We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Stay,Great Bungalow,Great Location and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
The Retreat A fully equipped kitchen, with electric cooker and hob.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
The Retreat
A fully equipped kitchen, with electric cooker and hob.
The lounge, with comfortable seating area
The dining table in the lounge
The lounge with television and DVD
Just relax!!
The main bedroom, catching the afternoon sun.
Two single beds in the second bedroom
The bathroom with electric shower and heated bath rail
The floor plan in The Retreat
Childrens play area
The Lighthouse, a unique feature at Winterton, not a working lighthouse but now someones lovely home
The restaurant and bar with a view towards the dunes and the sea
A view of the unusual Hermanus Leisure Village huts
Sunrise at Winterton beach
Winterton beach, so much space for dogs to enjoy the sea.
Fun in the waves at Winterton beach
Mother and her new born pup at Horsey Beach
One of the many beautiful seal pups, this one was about two weeks old
A seal playing on the waters edge at Winterton
A view of the sand dunes, lovely dog walking area
Thurne windmill, a beautiful white windpump, well worth a visit.
Potter Heigham Bridge. You can hirer a day boat here and explore The Broads
Sunset on the Broads. A perfect end to a perfect day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil T
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Stay,Great Bungalow,Great Location and those eggs !!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the retreat for a 6 night break from 24-30th May a family of 4 plus our Dog.
The Bungalow is located on the Hermanus Holiday Village in the beautiful village of Winterton on Sea which is without doubt one of the nicest vilages i have ever visited.
The site itself is very low key which suited us perfectly,Nice bar and restaurant with lovely Sea Views.The swimming pool went down a storm with the kids and is a good size and safe.There are a few slot machines and games for the kids to play but nothing like the horrendous array you normally find on bigger sites.

The bungalow itself was the high point for us,spotlessly clean and spacious and located perfectly at the back of the site so was very peaceful.
The owner left a nice touch of eggs,milk and marmalade and the eggs were to die for !!
Both bedrooms were ideal ( 1 double bed in one room and 2 singles in the other) although my son loved the sofa so much he spent the week sleeping on that instead.
The beach and dunes were literally a 2 minute walk away and we enjoyed endless walks with our dog and the kids both surfed in the sea.
Ventured out to Horsey Gap and Sea Palling both beautiful places and seeing the seals coming onto the beach was an experience in itself.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday mainly down to the beautful location and lovely bungalow and would have no problem recommending this bungalow to anyone.
The Tully Family ( Wolverhampton )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I am sure your dog loved the beach. Norfolk is a beautiful part of the country, so much to see and visit, hopefully you will come back and see us again. I will tell 'my girls' to keep laying their eggs!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisie h
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic stay :)”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Very we'll equipped! Everything we needed and more. Clean, comfortable and homely. Beautiful beach, lovely village. Would highly recommend and hope to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Thank you, so happy you enjoyed your stay. I will look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah G
1 review
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had such a lovely time at "the retreat"!" Right on the beach, a short drive from horsey gap to see the many seals on the beach. Cosy little pad to com back to and warm up before heading out again. Brilliant communication with Linda he owner, always makes it easier. Some lovely little touches Thankyou x Would love to come again x

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2014
Thank you for the review and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. The seals are a wonderful sight at this time of the year when they are having their pups. I really hope you decide to come back and visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19Annie80
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Retreat”
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I have stayed a few times now at 'The Retreat' once in the Summer, and this time November, even though the weather was unkind to us, rain, rain and more rain, we were very comfortable, warm and toasty, with time to relax. We managed to see the Seals and a couple of pups, but unfortunately the rain was so great, we were unable to photograph them, as planned. Maybe it will be 3rd time lucky next year. So instead we spent our time in Norwich, great little shops in the old part of the City and of course we visited the fantastic Cathedral. We had a very tasty mid-day hot meal, in the newly build restaurant on site, for a very reasonable price. Amazed that it was FREE entry into the Cathedral, including a guided Tour. Thanks again Linda for a great stay, see you next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfy Beds and excellent Bed Linen
Liked least: China, pots,pans and utensils.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2014
Iam so sorry it rained so much during your stay but I'm pleased you saw the beautiful Cathedral. Looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc o
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great short stay at the retreat”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the retreat with my partner and my 1 year old boy and we had a great few days there.Upon arrival linda had left us some free range eggs,homemade marmalade and some milk to greet us which was a lovely touch. The place has a very homely feel and is great place to stay at a great price.i could not recommend it any higher. Thank you for our stay :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, I'm so glad you enjoyed the eggs and marmalade. I have an assortment of free range hens, hence the different colour eggs (unfortunately the dark brown ones are having a rest at the moment) but if you decide to pay Norfolk another visit I will make sure they know!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing