We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
300
26
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
26
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskariega rivergame reserveboat ridenarina trogonbird lifesmall boatsouth africalion cubswonderful experiencetwo nightsclose rangeamazing dayshis passionour night stayexceeded our expectationsknowledgeable guidesense of humour
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We spent three days with two couples there and were absolutely thrilled. The rangers are super skilled, the game drives are unforgettable and the entire environment is both luxury and eco-friendly. We stayed at the River Camp with four tents tucked away in the bush. This lodge was our top highlight. We sighted four of the Big Five in less then two hours and many other game, birds and a wonderful landscape.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KT14055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Greetings KY14055 to you from a hot & sunny Sibuya! Thank you for the great Review - it's wonderful to hear that we were your 'top highlight' - high praise indeed & hugely rewarding for us - the River Camp Team will be thrilled! You were so lucky to have those great sightings as even the grey giants can sometimes be illusive... We hope that one day we'll share the magic yet again....we look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes for a great 2017. Carol & the River Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Unfair to compare a smaller private reserve in Eastern Cape with larger parks in TANZANIA and Botswana but this one punches above its weight overall. We had incredible viewing of Rhino and Giraffe in particular. River trips add a new dimension also

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Hello! Noel N - thank you for taking the time to post a Review - we really love to hear that we're fulfilling (& often surpassing!) our guests expectations - actually what we strive for. It's so very rewarding for us because we do our best to impart our knowledge & passion for the environment in a relaxed & personalized way. Thank you for the kind words - we're glad you appreciated our efforts. Best wishes from Carol & the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in Bush Lodge. During this time we were the only guests so effectively had all facilities including ranger, house keeper and chef for ourselves! All the facilities at Bush Lodge (Bedroom, Pool area, main house) are fabulous and beautifully maintained. The only disadvantage compared to the 2 tented camps is that it is about 20 minutes drive from the main reservation which adds extra time to each game drive. We saw lions, giraffes, rhinos and loads of other animals. Unfortunately the elephants decided to be elusive to we didn't see them. I would recommend 2 nights as being the ideal amount of time to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Greetings Chris M - Thank you for taking the time to post a Review - we always like to receive feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bush Lodge. It has only been a part of Sibuya for just over a year & has been a very popular option especially for those needing a few of the 'luxuries' like mains electricity, air-conditioning, hair-dryers etc. which are not available in our Eco-friendly Camps. We're aware that it takes a little time to get from Bush Lodge to the main Reserve but hopefully soon it will be properly incorporated. I travel that road regularly & last week saw a family of 5 Warthogs, a Greysbuck & a very hansome Bushbuck ram before I even got to the Bush Lodge driveway - guess I was just lucky! Sorry to hear that you missed the ellies - they sometimes seemingly 'disappear' much to everyone's frustration! We hope you'll return one day to experience it all over again! Best wishes from Carol & the Bush Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

My husband and I stayed in one of the private suites at Bush Lodge from 27th – 30th Dec 2016. The room exceeded our expectations with a huge comfortable bed and was equipped with everything you would need such as insect repellent, torch etc. and it had AC which is great in the summer. The room and bathroom were very clean and the staff left an interesting bedtime story on our pillows at night which was a nice touch!

Meals were served in the main house and were ‘ski chalet’ style (so home cooking and all guests eat together around the table). There is only around a max. of 10 guests, so this was a nice way to meet the other people that you will be going on Game Drives with. The food (and drink) was excellent and very plentiful, and we tried some interesting local dishes.

The team serving us was Kobus (our guide for the game drives), Stan and Robyn. The service we received from them all was fantastic and Kobus was a very knowledgeable guide with lots of interesting stories to share. You will be very lucky to have these guys looking after you, but I am sure all of the staff here are great.

During our 3 night stay we went out on 4 drives and saw 4 of the ‘Big Five’ (not the elusive leopard unfortunately, but I think you have to be very lucky for that one), along with many other fantastic birds and beasts. I think 3 nights is probably just about the right length of time – I should mention that there is also a beautiful pool area for chilling out when not out seeing the animals.

I could not find any fault with this place and would not hesitate to recommend it; I would certainly love to return here.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leila388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Greetings Leila388 to you & your husband. What a wonderful Review - it made us all smile because it's great to hear that we achieved what we strive for! Thank you for the kind words of appreciation which make the hard work worthwhile....it's extremely rewarding to hear that your stay at Sibuya with the Bush Lodge Team was "An experience of a lifetime"...
You'll be envious to hear the following snippet of news...
The Anti-Poaching Unit spotted a Leopard the other night - great excitement as they’re not often sighted in our rugged forested terrain! Spoor & kills have also become evident – it looks like there may even be more than one. Maybe one day we'll welcome you back to share the magic of Sibuya yet again & you'll get to see the 5th member of the Big 5! Best wishes from Carol & the Bush Lodge Team.




The Anti-Poaching Unit spotted a Leopard the other night - great excitement as they’re not often sighted in our rugged forested terrain! Spoor & kills have also become evident – it looks like there may even be more than one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Spending three nights and three days at this reserve was absolutely magnificent. All the facilities in the Forest Camp was great including the service and staff. Perfect combination of riding the game vehicle as well as boating along the river.
Breathtaking moments when rhinos and elephants were very close to the vehicle.
This is something to really recommend.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Greetings Jan L - Thank you for the lovely Review! We really enjoy hearing that our visitors have enjoyed our hospitality & enthusiasm because we do our best to give them the experience of a life-time! We hope one day you'll return to re-live the memories. Best wishes from Carol & the Forest Camp Team for a wonderful 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews