We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury in a tent, with wild animals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in the forest camp, our accommodation was described as a tent, I suppose it had canvas walls, but also a thatched roof, en suite bathroom and balcony, it was very luxurious. Our meals were delicious with a good selection to please everyone, our ranger Daniel, was extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna and his driving was something else. He delighted in setting up mid drive refreshment stops in the most fantastic locations, he was a fun person to be with. We had 2 game drives each day, one at 6am the other at 4pm, and we saw 4 of the big 5 in 2 days. The support staff, Meghan, Dylan and Welcome, the chef, were great, we were treated like family. It was a great experience, We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: all rooms are identical, some closer to the main lodge, no TV or WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Greetings vap88 - What a wonderfully rewarding Review - thank you!
We’re glad that you enjoyed your time with Daniel & the rest of the team at Forest Camp & that you had a good time making memories to treasure. We do our very best to give our guests an informal but informed & personalized stay so are very happy that you appreciated their efforts. They’re all passionate about their life-style so would really have enjoyed sharing it. You realise of course that you're now part of the 'Global Sibuya Family'!
We hope one day that you'll return to share the magic of Sibuya - after all - 'Sibuya' means 'We will return'... Looking forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes from the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We spent three days with two couples there and were absolutely thrilled. The rangers are super skilled, the game drives are unforgettable and the entire environment is both luxury and eco-friendly. We stayed at the River Camp with four tents tucked away in the bush. This lodge was our top highlight. We sighted four of the Big Five in less then two hours and many other game, birds and a wonderful landscape.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KT14055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Greetings KY14055 to you from a hot & sunny Sibuya! Thank you for the great Review - it's wonderful to hear that we were your 'top highlight' - high praise indeed & hugely rewarding for us - the River Camp Team will be thrilled! You were so lucky to have those great sightings as even the grey giants can sometimes be illusive... We hope that one day we'll share the magic yet again....we look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes for a great 2017. Carol & the River Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Unfair to compare a smaller private reserve in Eastern Cape with larger parks in TANZANIA and Botswana but this one punches above its weight overall. We had incredible viewing of Rhino and Giraffe in particular. River trips add a new dimension also

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Hello! Noel N - thank you for taking the time to post a Review - we really love to hear that we're fulfilling (& often surpassing!) our guests expectations - actually what we strive for. It's so very rewarding for us because we do our best to impart our knowledge & passion for the environment in a relaxed & personalized way. Thank you for the kind words - we're glad you appreciated our efforts. Best wishes from Carol & the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in Bush Lodge. During this time we were the only guests so effectively had all facilities including ranger, house keeper and chef for ourselves! All the facilities at Bush Lodge (Bedroom, Pool area, main house) are fabulous and beautifully maintained. The only disadvantage compared to the 2 tented camps is that it is about 20 minutes drive from the main reservation which adds extra time to each game drive. We saw lions, giraffes, rhinos and loads of other animals. Unfortunately the elephants decided to be elusive to we didn't see them. I would recommend 2 nights as being the ideal amount of time to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Greetings Chris M - Thank you for taking the time to post a Review - we always like to receive feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bush Lodge. It has only been a part of Sibuya for just over a year & has been a very popular option especially for those needing a few of the 'luxuries' like mains electricity, air-conditioning, hair-dryers etc. which are not available in our Eco-friendly Camps. We're aware that it takes a little time to get from Bush Lodge to the main Reserve but hopefully soon it will be properly incorporated. I travel that road regularly & last week saw a family of 5 Warthogs, a Greysbuck & a very hansome Bushbuck ram before I even got to the Bush Lodge driveway - guess I was just lucky! Sorry to hear that you missed the ellies - they sometimes seemingly 'disappear' much to everyone's frustration! We hope you'll return one day to experience it all over again! Best wishes from Carol & the Bush Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

My husband and I stayed in one of the private suites at Bush Lodge from 27th – 30th Dec 2016. The room exceeded our expectations with a huge comfortable bed and was equipped with everything you would need such as insect repellent, torch etc. and it had AC which is great in the summer. The room and bathroom were very clean and the staff left an interesting bedtime story on our pillows at night which was a nice touch!

Meals were served in the main house and were ‘ski chalet’ style (so home cooking and all guests eat together around the table). There is only around a max. of 10 guests, so this was a nice way to meet the other people that you will be going on Game Drives with. The food (and drink) was excellent and very plentiful, and we tried some interesting local dishes.

The team serving us was Kobus (our guide for the game drives), Stan and Robyn. The service we received from them all was fantastic and Kobus was a very knowledgeable guide with lots of interesting stories to share. You will be very lucky to have these guys looking after you, but I am sure all of the staff here are great.

During our 3 night stay we went out on 4 drives and saw 4 of the ‘Big Five’ (not the elusive leopard unfortunately, but I think you have to be very lucky for that one), along with many other fantastic birds and beasts. I think 3 nights is probably just about the right length of time – I should mention that there is also a beautiful pool area for chilling out when not out seeing the animals.

I could not find any fault with this place and would not hesitate to recommend it; I would certainly love to return here.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leila388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Greetings Leila388 to you & your husband. What a wonderful Review - it made us all smile because it's great to hear that we achieved what we strive for! Thank you for the kind words of appreciation which make the hard work worthwhile....it's extremely rewarding to hear that your stay at Sibuya with the Bush Lodge Team was "An experience of a lifetime"...
You'll be envious to hear the following snippet of news...
The Anti-Poaching Unit spotted a Leopard the other night - great excitement as they’re not often sighted in our rugged forested terrain! Spoor & kills have also become evident – it looks like there may even be more than one. Maybe one day we'll welcome you back to share the magic of Sibuya yet again & you'll get to see the 5th member of the Big 5! Best wishes from Carol & the Bush Lodge Team.




The Anti-Poaching Unit spotted a Leopard the other night - great excitement as they’re not often sighted in our rugged forested terrain! Spoor & kills have also become evident – it looks like there may even be more than one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
10 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
21.1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
385 reviews
21.7 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
0 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
#5 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
41 reviews
11.2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge

Address: 39 Eastbourne Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: €348 - €506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big 5 Sibuya has more navigable river than any other game reserve in South Africa. The unique experience starts immediately with a 45 minute boat transfer from the village of Kenton-on-Sea to River or Forest Camp - luxury en-suite tented accommodation nestled in riverine forest and constructed in an environmentally conscious manner. Luxurious Bush Lodge, situated just outside the main Reserve in a pristine indigenous forested valley, is accessed the same way and then guests are transferred by game drive vehicle to the Lodge. All buffet-stlye meals & beverages are included - as are canoeing, fishing, swimming, birding etc. Add-on activities at a nominal extra rate include massages, horse riding on the beach and golf. An abundance of wildlife from Elephants to Otters and prolific bird life await you. Guests are hosted and guided by a team of experienced knowledgeable professionals who ensure a memorable personalised stay which will leave you saying 'Sibuya!' - 'We will return!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Sibuya Game Reserve And Tented Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps And Lodge South Africa/Kenton-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing