We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money ”
Review of The Greave Dunning

The Greave Dunning
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Greasby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I had a really nice meal. I had a delicious burger with sweet potato fries and she had southern fried chicken burger with lattice fries. Lovely mid-week meal. Highly recommended

Thank sharoncH4459TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review Sharon. Great to hear you enjoyed your burgers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff - food really good, lots to choose from at very well priced - we'll worth a visit

Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thanks so much Pam that was a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

To start with - some history; the buildings comprising the 'Greave Dunning' was once Ash Mount Farm, and became a Pub/Restaurant in 1982. A rear extension was added a few years later. Although the interior has had several changes over the years, the furnishings, fittings, pictures etc., help to maintain a Cottage or Farmhouse atmosphere. In fact, one can dine in what was the original Living Room of the old Farmhouse, sitting by the old stone fireplace. There are 4 fireplaces in all, two wood burning, and two artificial. There are two large designated 'Dining Rooms', where accompanying drinks can be ordered with Waiter service; elsewhere one has to go to the Bar. There is a range of seating, including a long padded bench, tables for 2, 4, and a couple of 5/6 seaters. One area is set aside for a TV and two Gaming machines. Up on the first floor, there is a cosy area with a couple of tables, and a large sofa. The Staff are willing to move and join up tables to accommodate larger groups. The Menu is extensive, broken up into 'Set Menu', and, 'Daytime/Evening'. It contains such groups as 'Starters & Sharers', Pasta, Fish and Salads, Delicious Sides, Pub Favourites, Chargrill, Burgers, Lunch Bites, Desserts, all of which can be accompanied by wine, beer, soft drinks, coffee & tea. There are a range of vegetarian dishes, and, a Menu note advises that the Staff can be queried re any dish contents. We both chose the 'Parsley Breaded Mushrooms' as a starter, and then, for me the 'Bacon and Mushroom Carbonara', with added Chicken, while my Wife enjoyed the 'Sweet Chilli Noodles', also with added Chicken. All dishes were served promptly, by the always pleasant, friendly Staff. A bottle of 'Canyon Road' Merlot was the ideal accompaniment. Greasby has a good number of eating and drinking venues, within a relatively small area, but, in my experience, the 'Greave Dunning' is hard to beat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks Alex for that very detailed review! I don't think I could have done better if I had written it myself. So glad you enjoy your visits, as much as we enjoy you coming in to see us. Thanks from Ceri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

i attended this restaurant on Saturday 28 October with family and friends the food was very good and the service was excellent, we were in a party of 10 , we all bought our own drinks and the bill was split , I will return again most definatley

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shayman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

So glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks for that great review too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Love this place. It's always mellow when we go, clean environment and friendly staff. Lovely, cosy fires and decor and we thoroughly enjoyed the food.

Thank mini p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much for that lovely review. We are so pleased you like your visits so much and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greave Dunning also viewed

 

Been to The Greave Dunning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing