We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Two nights stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
The Retreat A fully equipped kitchen, with electric cooker and hob.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
The Retreat
A fully equipped kitchen, with electric cooker and hob.
The lounge, with comfortable seating area
The dining table in the lounge
The lounge with television and DVD
Just relax!!
The main bedroom, catching the afternoon sun.
Two single beds in the second bedroom
The bathroom with electric shower and heated bath rail
The floor plan in The Retreat
Childrens play area
The Lighthouse, a unique feature at Winterton, not a working lighthouse but now someones lovely home
The restaurant and bar with a view towards the dunes and the sea
A view of the unusual Hermanus Leisure Village huts
Sunrise at Winterton beach
Winterton beach, so much space for dogs to enjoy the sea.
Fun in the waves at Winterton beach
Mother and her new born pup at Horsey Beach
One of the many beautiful seal pups, this one was about two weeks old
A seal playing on the waters edge at Winterton
A view of the sand dunes, lovely dog walking area
Thurne windmill, a beautiful white windpump, well worth a visit.
Potter Heigham Bridge. You can hirer a day boat here and explore The Broads
Sunset on the Broads. A perfect end to a perfect day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DaveBeali...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Two nights stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a great area to have a break in, very comfortable accommodation. Plenty to do in and around the area. Great for a relaxing break. Well worth trying

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Thank you so much. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
181sheena
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful, comfortable, home from home”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely chalet with all home comforts , even for the dog. We had a lovely visit, close to the beach and a lovely unspoilt village with a great pub. Linda really makes the place like a home from home. If you want comfort and a great base and some peaceful rest time we wouldnt hesitate in recommending the Retreat.
Sheena, Nick and Sparkle
Luton

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Really happy you enjoyed your stay, even though the weather wasn't the best. The beaches really are a perfect holiday for dogs. Hopefully Sparkle will want to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoolsandP...
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't fault it.”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Perfect location; just a stone's throw from the beach. Spotlessly clean, sunny and bright, all the amenities you could need, comfortable beds, peace and quiet, and all at a very reasonable price. Good restaurant in the complex plus easy walking distance to good beach cafe, fish & chip shop and dog-friendly pub with great food. Couldn't fault it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location & cleanliness
Liked least: Coin meter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Retreat. It really is a perfect beach for the doggies and as you mentioned The Fishermans Pub welcomes dogs and also has a lovely menu. I hope you decide to visit Norfolk again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireJGE
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay in a Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We're a couple with a 1 year old and a 5 year old and we have just had a wonderful holiday at 'The Retreat'.
It was a perfect base with everything we needed and Winterton is beautiful place. We had a lot of beach days at Winterton and at other spots along the coast. We made use of the pool and climbing frames/slides on site. Winterton itself has a great pub, a grocery shop, Post Office, fish and chip shop and a great cafe right by the beach.
The owners are welcoming and helpful if you need them.
We have a feeling we'll be back! We've already recommended to friends and family.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Winterton-on-Sea is a lovely village and also a beautiful beach. Hopefully you will come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMW12345
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday rental - highly recommend!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

'The Retreat' is a very clean, comfortable and doggy friendly holiday rental. We found the property to be perfect for our family of two adults, two teenagers and our Labrador puppy staying for the week. Linda, the owner was very helpful during the booking process and we had a very warm welcome on arrival! There is lots to see and do in the local area, plus a lovely swimming pool on site. Winterton-on-Sea is a beautiful little village of thatched cottages, a pub, Church, fish & chip shop and highly recommended the 'Dunes' beach café. A favourite for us was the fabulous walks across the sand dunes to the beautiful beach, which stretches unspoilt for miles. Caister is a short drive away, along with the Norfolk Broads and lovely villages of Stalham, Potter Heigham and Horning, not forgetting the miles of breathtaking coastline to be explored and a visit to Horsey to see the Seals is a must. We would highly recommend a stay at The Retreat and we will certainly be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, personalised accessories & location
Liked least: No wi-fi!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
I'm so pleased you have enjoyed this lovely part of Norfolk. Winterton on Sea is a pretty quiet village but so many other places of interest are just a short drive away. I will be looking forward to welcoming you and your family back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing