Reserve And Tented Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps And Lodge South Africa/Kenton-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing